We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Old World Style”
Review of Hotel Casa Turire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Turire
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This beautiful former plantation is everything a weary traveler could ask for. Small, only 16 rooms including 2 suites, but lacking nothing. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the grounds gorgeous, and the staff attentive and thoughtful. My laundry was returned within hours allowing me the luxury of clean DRY clothes after several days of wet ($5 for 2 shirts and pants!) Morning coffee on our balcony overlooking the lake started the day. A beautiful sunset watched from the poolside veranda with a cocktail capped it off. Excellent food, with produce from the hotels own organic gardens.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous and spacious enough for 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marveeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 296 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here two nights with my family so we could go rafting on the nearby river. I would recommend the hotel for its location but I would only recommend the remodeled suite. We stayed in a nice suite with a remodeled bathroom and nice porch. The interiors are still quite dated but the high ceilings and charm do make up for the 1980s heavy brocade furnishings. My children stayed in a room that was in desperate need of updating. It was small, hot (no A/C) and had a moldy smell. The bathroom was cramped and not well cleaned. I would not be rating the hotel with 4 stars if we had stayed in a room and not a suite.
The service was very good and the food was expensive but well prepared. We stayed out by the pool (that does not have towels available) but we had to share our quiet time with a large group that had come in to eat lunch and go riding. The pool area was clean and nice and the waiter was quick to bring drinks and offer us lunch.
The hotel is charming and had some nice pluses but I would not recommend it for everybody.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Gorgeous property not to be missed.Think of an isolated colonial estate with extensive grounds, great staff, beautiful views, and large well appointed suites. Walk over to the barn and watch the horses being fed in the mourning, eat breakfast by the pool, raft the Pecuare river, or just relax. Jana, the concierge/manager, a transplanted Canadian, was phenomenal! . Besides being an excellent source of local activities, her vast experience with many different parts of Costa Rica, along with her generous gift of time and help, made our vacation,wonderful!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mmikke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We have very high standards and this distinctive hotel exceeded them. Miraculous how in the middle of a very rustic and mountainous area this hotel could have been in Palm Beach, FL or Santa Barbara, CA for its seeming ease in delivering high quality menu, exquisite service, comfort, safety, and beauty. Concierge service - they delivered two children's bikes to us with one hour's notice (borrowed from a staff member's family!), used a saw to cut down the bike seat on their adult bike to fit more comfortably, brought our discovered sugarcane into the kitchen to be cut for us to bring home, and encouraging and with smiles dealt with our appalling Spanish (their English was fine). We stayed a week and tried every menu item - a few were just okay, but most were fantastic. Horseback riding at hotel (even had double seat for me to ride with my 6 yr old) through coffee and sugarcane fields is a must do. The rescue Macau center across the street with beautiful gardens and about 30 scarlet and green Macaus is a must-see. Pejibaye River whitewater rafting with class I-III rapids are only 20 minutes away - it's a Hollywood-worthy beautiful river and thrilling without fear. Costa Rica Expeditions has the best far and away - true white glove service. The entire atmosphere is that you are in your wealthy family's Costa Rica 'Southfork' estate.

Room Tip: Rooms near trees get a private show of the birds in the canopy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuraVida-HCT, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Turire, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Elaine & Family!
It was so great to meet you have with us for the week!
We very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay so much!
We look forward to your return!
Best wishes,
Jana Daigle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

You drive up the palm tree lined road to The Grand Hacienda and travel back in time. Get a ride on the horse drawn carriage to explore the grounds. The rooms are above expectations while the food is not. You dine in a beautiful room while listening to the blender in the Bar. How loud can a blender be? Very loud!

We stayed in suite 16 and had to move to 15 because our balconey was next to the fan on top of the roof. The kitchen fan was like the blender. Out next suite was better as far as the noise goes but not much. In side of bedroom and bathrooms were A+. I like the candles in the bathroom.
I would stay here again but not in room #s 15 and 16.

Room Tip: Room that are near the roof top fan should be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjdalydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuraVida-HCT, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Turire, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Thank very much for the kind words, we have shared with the staff!
We hope to see you soon again at Casa Turire!
Kindly, Jana Daigle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We adored the charming atmosphere of this authentic hotel and the friendly and helpfull manager and staff. We had a lovely suite (it was huge) and a spacious terrace. The place invites you to dream and brings you back to the sphere and elegance of colonial times.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but the suites are just great! Enjoy the spa facilities in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liliLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuraVida-HCT, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Turire, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Casa Turire.
It was lovely to have you with us and we are glad you enjoyed our Spa!
We hope you have you again!
Kind regards from Casa Turire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

If you like the Grano de Oro hotel in San Jose – you will love this colonial style hotel. They are part of the same group of small distinctive hotels of Costa Rica of which we visited quite a few. All were perfect with the exception of Villa Calles which is a disgrace food and service wise to the group.

It is a bit in the middle of nowhere but bird and nature lovers will love the area. The hotel is everything it promises and more.

The colonial style house is set in lush green grounds with a farm and lake. The rooms are cute with authentic features in the bathroom. The rooms are a bit noisy though and the safe in the room was so tiny I couldn’t even fit my wallet in it let alone the passports etc!
The room was lovely though with a cute balcony.

When you are done exploring the hotel which is more like a Victorian home than a hotel you must have lunch and dinner here. Costa Rica is not known for its refined cuisine but I have to say that this comes in a close second ( Grano de Oro in San Jose stays my number one) to being the best restaurant in Costa Rica. The food and wine are tasty and refined. The staff are friendly but correct and overall it was one of the most sophisticated hotels in Costa Rica.

The staff is friendly and helpful. They had set us up a separate romantic corner for dinner which was very thoughtful.

This is probably one of the most refined hotel / restaurant you will find and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GLJDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
9.3 mi away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Turrialba
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Florencia
Hotel Villa Florencia
#5 of 12 in Turrialba
103 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
412 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
#9 of 12 in Turrialba
66 reviews
14.4 mi away
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
#4 of 5 in Cartago
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Turire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Turire

Address: Turrialba, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Price Range: $107 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Turire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Turire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Turire Hotel
Hotel Casa Turire Costa Rica/Turrialba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing