We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive, pleasant owner, good vibes, nice garden.”
Review of Hostel Casa de Lis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Casa de Lis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Having not stayed in a backpacker hostel in 10 years, I was not excited about sharing a dormitory with others, but having not made a reservation, this was my only option. The experience could not have been a better opportunity to center myself and prepare mentally for the return to the airport and what lies beyond. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChocolateDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 129 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

I thought my days in Hostels had long since passed but I am so glad to have stayed at Casa de Lis. Admittedly we had a private room but the whole place was great - clean, comfortable, welcoming, helpful and friendly staff, lovely communal areas, great location, hot showers, good price, well equiped kitchen, laundry. They even looked after our bags for us when we went off for a 2 day rafting trip. For kayakers they even have a wet area to store and dry your kit and off street parking if you're driving. Or it's a 10 minute walk to the bus station. They have good links with the tour companies and a long list of local hikes and activities. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudolf3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Casa de Lis had everything that a well priced hostel has to offer. Just buy checking in you already feel like well taken care of. Staring with the staff, they are very nice, helpful, and eager to help wherever they can. The hostel itself is super clean! It provides everything needed to make your stay as pleasant as possible, starting by a well equipped kitchen where you can cook your own meals and have a nice chat with other guests, sharing your experiences of their trip they had so far. The dorms are really clean and the mattresses let you have a comfortable rest. The bathrooms are really clean and in the morning you can start a fresh new day under a warm shower right next to the dorm. If you want to get a flair of rainforest, than you won't be disappointed too. enjoy your meal while sitting outside on a porch with a beautiful and super well taken care of garden. After having done one of the great activities in the area, you might be in need of washing your sweaty clothes. No problem! A brand new washing machine and dryer will do their part.
Alll in all, Casa Lis is definitely a first class hostel and unbeatable for only $10 a night! Come and find out yourself what the hostel has to offer.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crossteller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I was supposed to spend one night in Turrialba and because of Lis and her hostel, I came back there for one night in my trip cause I was feeling at home !

She thought about everything, the dorms are clean, comfortable, nice and.. PERFECT!
The kitchen is clean and well-equipped, the terrace is a little corner of paradise !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lau_be1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Seriously the best hostel we've stayed in. Not only immaculately clean, but she has really thought of everything you might need as a guest in a hostel.
Bed with sheets and two blankets, towels, warm showers, full kitchen, laundry, TV an entertainment, patio and terrace, lockers, and my favorite--kitties.
Safe and well lit, close to everything in town. She has detailed lists of things to do in Turrialba, from hiking to touring to dining. This place is fantastic.
Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hostel is well situated, really confortable, really clean and really nice. A really nice kitchen to cook your meal, a little terrace to eat your meal, a nice roof terrace to digest your meal. The rooms are nice and the beds really confortable. The staff is really helpfull. Everything for a good price.
This hostel would be perfect with a computer to use as we don't travel with device to enjoy the free-wifi.

Well done Lis

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antoine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

It is a beatiful place to stay quite, clean and in an excellent location... If you are looking for a place to stay cheap and clean this is the right place.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solanochris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
5.5 mi away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Turrialba
286 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
263 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Florencia
Hotel Villa Florencia
#4 of 12 in Turrialba
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#8 of 12 in Turrialba
65 reviews
13.9 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turrialba Bed and Breakfast
Turrialba Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 10 in Turrialba
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Casa de Lis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Casa de Lis

Address: Avenida Central | Next to Agencia ICE. 5 minutes walk from the bus station Transtusa., Turrialba 30501, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Turrialba
Price Range: $14 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A laid-back hostel with positive vibes for all kinds of travellers. In the centre of town. Many places to hang out: the tv area, the roof terrace, the garden or the kitchen. The kitchen is fully equipped. If you would like information on things to do in the area, we have a lot of information on tours at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Casa de Lis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Casa De Lis Costa Rica/Turrialba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing