We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great value that provides ready access to a very beautiful part of Costa Rica.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turrialba Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Turrialba B&B and Inns
Stockton, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great value that provides ready access to a very beautiful part of Costa Rica.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

We had left open the last four days of our 2-week stay, and when the time came we decided to make our way to the Turrialba region to enjoy its whitewater rivers and precipitous mountain scenery. Entered the Turrialba B&B without a reservation and, due to the fact that it was hosting an overnight tour group, desk clerk Jose offered us a choice of a room with two singles or a double that would share a bath (although the other double that would share it was vacant). My wife decided that, after 33 years of sharing a bed with me, she could endure a few nights in a single bed rather than suffer the use of a bathroom with strangers, a real no-no for her. The room was spotless and attractively-decorated with a surprising over-abundance of closet and storage space. The tiled bathroom was also immaculate and, added bonus, the toilet would accept the flushing of toilet paper (oh, heart be still!).
We were then welcomed by proprietor Guy who showed us around his very attractive and accommodating facilities that included hot tub, pool table, refrigerator, internet-ready computer, and a phone with toll-free calls to the U.S. Throughout our stay both he and Jose could not have been more attentive and helpful or more gracious with even the dumbest tourist's question. The breakfasts were delicious, abundant and varied, always including juice, fresh fruit and drip-brewed Costa Rican coffee. Our afternoon cervesa breaks were taken on the roof-top deck with its stunning view of the steam-belching Turrialba volcano.
This hotel is just off the one block-square park that is the center of the work-a-day town of Turrialba. We two middle-aged gringos felt completely safe, even at night, and didn't get a single look from the locals as we enjoyed our brief glimpse of a typical Tico town at work, shopping and dining. An unexpected lagniappe was that Saturday happened to be the town's 117th birthday celebrated by an evening fireworks display directly over the park, followed by musical performances throughout the evening that reminded me that it's really time that I took some salsa lessons.
Can't imagine how we could have improved our last four days in the country.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank up2in2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    18
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
46
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

After spending a few weeks touring around Costa Rica, the Turrialba Bed and Breakfast was an incredible place to stay before heading home. Guy the owner is very friendly and provides information about the city. All of his staff members are extremely helpful. The layout of his place is beautiful and clean. There are many areas to chill out, relax, and talk to others who are rafting, kayaking or just traveling around Costa Rica. You will have a bar open in the evening, hot tub, hammocks, fenced off parking lot for rental cars, delicious breakfast in the am, pool table and free internet computer / WIFI. On the roof is a look out with views of the massive volcano (best seen in the mornings when you can see the smoke rising). I look forward to return in the future and hope the city doesn't change.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olean, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

I stayed at the Turrialba B&B while on the Costa Rica Rios Week of Adventures. I would advise anyone staying in the Turrialba area to stay here. It was clean, the food was great, and Guy is a wonderful host. I had the best time and after a day on the river, sitting out on the patio was relaxing. In the morning a view of the volcano from the upstairs deck was breathtaking. Amust see and a must stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbullers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

I stayed at this Bed and Breakfast after reading the great reviews. Upon arriving, was a little disappointed with the surrounding area, didn't feel safe, but upon entering the hotel, was delighted with the beautiful water fountain in the lobby and the charming way the hotel was decorated. Jose, the hotel reservationist/assistant was extremely nice and really accommodating in assisting me with tours and taxi service. Maria, the cook and housekeeper was also very nice, but speaks limited English. My room was marginally clean, the sheets were not quite white, nor was there any dusting or sweeping done, I kept shoes on while walking around my room. The owners, although polite, were more attentive to the white patrons. Indeed, the day I checked out, neither of the owners approached me and asked about my stay. I would like to visit Turrialba sometime in the future, but will not stay there again.

Gloria J.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Glo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

I have reservations for 6 for 4 months and as there was very little communication from them once I had paid my deposit I wrote several times to make sure the reservation still held.

When we arrived we were very impressed with the outside of the place -- freshly painted, it looked delightful. And the interior foyer and little waterfall and courtyard were all charming to look at.

But the first thing we were told was that someone had made a mistake with our reservations and one (or possibly more) of the rooms had been changed for us.

Then the rooms. OMG. They smelled so badly of mold that one of our members immediately started to become ill. Then they showed us the other two rooms -- they were not as mildewey but were still pretty bad. By the time I'd seen the third one I was starting to have trouble breathing and I'm not overly sensitive to mold!

We had specifically arranged for 2 beds in each room, yet one of the rooms had only one bed.

The attendant quickly got someone with English who explained that they were completely full and that these were two of the three rooms we had specified.

And also said that every place would be the same because it's a humid climate.

We left! Went to a hotel up the street and checked out their rooms ... no moldy mildewey smell.

We ended up returning to San Jose.

Having checked the pictures on the website I realized that the pictures of the rooms there did not seem to correspond to the rooms we were shown.

I could not have been more disappointed -- I had so looked forward to spending time in Turrialba and surroundings.

Lisa

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

This cosy B&B is situated about a 10 minute walk from the bus station and is very easy to find, just off the central park. There are a few nice restaurants serving local food and pizzas close by. There is free internet and you can even make free international calls!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomatovine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

A very Full tico breakfast! It was only us one day so it felt like we had our very own chef. The place is amazing! Has a hot tub and entertainment area, roof top view...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
5.4 mi away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Turrialba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Turire
Hotel Casa Turire
#3 of 12 in Turrialba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#9 of 12 in Turrialba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Florencia
Hotel Villa Florencia
#4 of 12 in Turrialba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.1 mi away
Green Mountain and Lodge
Green Mountain and Lodge
#5 of 12 in Turrialba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turrialba Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turrialba Bed and Breakfast

Property: Turrialba Bed and Breakfast
Address: Calle 1, Avenida 6, Turrialba 30501, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Turrialba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Turrialba Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in the mountain valley town of Turrialba, our Bed and Breakfast offers guest comfortable and clean rooms with many lounge areas to rest and relax. Located one block from the central park, our clients enjoy the unspoiled culture of this Costa Rican town.Guest Amenities: Wireless network and free high speed internet, laundry facilities, volcano view balcony, close access to shops and entertainment, VOIP phone with free international calls, hand crafted billiards table, jacuzzi, delicious freshly prepared meals, private gated parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Turrialba Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turrialba b&b
Turrialba Hotel Turrialba
Turrialba Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing