We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in a great area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wagelia Turrialba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Turrialba
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in a great area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

I stayed here for six nights as part of my adventure tour package with Serendipity Tours. The hotel has a very friendly staff. The rooms are nothing special, but were clean and comfortable. Housekeeping always did a great job and folded the towel into some sort of neat shape every day. There is a small TV in the room with a few English channels and several Spanish ones. There was no air conditioning, but I never felt it was needed. There is a fan attached to the wall. Daily breakfast is included. You can choose from either a typical Costa Rican breakfast of eggs, rice, beans, fried plantains, and tortillas or an American one of eggs, bacon, fruit, and toast. The hotel also serves dinner, but all I ever tried was a bocadilla which was quite good. They also have a specialty drink that is set on fire and poured between two gravy boats while you throw cinnamon at it. Very fun! The only real negative is that the sink in the bathroom did not have hot water. The shower, however, did have hot water. The hotel is in the heart of the city and only a couple blocks from the town square. There is an excellent restaurant a few doors away serving a lot of great Costa Rican food. (Walk out of the hotel and turn right.) There is also an internet cafe right next door.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — no hot water in bathroom sink
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny-five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
10
18
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

The staff at the hotel and in the restaurant is very friendly. In the restaurant they have a bassin with turtles and our daughter (8-years old) enjoyed playing wiht them.The rooms, however, were like old, run down motelrooms and the restaurant is situated next to a very noisy and polluted street. The fan in one of our room did not work and we got an electric shock from a lamp that was out of order. When we reported it, they did not change the lamp - they only put plastic around it. Still it is probably the best hotel in town and a good base for river rafting (which was great).

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank Birgitte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Turrialba hotels

SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

Stayed here many times and love it. People are great and rooms are good. I am the fat, bearded guy sitting at a table on their web site. I hope to be back in Turrialba in February.

One must remember you are not staying at a five star hotel - it is one of the things I love about Turrialba.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank PastorTurri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
168 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2007

We found this the only decent hotel to stay at if you want to stay in town and down had a car to take you around.
It is located just a few blocks away from the busstation.
It is a nice hotel with friendly and some english spoken staff, but the room we stayed in was not clean.
It felt as the sheets had not be changed and it was a long time since anyone had stayed in the room.
The breakfast is good and you can choose between different meals.
It did not see any of the other hotels in town so i hav enothing to compare with, but my guidebook suggestefd this if you want a little more comfort.

  • Liked — the location downtown
  • Disliked — the room was not clean upon arrival or during our stay
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
5.3 mi away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#3 of 11 in Turrialba
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Turire
Hotel Casa Turire
#2 of 11 in Turrialba
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#6 of 11 in Turrialba
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Florencia
Hotel Villa Florencia
#5 of 11 in Turrialba
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
13.9 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wagelia Turrialba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wagelia Turrialba

Property: Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
Address: Turrialba centro, Turrialba 997150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Turrialba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Wagelia Turrialba 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Wagelia Turrialba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing