We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Springs Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$146
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$449
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$120
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$215
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$179
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$294
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa(Arenal Volcano National Park)
$176
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$299
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,578)
Filter reviews
2,578 results
Traveler rating
2,130
325
83
25
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,130
325
83
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub riohorseback ridingday passsushi barhot springsthe riveranimal sanctuarylas ventanasmonkey slidespring poolsrock climbingarenal volcanocosta ricalee bankssister propertyzip liningvarying temperatures
Filter
Updating list...
2,060 - 2,065 of 2,578 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This resort was the most beautiful and peaceful resort I have ever seen or been to. Each part of the resort was nicer then the next. The rooms and their views were extraordinary. If you are looking to spend some couple time, this is by far the place to be. We felt like we were the only ones in the resort most of the time. I dont think we shared any one of those pools with anyone... ever. I loved that the pools were so warm because when it rained (which it did almost the entire time we were at this resort) you could still go in the pools and not be cold. They are still building the area by the river but will be very nice. The staff at the resort were all very friendly as were all of the people we met in costa rica. The food I think could have been better but all in all the resort was great. Our only complaint was the looong looong ride from the airport to the resort. But you definitely have to go for the views and the experience. We went to this resort first for 4 days then transfered to the Riu which was also nice just a completely different experience (and sunny). I wouldnt have changed a thing about our trip. I would definitely recommend this resort to couples looking for a romantic, quiet, beautiful trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank errrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

First trip to Costa Rica and The Springs was a great introduction to this amazing country and people. The resort is a bit isolated and somewhat difficult to get to - they arranged a van to pick us up and later take us back to the airport in San Jose - the trip was about 3 hours with a quick stop to eat along the way. At The Springs, every room has a spectacular view of the Arenal volcano and surrounding countryside. The hotel is spread out with multiple levels of hot pools, lush vegetation, a swim-up bar, several restaurants and a friendly bilingual staff serving an international group of visitors. They sell day passes as well for visitors to the property. The room was spacious and comfortable with a balcony, good A/C, nice bathroom and a flat screen TV. Breakfast was a buffet with great tropical fruits and cooked to order omelettes. Lunch at either of 2 restaurants - one by the pool and the other is the breakfast location. For dinner, there is a sushi bar, the basic restaurant Tres Cascadas and a gourmet restaurant Las Ventanas. The property is so large that a bus travels every hour from the main building to the river at the bottom of the resort, where there are multiple hot springs and river activities with another bar as well and also goes to the animal area, with cages full of jungle cats and monkeys. Food was pricey, but fairly good - the breakfast buffet was fine, the sushi was excellent, the poolside restaurant Treetops Grill very good and the gourmet restaurant OK but not as good as it should have been for what they charge. Their desserts are not good at all; the bread and rolls they serve are not good either - these are basic components of meal preparation that were just not right. Service is good for the most part but can be sporadic at times. Johnny, the concierge, is very helpful and arranges trips outside of the property. The Hanging Bridges Tour was a great experience. There are many restaurants in the town of La Fortuna, a 15 minute ride down an unpaved road and a round trip van can be arranged. The various hot springs all along the property are wonderful - some are a little awkward to get in and out of and for older folks, can be quite dangerous. We enjoyed our stay but would like to see a better value at the gourmet restaurant and more enthusiasm in some of the staff - mint grows all over the country - why would there be none for 2 days in a row when the drink menu lists mojitos as a specialty cocktail? When the gourmet restaurant has only 1 couple dining, why would the host of the restaurant ask me if I made a reservation and not be as welcoming as someone working in an empty restaurant should have been? Some staff training and better supervision could make a difference. The Spa was amazing; they have a nicely stocked store, a deluxe gym and all in all, this is a lovely resort with great potential - it is worth the extra time it takes to get there! Thanks to our talented drivers to and from the airport - Eric and Ron - it is wonderful to meet people who are proud of their beautiful country and enjoy showing it off!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emgarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

My favorite part of my stay was the vast assortment of soothing pools nestled amont lovely green vegetation with a great view of Arenal. We also enjoyed the fact that they had a game room for the kids when they had energy to use up while we soaked.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank Susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Unbelivably beautiful. Staff was wonderful with the exception that the information given to us at the reception desk was completly erroneous We were told they had a Lunch Buffett and Dinner Buffett and when we went to the restaurant we were told that they never had a buffett . I think it is fairly new and staff needs to be more informed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at the The Springs 3 nights and we loved it! The hotel and rooms were beautiful, the service was excellent and the people were very nice. The hot springs were fantastic and were a welcomed end to a day filled with rafting or hiking. We just touched the surface with our 3 day stay and we will love to return. The area has a lot to offer. We had a wonderful meal at Los Ventanas, the hotel restaurant. Our experience met and exceeded our expectations of a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGal-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews