We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
translated by Google
Ways to Experience Palo Verde National Park
from $69.00
More Info
from $85.00
More Info
from $119.00
More Info
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveler rating
253
101
26
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
101
26
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat tour white faced monkeys palo verde tempisque river howler monkeys sugar cane costa rica tortillas great tour research station half day tour ox water birds covered boat baby crocodiles ranch house jw marriott
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 394 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Went here by ourselves with our rental car. Quite a long dirt road to get into the park, but you get rewarded once you get there.

We were greeted by a group of White nose
Mapaches in front of the car on the road.
We started look at the board walk in the middle of the park. We went to the river, but didn't know you had to book the boat trip in advance, so bad luck for us (and the ranger said it was $45 per person which is a little bit expensive if you are traveling on a tight budget.

Went back and did some of the other trails, which were nice, especially the climb up (I forgot the name of the trail). It a short trail about 1 km, but quite steep. It get's you to on overlook point, view is great and worth the climb.

Overall we saw a lot of different animals/birds!

There a restaurant and toilets at the ranger station. Ranger station sells some drinks and snacks as well. We had our own picknick, there is a table next to the ranger station (in the shade!)

3  Thank Jacquelinevdhaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our boat tour was booked through Swiss at Villas Sol hotel...1/2 day. It was the perfect amount of time and we had a great guide. A Hacienda pit-stop for fruit and drinks was nice on the way up too! Saw over a dozen crocs, white faced monkeys & howlers...and many birds. GO!

Date of experience: February 2013
1  Thank Farl_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were very fortunate to have Javier who owns Loving Costa Rica take my friend and I to this wonderful treasure. I won't give up his secret for making it the obvious best choice of a tour, but let me assure you it was terrific as you can see from the photos I have posted. Javier was very knowledgeable of all the wildlife on the river and best of all he knew right where to find a troupe of White Throat Capuchin Monkeys who came aboard our boat and crawled all over us while we fed them and took lots of pictures. After the tour of the river and seeing our boat guide feed the crocodiles we were taken to lunch at a local cooperative that is run by single women and the food was out of this world. Next stop was a local pottery making family that showed us how they make pottery all by hand in the traditional way. All in all it was one of the best days we spent in Costa Rica!

Date of experience: January 2013
Thank Robert2861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We took a tour called the Wonders of Costa Rica which included a tour of Palo Verde by boat. We arrived and got on the boat and we slowly made our way up the river. We saw so many differnt types of trees, birds and other animals - teek trees, crocodiles, blue herons, howler monkeys, white faced monkeys, white igrets, hawks etc... It was a very hot day but the boat has a canopy so we really enjoyed looking at both sides of the river. We got very lucky as we were able to see so many different sights. This is a must see tour!

Date of experience: February 2013
Thank sueme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stopped at the entrance to the park to pay the fee and obtained a map of the trails and roads. Confident we knew where we were going, we headed out towards the trails. We stopped at a point of interest, a short boardwalk into the marsh. From here we saw flocks of black-bellied whistling ducks, Northern jacanas, black-legged stilts, and a huge crocodile. This was one of the best stops in the park. We headed out towards the rest of the trails marked on the map and listed in our guide book, but were disappointed that we couldn't find the rest of the trails we wanted to see. The signs on the road didn't match the names on the map or guide book and we kept going until we reached the end of the road where the tour boat docks. After a picnic lunch, we drove back hoping that we'd somehow just missed the signs. We saw dozens of iguanas and a troupe of white-faced capuchin monkeys. We finally gave up and headed off on the other main road towards the area to see the jabiru storks. We saw a huge flock of wood storks, with one or two jabirus mixed in with them as well as other interesting birds flying around the road and marsh. A white-tailed deer also jumped out across the road while driving. Even though we never found the trails we wanted to hike, we saw an amazing array of wildlife. On the road outside the park leading back to the Pan American highway, we saw a crested caracara perched on a fence post and got some nice photos.

We visited during an extremely rainy December and this park provided a nice sunny, warm respite from the relentless rain in the rainforest around Lake Arenal.

Date of experience: December 2012
1  Thank slikrokbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews