We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, ideal base for rafting tours” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Interamericano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Interamericano
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice place, ideal base for rafting tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is neat, clean and tidy. The owners are kind and eager to help organize rafting trips. We had a triple room with shared bathroom, and everything was just fine: clean rooms, good quality of sleep (despite some noise coming from the road nearby), clean toilets, hot shower, and very nice common area with plenty of books and table games.
The location is also good for exploring the town of Turrialba, and the room was also good value for money.
We would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorepansana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    25
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
23
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have to say that we were accommodated pretty late in the evening and they were able to set up a rafting trip at the last minute, but were not able to set up any other kind of trip at anytime. We had three people in a room with our own bathroom. The room was would get very stuffy and we would leave the door open (which lets in bugs) or sit outside on the balcony (with the bugs). The bed was comfortable enough, but there was a lot of noise on the street, which we knew they could do nothing about...we had ear plugs to help! As for the shower, the hot water was a bit erratic going from scalding to cold at any moment. We were locked in each night and don't walk alone in the evening in this area. There is free wireless and free unsecured parking, but breakfast was not included. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor, there is a nice outdoor sitting area which is great in the ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystalMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We went to the interamericano for one night. The American lady that owns the place was very pleasant and helpfull. She had lotsmof tips about the area ans was very friendly. The hotel is more for the young with a low budget as it is a bit run down. The hot shower wasent working. The rooms dont have real windows so it gets really hot. The one thing really didnt like was the presence of 3 dogs running around. I personnaly dont find this very hygenic. Plus the common area is a mess with stuff all over the place making it look more like a garage than a lobby. I recommend this place for the low budget adventurers that are going directly to do rafting.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rse08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Was a great stay, clean room, it worth well the money. What else, we did some rafting with a contact of the hostel and it was cheaper than we expect in comparaison of what we read in the LP. Thanks for our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guyl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I first traveled to costa rica in 2008 and back again in march of 2012. The hotel interamericano is the place we will always come back to. We love the location to all kinds of adventure activities but no one in costa rica is more helpful then Luis. Get to know him and he is wealth of knowledge of costa rica among other things! The beak fest is also wonderful, make sure you arrange for this the night before. The town of turrialba is great, it is perfect and not touristy! Will will be back again, hopefully sooner then later!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent two nights there and had one of the worst rooms we've had during our entire trip through Latin America. It is decent for backpackers, We were just had bad luck because it had no windows and the room has very bad isolation so you hear everything that's going on outside. The lady who runs the place was a bit grumpy and not very helpful, but she probably just didn't get enough sleep because of her new born child.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nischu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Having stayed at this clean, simple, safe hotel every year for 5 or 6 years now I guess it is time finally to put in a few good words for one of my favorite stops in Costa Rica. This is a great place to stay while in the area of the best rafting and canyoning to be found in this delightful country. It's right downtown but quiet and very secure. AND the Owner Patricia and alternate manager Luis are always very friendly and helpful. And the price is RIGHT!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
#8 of 12 in Turrialba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Turrialba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Turire
Hotel Casa Turire
#3 of 12 in Turrialba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Florencia
Hotel Villa Florencia
#4 of 12 in Turrialba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Reventazon
Hotel Reventazon
#2 of 3 in Orosi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Mountain and Lodge
Green Mountain and Lodge
#5 of 12 in Turrialba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interamericano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interamericano

Property: Hotel Interamericano
Address: Avenida 1 | Across the Park From the Banco Nacional, Turrialba 7150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Interamericano 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the hotel that becomes your home away from home. We can accommodate singles, couples, groups of friends and even larger student and travel groups. Receive hotel privacy at hostel prices. We are a family run business and very willing to help accommodate our guests' needs and requests. We can help you arrange tours and activities during your stay in Turrialba and we can even recommend some places to visit just to relax. We are located right in the center of Turrialba town, so you have easy access to restaurants, shops, bars, banks, post office and even three ice cream shops from which to choose your delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Interamericano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Interamericano Costa Rica/Turrialba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing