We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ground transfer only”

Central American Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$132.00*
and up
Palo Verde National Park and Coffee Tour
Ranked #164 of 533 Tours in Province of Guanacaste
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Central American tours is the most prestigious tour operator in Costa Rica. Since 1972 we have been providing tours, ground transportation, hotel reservations, rent a car reservations, airport transfers, customized itineraries and package for groups and individuals as well. Our 45 years of experience, and our professional staff available for your clientes 24/7 allows us to provide the best customers service in Costa Rica. Late model A/C vehicles, profesional drivers and tour guides will create unforgettable memories for our visitors. Our goal is to go beyond our visitors expectations so that they can experience more nature, more adventure, more relaxation than ever before. Central American Tours team will assist you through out your Costa Rica Vacations; from our reservations agents, airport reps, hotel reps, drivers and guides we are all committed for you to experience more of this amazing country of "Pura Vida" called Costa Rica.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Our travel agent arranged for Central American Tours to bring us from the airport in Liberia to our hotel near Arenal. We were met at the airport by Jeffry. He was very friendly and accomodating. He didn't mind waiting for us to stop and apply sunscreen, and change into clothes appropriate for Costa Rica.

The van was comfortable even on the crazy roads and the "Costa Rican Massage".

Jeffry stopped at the grocery store in Liberia so we could get supplies-- so glad he did that! It was really nice having beverages and snacks for the trip.

Jeffry was a great driver, we really enjoyed talking with him. While we didn't take any tours with CAT, it was a great option for our 4 hour trip to Arenal. Highly recommended.

1  Thank singandstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"arenal volcano"
in 13 reviews
"super combo"
in 6 reviews
"the jungle river cruise"
in 4 reviews
"travel agent"
in 7 reviews
"zip line"
in 12 reviews
"hot springs"
in 18 reviews
"always on time"
in 4 reviews
"costa rica"
in 32 reviews
"riu palace"
in 8 reviews
"horseback riding"
in 8 reviews
"coffee tour"
in 4 reviews
"made us feel at home"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful hotel"
in 2 reviews
"monte verde"
in 3 reviews
"hanging bridges"
in 4 reviews
"great sense of humor"
in 3 reviews
"full day excursion"
in 2 reviews
Filter

99 - 103 of 118 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

We took the Palo Verde river cruise and had a great time. The driver and guide were professional the boat ride was very comfortable. Of note however is there appears to be no ADA compliance in Costa Rica. We saw crocodiles, lots of birds, coatis, bats, many bright orange huge male iguanas displaying their colors to attract females and two types of monkies.
The lunch was pleasant and overall tour was worth the price. Almost anywhere you go however in Guanacaste you will spend hours in a bus so be prepared with water, snacks and a jacket.

Thank medanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyvacation06, Director of Sales at Central American Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

it's so great to know you enjoyed it your tour with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a wonderful tour. Our guide , Jorge was terrific and all the scenery was breathtaking. We really enjoyed the Arenal volcano and the beautiful suite hotels in which we stayed. Everyone went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating . We came home so enthusiastic that our children and their families are looking into a trip to this clean, green and varied country.

Thank Linmar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyvacation06, Director of Sales at Central American Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you! We'll be waiting for your family! They're going to love it too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We took a day trip to Nicaragua to see the lake, the volcano and the Spanish colonial town of Granada . It's too early of a pick up, 5am! However, after the local breakfast you have a few hours to take a nap so it's ok. You stop at a crater lake for some nice views. Then u go to the still active volcano with required hard hats on, then to lunch in town. Great tasting food and Nicaraguan beer. Too much time for shopping in the market for me personally but we aren't souvenir peeps. The best part was riding around lake Nicaragua , very relaxing , got to see monkeys and enjoyed the private island homes. Love the colors and architecture in Granada but they only gave us 20 minutes, hello less shopping, more major attraction! The beggars are the worst I have seen and we travel everywhere. Too aggressive, don't take no for an answer, wanted to actually push a small child away. It's that bad! Very unfortunate. Overall, interesting day.

Thank BUZZFUNGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyvacation06, Director of Sales at Central American Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have to say especially among all the tour operating from within the resort, CAT came out on top. I booked 2 excursions with them and they both worked out great. Had lots of fun. First was the Jungle Cruise Half Day, we did get to see a few animals and sights, the tour guide Jose was trying hard to get the shy animals out and the crocs close, lol. The second was the canopy/horseback/hot springs. My kids enjoyed the zip line and my younger was scared but the people at CAT got him convinced it was fun which he did. So overall CAT provides great service and accommodates everyone from Couples to Families. Thank You CAT for a great family vacation.

1  Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyvacation06, Director Comercial at Central American Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Hello Stanley! Thank you for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed our tours!

We hope to see you very soon again!
CATOURS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central American Tours also viewed

Rincon de La Vieja, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
 

Been to Central American Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing