We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, excellent offerings, & personal attention”
Review of Explornatura

Explornatura
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Class III-IV Whitewater Rafting at Pacuare River from Turrialba
Ranked #3 of 18 Tours in Turrialba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Explornatura offers rafting, canyoneering, ziplines and lots of overall adventure vacations in Costa Rica. Merge the natural attractions of Costa Rica with the a local cultural experience while traveling down rivers, over mountains and top trees, and along beaches while meeting the friendly, happy people of Costa Rica. Turrialba, a rural town centrally located just 2 hours from San Jose, is the home of Explornatura Adventure Travel. Locally owned and operated, we are adventure specialists and nature lovers with more than 20 years’ experience in Adventure Vacationswith an impeccable safety record. We also own and operate the Canyoning Tour and the Pacuare River Rafting expeditions. Whatever is your idea of adventure and nature vacations include, we will exceed your expectations.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We planned a week in Costa Rica for a father - daughter adventure the week before school began. We really appreciated the practical advice, the many choices and ultimately the actual trip itself.

Explornatura arranged for our hotels and some of our trips. I can absolutely recommend the rafting on the Pacure river. The guides are excellent, the groups are small (we had 8 guests in two rafts), the river is wild.

Everyone should start their Costa Rica trip with a few days in Turrialba!

Thank Miklos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explorador2020, Propietario at Explornatura, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

I agree with you, everybody should come to Turrialba ;0)

Thank you so much for your comments, I am happy that you had a good time with your daughter.

Remember you are welcome to come back to Turrialba

Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 209 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

WOW . . . this was a fantastic adventure! The Pacuare River is one of the most beautiful anywhere in the world . . . simply stunning!

Our guide Osvaldo was masterful and made everything so much fun. Halfway down we pulled onto a sandy beach where Luis and Osvaldo prepared an unbelievable smorgasbord lunch. The food was the best I had experienced in my 14 days in Costa Rica!

A huge KUDOS to Ciany and the entire team for putting together such an unforgettable and exciting experience!

5 Stars . . . you guys are awesome!

Xakan

Thank xamananz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explorador2020, Propietario at Explornatura, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are very happy to know about your experience.

I am going to tell our guides and office people about your comments.

Hope to see you back in Costa Rica.

Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I recently went on a trip to Costa Rica and used Expornatura for several services. I booked two tours (a coffee bean tour near Turrialba called Golden Bean Tour and a white water rafting day trip) as well as my transportation through Explornatura. Both tours were excellent. I did the evening coffee bean tour which ended with a delicious four course meal at an outdoor restaurant overlooking Turrialba. The white water rafting trip was a lot of fun and very beautiful. Everything went as planned and the tour guides were very friendly. We booked transportation with Gray Line Shuttle through Explornatura as well. Everything went smoothly and we were picked up at all of our destinations. Explornatura went out of their way and even provided free transportation for myself and my three friends from Turrialba to San Jose in order to catch our shuttle (we had planned on taking the public bus but realized this wasn't going to work once we arrived in Turrialba). Before, during, and after our vacation the staff at Explornatura maintained constant communication and were prompt in answering all questions/requests. Overall I was very happy with my experience and would recommend them to future travelers to Costa Rica.

Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explorador2020, Propietario at Explornatura, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

I am glad to know that you enjoy the rafting and the coffee tour.

It was very nice to work with you. I am going to send a letter to Gray line, to let them know about your experience.

You are always welcome in Explornatura

Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

As a family, we travel a lot and always try to make at least one aspect of our vacation active. Our experience with Explornatura was first class! We worked with Massi to create a 14-day, adventure experience in Costa Rica that met and, in many cases, exceeded our expectations. In sum, we slept in a cave, rafted, hiked, boated, hiked some more, rappelled, zip lined, made artisanal cheese, saw turtles come ashore and lay eggs and over nighted in San Jose. Whew! We enjoyed every minute and covered most of Costa Rica. We never felt rushed and can't thank Massi enough for his individualized attention, advice, and good planning. This trip was flawless.

Thank Cstryker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explorador2020, Propietario at Explornatura, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

It was a honor for us to have your and your family is Costa Rica. The experience of sleeping on the cave is great and hope we can send more families there.

Thank you for taking your time to write your review, I hope to see you again in Costa Rica.

Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

On the positive side, we had a great day on the river with the guides.

We had two major complaints...

The first was that our group of three was required to split up on the rafts. So we were in three different rafts which was quite disappointing. The group was enormous, there were 7-8 boats about 50 people.

The other problem was that the transportation from San Jose was not very good. We ended up on the bus with a soccer team and should have never been on their bus. The driver dropped the guide off before us, but in order to do so he drove about 45 minutes out of the way.

I would not use the company again.

Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explorador2020, Propietario at Explornatura, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

Thank you for also giving us the good and not too good of your trip.

I am sorry that your experience about logistics and transportation with us affected your good experience on the river.

We always encourage our guides to do as much as is possible to not split people that are coming together, few times we have to do it, because safety reasons or because we cannot make the numbers fit in other way. I understand your disappointment, I am sorry happened. I am going to talk with the 2 main guides of your trip to be sure that they are following the company policies about this issue.

We are an small-medium size company, most of the time our groups are 1 or 2 rafts, however you came in our pick season for students, your group was 41 people (7 rafts) total, this size is not really an enormous group for rafting operation, bigger companies in the same day have from 80 to 120 people group.

Thank you for let me know about the guide be dropped before than you, this should never happened, the company policy is that the guide is the last person to be drop off. I talked with the guide and we are going to include a note in the guide pick up report to be sure they have a reminder for every trip.

The transportation you had was in perfect conditions, 2011 model for 28 people, we did not overload the transportation, the college soccer team was with 3 people responsible of their group, if was any inappropriate behave, please let us know to make a formal report to the University, they send groups to us every year.

I am really in shame that you are thinking to not come with us again, we are very proud of our customer service, your comments are very help full to improve our service.

If you change your mind and want to give us a second opportunity, please contact me directly.

We really appreciate your business.

Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Explornatura also viewed

Turrialba, Province of Cartago
Turrialba, Province of Cartago
 
Turrialba, Province of Cartago
 

Been to Explornatura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing