We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Interamericano
Nearby Hotels
$119
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Green Mountain and Lodge(Turrialba)(Great Value!)
$44
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Naturalista(Turrialba)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
18
26
15
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
26
15
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrafting tripfirst floorstayed here for nightswhite water raftingsleephostelaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 66 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I enjoyed staying at the Hotel Interamericano in Turrialba. The property once was a railroad station hotel, so, although it is not new, it has a convenient location from which to explore Turrialba.

Turrialba is a good base for whitewater rafting but the area is also good for birders and also plant lovers or students of tropical agriculture. The world-famous research center CATIE is located in Turrialba. CATIE is a short bus ride away from town and has an interesting botanic garden ($10).

Turrialba is a little less touristy than a lot of places in Costa Rica, and that's a good thing.

The owners have wonderful, friendly dogs and two nice small children. They are busy but friendly. The kids and dogs are not allowed upstairs where the rooms are.

I enjoyed staying in a room near the porch. I would recommend a room with a window for ventilation.

One note - the bus station is a few blocks uphill from the hotel, so it is easy coming into town, but you may want to catch a cab going out if you have a lot of luggage or children.

Unfortunately, there isn't really a cooking area, so I bought some whole-grain bread at a health-food store nearby....and also ate fried chicken, which is ubiquitous in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window for ventilation. Shared porch is a good spot in the early morning for urban birding if you have binoculars, checklist, and telephoto.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_S_10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I enjoyed my one night here. I had a room with a shared bath, which was small but clean. Not too much street noise, and staff was helpful. Simple, clean, safe place within walking distance to everything in Turrialba. Greenmarket happens on train tracks in front of hotel on Fridays and Saturdays. GREAT way to get affordable produce and to try some queso de Turrialba.

Room Tip: Some don't have windows. The first one they gave me didn't, and because it wasn't full it was no problem to switch.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel was good for the price, with friendly staff, good location, and we were set up with a white water rafting trip very easily (everyone must do this). I would stay here again if I ever felt like returning to Turrialba.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssilver617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is neat, clean and tidy. The owners are kind and eager to help organize rafting trips. We had a triple room with shared bathroom, and everything was just fine: clean rooms, good quality of sleep (despite some noise coming from the road nearby), clean toilets, hot shower, and very nice common area with plenty of books and table games.
The location is also good for exploring the town of Turrialba, and the room was also good value for money.
We would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorepansana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have to say that we were accommodated pretty late in the evening and they were able to set up a rafting trip at the last minute, but were not able to set up any other kind of trip at anytime. We had three people in a room with our own bathroom. The room was would get very stuffy and we would leave the door open (which lets in bugs) or sit outside on the balcony (with the bugs). The bed was comfortable enough, but there was a lot of noise on the street, which we knew they could do nothing about...we had ear plugs to help! As for the shower, the hot water was a bit erratic going from scalding to cold at any moment. We were locked in each night and don't walk alone in the evening in this area. There is free wireless and free unsecured parking, but breakfast was not included. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor, there is a nice outdoor sitting area which is great in the evening when the bedroom is stuffy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrystalMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews