We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a first class hotel”
Review of Hotel Casa Turire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Turire
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The approach is grand up a long avenue of royal palms. The building is grand. But the welcome was indifferent and many details screamed 'a general manager needs to kick backsides'. Lots of details - paintwork was marked and crumbling, doors around the handles were filthy, and outside the grounds badly needed attention - a lovely pergola had had no view of the lake for several years, the free kayaks couldn't be launched because of a mass of weed round the jetty, and a lovely pond at the front of the hotel had no water.
However the restaurant was functioning well with friendly staff and good food, and the rooms were comfortable. Could be good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 296 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great gardens and grounds, with interesting views from the Turrialba valley. Overlooks a scenic lake that is made from a dammed river. Total of about 16 rooms for rent, so the attention of the staff to the guests is high and personal.

Rooms are luxurious but also need some upgrading, especially in the bathrooms. There is no exercise area and the spa area is small. Nice outdoor pool area. Several activities available on property or close by (in particular horseback riding and whitewater activities). Near the Guayabo National Monument. Rooms are a good value.

Meals were very good with a wide variety from which to choose.

If this review is helpful then please indicate so below.

Room Tip: Recommend a room on the lake side of the hotel to avoid reception and driveway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trek-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Wow what a place!! We rented the master suite which was 2 floors. Gorgeous but did not face the volcano. Still a magnificent view. Very classy and sophisticated feel. Grounds were also phenomenal as we walked all around. The only downside were the meals that were included. Not so good. My lunch and dinner were very similar and salty. Drinks were also quite expensive. Overall a very unique place. We stopped here as our midway point back to the airport from Punta Uva. It did take about 2 1/2 hours leaving at 8 am to get to the airport due to traffic.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent a weekend at Casa Turire. This old house converted in a lovely, small and quiet hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens, trails, a farm, a lake and much more. It is very close to the center of Turrialba town, the CATIE and the University of Costa Rica campus.
You can do horseback riding or use the kayaks depending on the season.
We are definitely coming back to this place, specially because of the service delivered by its personnel, everyone is committed to make the guests happy and comfortable.

Room Tip: The hotel is small and all of the rooms have a beautiful view so that should not be a problem but 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anai A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is one of the best places we have stayed in Costa Rica, and it was our 3rd trip! The grounds are SO BEAUTIFUL. When you arrive you are greeted by towering palms, beautiful flowers, butterflies and birds. The hotel is unique, it is like visiting an old plantation house! I was thankful the bed was so comfortable, I am a light sleeper and a nice bed is very important. The room had a nice rustic Santa Fe, NM feel. It was well outfitted and very charming.

This is rural Costa Rica at its finest!
So, remembering that Casa Turire is in the country you must not expect big city 4 star hotel. This is a unique small hotel, full of character. Really the only thing that was "outdated" was the shower fixtures. The shower worked fine, and there was plenty of hot water.

The nature that could be seen and heard from our rooms' balcony was heavenly. The butterfly's were constantly fluttering by, there were vibrant birds singing all day. I would wake up in the middle of the night and force myself to situp and meditate on the enchanting sounds of the nature outside.

The staff of CT were so welcoming. I haven't met nicer people!

Room Tip: Room 9 overlooks the pool. It seems to have the best view on the pool side. It wasn't directly o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsheRayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here one night in July to raft the lower Pacuare (which is a fantastic trip). Property is unique and clean, although rooms are a litte dated. Remote location so once you are there you pretty much in for the night (unless you want to tackle some challenging roads in the dark). Restaurant was hit and miss - hit for the included breakfast but a miss otherwise. Some of the amenities promoted on hotel website - like biking - were not quite up to expectations. Service was friendly but a little slow. Perfectly fine place to stay but room rates are a little high for what you get.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank MdEst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Casa Turire surpassed my expectations. The plantation type building fit perfectly in the green lush surroundings. The view all around is spectacular; you can enjoy it from the gazebo overlooking the lake and the Turrialba Volcano. The food was absolutely divine, but the thing that makes this hotel outstanding is by far the people that work there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfernandez666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
9.3 mi away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Turrialba
289 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Florencia
Hotel Villa Florencia
#5 of 12 in Turrialba
103 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
412 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
#9 of 12 in Turrialba
66 reviews
14.4 mi away
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
#4 of 5 in Cartago
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Turire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Turire

Address: Turrialba, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Price Range: $108 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Turire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Turire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Turire Hotel
Hotel Casa Turire Costa Rica/Turrialba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing