We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CAT tours did a nice job.”

Central American Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.99*
and up
Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste
More Info
$84.99*
and up
Vida Aventura Park in Guanacaste: Zipline Tour, Horseback Ride and Hot Springs
More Info
$134.99*
and up
Monteverde Cloud Forest and Butterfly Garden from Guanacaste
Ranked #151 of 506 Tours in Province of Guanacaste
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours, ground transportation, hotel reservations, rent a car reservations, transfers, package reservations. All for individual travel and group travel
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We used CAT to take the 1/2 day Palo Verde Trip. Daniel was our guide. I thought he did a good job. He knew a lot about the animals we were seeing. He and the boat guide did a good job at spotting the creatures. We saw Howlers (Daniel did a great job getting them to howl) Capuchins, crocs, iguanas, lizards, tons of birds and even a pair of scarlet mccaws. The river area was not as crowded as I had assumed it would be. Only about 5 boats out, so there was plenty of room for everyone. They also don't pack the boats. Our boat only had our small group in it of about 8 people.
One extra thing I appreciated was Daniel seemed to be serious about not overfeeding the monkeys and only feeding them foods they could find on their own. They came right up to the boat for the tiny mango he offered. I realize the country needs the money from tourism and the monkeys are a huge attraction, but that can go wrong so fast. It seemed like the tour company and/or the park was making an effort at balance.
CAT was also about $5 cheaper than the same Swiss Travel tour.

1  Thank paintcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyvacation06, Gerente at Central American Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Hello paintcab! Thank you for your great review. We are so glad to know you had a great time with us. Comments like this encourages us to do a better job everyday!

We hope to see you soon in Costa Rica,

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 94 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I booked at couple tours while in Guanacasta area, Costa Rica with CAT. Our favorite tour was the ziplining, horseback riding, and hot springs. If you can try to do the tour with Daniel. He was so friendly and informative! He went well out of his way to make our tour memorable. I would highly recommend CAT tours especially when Daniel is your guide.

Thank meghan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyvacation06, Director of Sales at Central American Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Hello megan! Thank you for your great review! We are looking forward to have you in Costa Rica soon!
Best regards
CATOURS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We booked two excusions in the Guanacasta area, Costa Rica with CAT. Our contact at the RIU resort, Ericka, arranged everything well. We did the Super Combo (zip lining/ horseback / spa tour), and the Perfect Combination (Jungle river / coffee plantation tour). The guides were helpful and attentive. Be prepared for bumpy roads. ;P The kids LOVED the zip lining. We would recommend their services.
Tip: Bring enough sunblock with you. The hotel charged $35 for a little bottle of sunscreen!

1  Thank RickyRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyvacation06, Director of Sales at Central American Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Hello Rick! Thanks for the great review! This year, 2012, we are celebrating our 40th aniversary and we very glad to receive this great comments! We wish you a great 2012
CATOURS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I just visited Costa Rica for our honeymoon. Country and The Westin Resort was awesome. But we had a terrible experience with CAT tours. We booked an all day excursion with them to the Arenal Volcano. Our CAT Representative repeatedly told us it was the best tour they offered (also most expensive). We asked multiple questions about the excursion and come to find out after our day trip, she lied about a lot of things, probably because she just wanted us to book the pricey excursion. long story short we were told we would enjoy a day full of zip lining, natural hot springs and authentic Costa Rican food. What we actually experienced was 11 HOURS in a van commuting, 1 hour of zip line, 40 mins of hot springs and a cafeteria style buffet with practically unrecognizable food. Worst of all when we nicely tried to explain to them we did not have a great experience the once "nice" representative became really rude, mean and defensive denying everything she said, Telling us its too late to dispute everything because they already spent our money on the excursion. Try and research as much as you can before you spend hundreds of dollars on a 1 day excursion.

1  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyvacation06, Director of Sales at Central American Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience during your trip to Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs along with the Sky Trek Tour. This tour is one of the most popular tours we offer, we understand it is a very long day and yes there is a lot of driving involve, but we think you did not mention the great views and wildlife during the drive, most of our clients during this tour appreciate the amazing scenarios this area offers! Maybe our rep should have explain better the details of the tour, but as we mention before the is a top seller tour and we have many satisfied clients every day.
If you wish to contact us please do not hesitate, our email is info@catours.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

I have booked trips with CAT in two separate occasions and I was very pleased with the tours they have to offered. I was able to enjoy white water rafting in the Pacuare river and I tell you it was one of most extraordinary adventures I have ever experienced. Costa Rica in itself is a gorgeous place but as a tourist you always look for an agency that you can trust and that can make your trip more enjoyable. CAT did an extraordinary job at providing me with detailed info on diff tours depending on my preference of beach or rain forest, also the effectiveness of their work is evident as my logistics for the trip were almost effortless thanks to their help with every detail of the trip. I also was able to go to Vida Aventura Park in Guanacaste and this tour offers horseback riding through mountain trails, thermal pools, restaurant with delicious Costa Rican food, and a very extreme zip line which made my day for sure. Very pleased as I said with the attention and the whole experience I lived while I was down there. Definitely planning on making it back soon.

Thank AndresS85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central American Tours also viewed

Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
 

Been to Central American Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing