We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Incredible” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe y Macadamia

Cafe y Macadamia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Central American, Costa Rican, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Arguably the best meal we had in costa rica. FANTASTIC sandwiches on fresh baked bread, really super fresh ingredients, delicious smoothies, and a wonderful view of the lake. If you are driving around the lake, STOP HERE!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dheacock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    88
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food and Atmostphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I could not give Café & Macadamia enough praise. After eating in restaurants for two weeks, it was so nice to sit down to a meal that was freshly prepared and tasted absolutely delicious. I would recommend going all out – starting with a soup, followed by your entrée and finishing with one of their awesome dessert options (we actually walked away with several desserts because we were having trouble deciding). And don’t forget to order an ice tea – you will be pleasantly surprised.

The restaurant sits on a wonderful scenic spot overlooking Lake Arenal. The service was top notch – friendly, prompt and highly appreciative of your business. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful roadside cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant was highly recommended by a friend and many on Trip Advisor. They were right! Everything is fresh made. They even gave my husband a hot pepper right out of the garden. Our sandwiches were delicious and the baked goods are wonderful. The staff is friendly and gracious. The weather was rainy and cloudy when we were there, but on a clear day the view of Lake Arenal would be spectacular.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were going back to Playa Grande from Arenal Volcano and looked at the clock. We were hungry but not starving. It was 2pm. We saw about 5 sign's along the road for this restaurant and thought, what the hell. I am soooo glad that we stopped in for a bite to eat. The owner was there and was GREAT! Very open to what they are serving. All organic (no one in costa rica certifies organic, well not most, because it's to expensive) and full of flavour. We had the onion soup and chicken sandwich. They really didn't have anything for our 3 year old, and we asked if he could do a grilled cheese sandwich for her. No problem, does she want ham as well was the answer. Talked with a couple that drives an hour every sunday to come to this place. We sat outside to take in the amazing view. I am attaching a photo of the view from the table. After you are done, they have some trinkets for sale. They are a very good price from what I could find in and around C.R.

Glad we stopped, make it happen, you'll enjoy it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 9fingers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food of our trip to Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Loved the food here. Start with the soups and finish off with a pastry. This was the hidden gem of our Costa Rican vacation. Thank you to the owner who greeted us with such patience and of course kindness delivered through his food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ericirav2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe y Macadamia also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Tilaran, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tilaran, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Cafe y Macadamia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing