We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Park but closed on Mondays - except a waterfall”

Rincon de La Vieja National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$120.00*
and up
Hiking Tour of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park
More Info
$135.00*
and up
Guachipelin Adventure Zipline Horseback River Tubing Combo
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Visit Cortes Waterfall from Playa del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 35,000-acre national park centers around a volcano that last erupted in 1995.
Calgary, AB
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park but closed on Mondays - except a waterfall”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We drove for about 30 minutes to get to this park (Ricon de La Vieja) just to be told it is closed on Mondays. There was a hotel inside the park so we said we were going to go to that. Drove past the hotel to see what the park would be like and if we wanted to come back when it was open. Saw a couple of people walking down a path that said there was a waterfall so we followed them and after about a 15 minute hike (beautiful walk) you eventually reach a river. Follow the river upstream a bit and you will come to a moderately large waterfall with a cliff (not too high) that you can jump off of into some cool and refreshing water. Well worth the trip even if we did not get to see the actual national park! The waterfall is outside the actual park so it was still legit to see when closed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Where's My Speedo?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    161
    39
    20
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We have been traveling through many of the national parks around here and this has definitely been the best. We walked around the Las Pailas trail and managed to see a lot of volcanic activity such as hot spots and mud boiling and adding to that we saw toucans, howler monkeys and sloths.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had a great time at the Rincon de la Vieja National Park. Unfortunately, the crater trail is currently closed due to volcanic activity. However, we hiked the waterfall trail (approx 10km) and the Las Pailas trail (approx 3km) and both were great! The waterfall hike was long and a little slippery with the wet weather, but there were great views along the way and the blue waterfall was stunning. Las Pailas was amazing. We saw steam vents, mud pots, water pots, fumaroles, and incredible volcanic activity. This was the first time my husband and I visited a volcano, which made it all the more special for us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

A must-see. First, come with cash. We read that there's a $2 toll to reach the park because you cross private property. We assumed it meant $2/car. Nope-- it's $2/person! Luckily we had enough extra cash with us. The road is then a very bumpy dirt road the rest of the way in. There's a restaurant at Hacienda Guachelin that you'll drive by as you get close in case you're hungry. We ate after we hiked but they only serve lunch until 3pm-- we made it by 5 minutes!

We decided on the shorter loop, as my parents in their 70s were with us. They did perfectly fine with that hike. We still saw the mud pots, lagoon and fumaroles. Got a glimpse of a monkey, too, but not sure what kind. I do wish we had found a tour guide in the parking lot like other reviews we read. We had some questions about the volcano in general so find a guide if you can. It took us a little under 2 hours with a lot of breaks. It can be done in an hour or so if you don't stop to often.

Wear supportive shoes, as there are lots of large rocks you'll climb over. We were impressed overall by the sheer nature of the volcano. I'd like to see the waterfall next time, so if you're able, I'd suggest adding that portion of the hike.

Helpful?
3 Thank swagmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hike!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I did the hike to La Cangreja Waterfall in Rincan National Forest. It was a 10k hike total and fairly easy. The total hike took us about 4 hours, which included half an hour at the waterfall to swim.

Tips:
1. use the bathroom before you start, as there aren't any on the hike.
2. The charge is $10 per person.
3. Ask the ranger for a map.
4. The entry fee into the park is 700 colones per person.
5. The road is rough and unpaved on the way to the hike.
6. Bring water (and snacks if you think you'll want them).

Helpful?
6 Thank Dara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rincon de La Vieja National Park also viewed

Rincon de La Vieja, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Rincon de La Vieja National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing