We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book with someone else!!”

Central American Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Direct Transfer Liberia Airport to Guanacaste...
Ranked #158 of 562 Tours in Province of Guanacaste
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Central American tours is the most prestigious tour operator in Costa Rica. Since 1972 we have been providing tours, ground transportation, hotel reservations, rent a car reservations, airport transfers, customized itineraries and package for groups and individuals as well. Our 45 years of experience, and our professional staff available for your clientes 24/7 allows us to provide the best customers service in Costa Rica. Late model A/C vehicles, profesional drivers and tour guides will create unforgettable memories for our visitors. Our goal is to go beyond our visitors expectations so that they can experience more nature, more adventure, more relaxation than ever before. Central American Tours team will assist you through out your Costa Rica Vacations; from our reservations agents, airport reps, hotel reps, drivers and guides we are all committed for you to experience more of this amazing country of "Pura Vida" called Costa Rica.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I feel like CAT is on the bottom for tour groups in Costa Rica. They took us on a 1.5 hour ride through the Liberia dump on the worst rock road possible to go ziplining. We booked the combo pack but the zipling was mediocre, the horses were old and slow and the "mud bath" was a bowl of stinky mud. Oh yea, the "hot spring" was a man made pool with a concrete waterslide. The tour guide, Jose, did his job but I feel CAT was a big rip off. Other people who booked with other companies had better ziplining, mud baths and real hot springs.

Thank JHorn615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyvacation06, Manager at Central American Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We are very sorry to see that you did not enjoy our tour. The comments from all other travelers the same day of the tour express how please and enjoyable the day was. Our staff is always willing to do their best to make sure our clients experience the best of Costa Rica.
We have a 100% satisfaction policy so we gladly would like to offer you a full refund for this tours. We apreciate if you can contact us at info@catours.net so

Best regards
CATOURS TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"arenal volcano"
in 13 reviews
"super combo"
in 6 reviews
"coffee tour"
in 5 reviews
"travel agent"
in 7 reviews
"the jungle river cruise"
in 4 reviews
"zip line"
in 12 reviews
"hot springs"
in 18 reviews
"costa rica"
in 31 reviews
"riu palace"
in 8 reviews
"horseback riding"
in 8 reviews
"hanging bridges"
in 5 reviews
"monte verde"
in 3 reviews
"made us feel at home"
in 2 reviews
"full day excursion"
in 2 reviews
"always on time"
in 2 reviews
"took great care"
in 2 reviews
"almost hours"
in 2 reviews
Filter

111 - 115 of 134 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

My Husband and I travel each year as our christmas gift to one another. We like to try a new adventure each place we go. We booked two tours with CAT. The first was the jungle cruise which was absolutely worth every penny. Great guides, tons of gators and monkeys, it was awesome. We also went fishing. We couldn't find another couple so it was just us and it was more than we wanted to spend but we went anyway. We had a horrible trip! The guides were awful and we didn't catch a thing. I contacted the director of CAT Tours. It took him two months but he refunded our total amount and promised to never use that fishing contractor again. We can't take back our bad fishing experience but defiantly recommend CAT Tours as they aim to make it right.

Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Edward was very helpful and friendly in the Riu Guanacaste resort! The Canopy Tour at Congo Trail was a thriller! And the sailing tour on Marlin del Rey was out of this world fun. (We even got to see some sea turtles and dolphins playing) And Brian with the Jungle River Cruise was the best tour guide...very informative about the local culture in the Guanacaste area. And we felt the trips prices were very reasonable. The Riu was a great resort. If you went hungry, it was your fault...we enjoyed trying the typical Costa Rician food and everything else they cooked. If we ever go back we will probably go farther south to a white sand beach just for another experience. THANK YOU Funjet and CAT for a great time in a new country!

Thank Melessia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I took the all day Monteverde Cloud Forest tour in February. We didn't really know what to expect but it was amazing! Our driver, Carlos, and our guide, Mauricio were so nice, and tried so hard to make it a perfect trip. We saw tons of wildlife on the way up to Monteverde, had a fabulous breakfast on the way and loved the rainforest. We were the only 2 people on the tour so we learned so much about Costa Rica from 2 people who sincerely loved thier country. We felt as if we had made new friends at the end of the day. We had a great lunch as well, and loved every minute of this 12 hour tour!! The ride up to Monteverde is a bit bumpy but well worth it. We loved it!!!
Can't wait to plan our next trip to Costa Rica!

Thank Ntwebb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Our travel agent arranged for Central American Tours to bring us from the airport in Liberia to our hotel near Arenal. We were met at the airport by Jeffry. He was very friendly and accomodating. He didn't mind waiting for us to stop and apply sunscreen, and change into clothes appropriate for Costa Rica.

The van was comfortable even on the crazy roads and the "Costa Rican Massage".

Jeffry stopped at the grocery store in Liberia so we could get supplies-- so glad he did that! It was really nice having beverages and snacks for the trip.

Jeffry was a great driver, we really enjoyed talking with him. While we didn't take any tours with CAT, it was a great option for our 4 hour trip to Arenal. Highly recommended.

1  Thank singandstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central American Tours also viewed

Playa Matapalo, Province of Guanacaste
Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Province of Guanacaste
 
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Central American Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing