We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palo Verde - Fabulous River Wilderness”

Palo Verde National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$120.00*
and up
Palo Verde National Park Riverboat Cruise from Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The water system in this park sustains the largest population of waterfowl and wading birds in Central America.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Palo Verde - Fabulous River Wilderness”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Although it was May and we were told that we wouldn't see the vast migration of birds seen in the earlier months, we still went on the Palo Verde National Park tour booked through Eric of the Conchal Adventures. Our guide Rico was a delight and made the entire trip an enjoyable one.

The private van (clean and air-conditioned) was able to take 8 people for the tour; Rico and the driver made a total of 10. It took approximatly 1 1/2 hours from the Westin Beach and Spa Resort to the landing spot at the river. The river trip itself was approx 2 hours. We saw a wide variety of birds, but not flocks of birds (which we'd been told). However, we saw plenty of crocodiles (from small to large), iguanas, bats, Jesus Christ lizard (runs on water) and monkeys galore!

As our boat was small for the private group, we were able to get close to shore by the overhanging branches. The white-faced monkeys quickly gathered around us in the branches and brave ones jumped onto the boat roof and peered down at us. Great photos ops!

We had a lot of fun and took several pictures to show folks back home. After the river trip, we were taken to a small village nearby where a family had prepared a delicious meal for us; tamarind juice for our beverage, pulled pork, grilled chicken, freshly-made thick tortillas, a corn, squash and potato relish, melon and more.

We arrived back at the resort in late afternoon. It was a wonderful way to spend the day and our favorite trip of the vacation.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank barngirltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    92
    23
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
223 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Out of this World Wet-Land Experience!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

You simply cannot go to Costa Rica without touring this spectacular wetlands, eating a delicious lunch at the Hacienda el Viejo, and of course, taking a boat tour down the amazing,Tempisque River! There were so many crocs, howler and white faced monkeys, lizards/iguanas, locusts and insects, bats, numerous birds of every tropical variety, sloths, etc. We learned a very important lesson from our tour guide that brought us to tears...PLEASE DO NOT FEED THE MONKEYS OR ANY WILDLIFE FOR THAT MATTER! YOU DO NOT WANT THEM TO COME ONTO YOUR BOAT. THIS IS AGAINST COSTA RICAN LAW AND NOT AT ALL GOOD FOR THE ANIMALS. USE ONLY REPUTABLE TOUR COMPANIES THAT DO NOT ALLOW THIS PRACTICE! PLEASE RESPECT THEIR HABITAT. You are putting their very lives at risk by possibly transmitting diseases, encouraging their dependence on you and not on their environment for survival. Also, smiling monkeys are NOT necessarily happy monkeys and they could possibly bite you.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank deb-terr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A MUST SEE experience!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I booked a boat tour that took us down through Palo Verde. We used Avispas Adventures (http://papagayotourscostarica.typepad.com/avispas_adventures/home/) as our tour agency.

This tour was perfect! Chepe, our guide with Avispas, started our day showing us a town, where they use ox-carts to draw up mud from the bottom of a riverbed, which when dried out is used to make building materials. From there we drove to Palo Verde National Park.

I am really into monkeys, and being from Canada I had never seen wild ones before - this tour did not disappoint!

The Palo Verde river tour is an animal-lover's paradise! While on the boat we were able to see 2 different types of monkeys (Howlers & White-Faced), LOTS of crocodiles (Chepe even pointed out baby crocs), iguanas, and so many different types of birds.

It is really a great way to see the different animals of Costa Rica, and can not express enough that this is truly a MUST SEE experience, made all the better for us because of the personal touches that Avispas through in (including a delicious lunch).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank mtriebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best tour with Erick Escobar”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I, along with our daughter and her husband, booked a tour on the Tempesque River in the Palo Verde National forest with Erich Escobar of goodtourscr.com. Erich found us on the beach at the RIU Guanacaste Hotel, and promised us a delightful experience. He more than made up for those words, as the tour on the river was exceptional, as was our guide, Chico. Not only did Chico keep us informed on the ride out, he and his boat captain Ulysses
gave us plenty to look at on the river....white faced monkeys, large iguanas, small bat hagouts, all types of birds, and a hungry crocodile. Quite an experience for us city folk! Lunch was provided at a small colorful restaurant deep in the jungle....the food was a typical Costa Rican lunch and it was superb. Since we were a very small group on the ride bacfk to the hotel we got to stop in cocoa Beach for some shopping, which made the women very happy. In all, I say that if you are in the Province of Guanacaste give Erich call for a tour...it will be worth the money.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamarindo
1 review
“"Boat Tour with Miguel from GO Adventures!"”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were walking around Tamarindo looking for things to do and we were lucky enough to run into Miguel (bilingual is a plus) and have him as our tour guide days later, after booking our tour! We were picked up promptly at 7:30am at our condo. (just as we were told) Our adventure began immediately!

On our way to Palo Verde National Park our driver had an "eagle eye" and spotted various wildlife that we stopped to photograph.. the hour and half that it took to get to our destination seemed to go by quick as Miguel kept us entertained with various Costa Rican stories.

Upon arrival on the river we were greeted by an amazing Captain named Andres who knew all about the river and its inhabitants...We saw lizards, iguana's, blue herons, monkeys that boarded the boat and even a crocodile that was fed chicken! Never a dull moment and we were more than pleased with this river safari trip.... We had plenty of opportunities to be the paparazzi! Miguel took plenty of pictures of us as we wanted lots of pictures together for our honeymoon getaway.

On the way back to town we stopped for a Costa Rican lunch which was absolutely amazing to say the least! Highly recommend this excursion with Miguel from Go Adventures!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jkozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palo Verde National Park also viewed

Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
 
Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Province of Guanacaste
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
 

Been to Palo Verde National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing