We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rancho Naturalista
Nearby Hotels
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$75
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bella Vista Ranch(Turrialba)(Great Value!)
$14
Booking.com
View Deal
Hostel Casa de Lis(Turrialba)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Green Mountain and Lodge(Turrialba)(Great Value!)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spanish by the River - Turrialba(Turrialba)(Great Value!)
$30
$28
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
225
35
6
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
35
6
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshummingbird feedersserved family styleevery mealother guestsbird guidethe main lodgecosta ricaday tripspecies of birdsdifferent speciesworld classforest trailsbirding lodgegreat birdswatch birdslove natureopportunity to meet
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 270 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My second visit here everywhere birds and with mountains surroundings great time 2013 I will visit again..no doubt.... And also the hiking was good for me not too hard so I really hope more travelers will find this almost secret spot and the service was excellent too bad no swimming pool. But who needs one. When they have super qhot showers for after a long walk..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Brought a group of 12 from New York here. The owners, staff and guides could not have been nicer. The feeders were visited by hordes of hummingbirds, the trails were (considering the mountainous location) easy and well maintained, and the meals were excellent. This place has the easiest, best birds of anywhere in Costa Rica. If you want to chase after rare birds, like the Thicket Ant-pitta that our remarkable guides got almost everyone to see, this is the place. If you just want to take a casual stroll in the rainforest, and be astounded by beautiful birds from the patio, this is also the place...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BklynGuy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Only had 2 nights, wish it had been a bit longer. Really relaxed, excellent fresh food, great birding with hummingbird feeders on the balconies buzzing with birds. More great birding on the forest trails, the birds will wake you up -no need for alarms! Allow yourselves at least 3 nights.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bikingbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were told this would be basic but as birders we wanted to experience it. We were so glad that we did. Our room was amazing, clean, comfortable and with wonderful views. The food was amazing, and the company was excellent.
Lisa, her husband and the guides were very friendly and welcoming and made us very much at home. All the staff were helpful and friendly. Lisa was more than happy for us to sit in her garden (she lives down the road from Rancho) so we could watch the snowcaps.
Harry guided us and he was fantastic. He has an encyclopaedic knowledge of birds and other things and was enthusiatic about sharing his knowledge. Cali was also knowledgeable and pointed lots out to us.
We learnt lots, spotted lots of birds, and also managed to relax and just enjoy where we were.
If you want swimming pools and spas and restaurants then this is not for you, but if you love nature, just want to soak in the countryside, and like to chat with like minded people this is definately a must for your visit.

Room Tip: Room 1 gives good access to humming bird feeders and garden feeders
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank filligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My partner and I spent 4 nights at Rancho for birding and photography. It was a wonderfully comfortable lodge. Guides, staff and guests were all friendly and sharing, like family. We ate all meals together - delicious - sharing stories of our day on the trail, bird sightings, past and future explorations. Prices were very reasonable for laundry, cold beverages, bird guides and excursions. Resident bird guides Harry and Cali were excellent, along with Herman, who augments the guiding staff during busy times. Their comaraderie infected everyone with great cheer. Our cabin #7 was lovely, though it didn't really matter, as we spent most of the time ogling hummingbirds at close range from the back deck and balcony, or birding the nearby forest trails and pasture. The trail maps could use some clarification, but a little faith reveals that they aren't too complicated, so go for it! We were lucky enough to spot a Tayra at 9:45 am one morning, and several small lizards on the trails - look down occasionally when birding. Thanks to everyone for making such a memorable birding experience in the great country of Costa Rica.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Deb-Birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews