We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good port in a storm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Florencia
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel is a few kilometers from where we live in Costa Rica. I would not normally use it because home is only thirty minutes away. But during a bad storm recently all the roads were blocked and Villa Florencia was the first hotel that came to mind.

They were very helpful and friendly and I would not hesitate to recommend them to others. They are about 4 kilomters out of Turrialba. They have a pool, a restaurant and a very quiet atmosphere. The only drawback for me was that they have no air conditioning which for bronchial problems in a very humid storm made it difficult. But you can't have everything, and this would not bother most people.

Room Tip: They do have junior suites with a jacuzzi. Nice for a young couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drushton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 102 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for 4 nights, with our two kids. It was very nice. Host are just so nice and welcoming. Pool is good surrounded by huge trees with many birds. Wonderful jacuzzi and very good food, which is important as the hotel is about 5 miles from Turrialba center, ir is better to have dinner in site with kids. I recommend this hotel. From there you can visit coffee plants easily

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lebfamily2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We arrived weary after 12 hours of travel, including multiple wrong turns which ended up being the long route to Turrialba. The host and staff were so kind and accommodating, I could not get over how they went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The following day, as we left for a rafting trip, they followed us to the van with pool towels. They let us keep our room and come back and shower in the late afternoon after the excellent rafting trip with Green Frog Adventures (also highly recommended). The open-air common rooms, beautiful grounds surrounded by sugar cane, and friendly staff who seem to enjoy sharing information about the region make this the place to stay in Turrialba.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

BEAUTIFUL! We had no reservation, and arrived there late in the evening. We were very nicely welcomed, and received a great room, with the view of the volcano as we saw it the next morning. Room was big and clean, so was the bathroom. The Villa's surroundings is beautiful, wonderful view, nice vegetation and beautiful birds. Loved the Jacuzzi and pool! Breakfast was the typical- but although it was only our 3rd destination (of 7), looking back I can still say they make best rice and beans. The coffee was great too! The owners are a lovely couple; they shared some pictures and information of the area. If we could, we would have probably stayed more than two nights. only one little thing they need to take care of: insects in the room- no nets and insects managed to somehow enter the room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

EXELENT!!!!!!!!! GREAT STUFF! CLEAN! Food was delitious! Loved the colony of Oropendola birds living in the middle of the villa! Recomend! Thanks

Room Tip: They have a garden and a pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hochuvkostariku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Gustavo gave us a personal tour of the gardens while we munched on sugar cane! We picked some fresh vegetables and that evening, he gave us a cooking demonstration on how to cook like a Costa Rican! It was absolutely perfect!!! I highly reommend this beautiful hotel! We were treated like family and can't wait to go back again!!!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank travelchicka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This beautiful hotel was the perefct place to take my group of students to at the end of our eco active trip to Costa Rica. Our tour leader Holly of Big Blue Sky Adventures (holly@bigblueskyadventures.com) arranged a customized garden tour and Costa Rican cooking class. Owner and chef, Tavo did a fantastic job showing the students the different food s grown in their organic garden, allowing the kids to "harvest" the ingredients for the dinner! The kids then played soccer with Tavo on their field, swam in the beautiful pool, relaxed in the big hammocks and played a little bit of chess. The evening was a special surprise as they learned how to cook like a "Tico"!! Tavo had all the kids chopping and grating as they prepared the nights meal....it was delicious!
Hats off to the chef and the fabulous staff at Villa Florencia! We will be back with more groups soon:))

Room Tip: Ask for he room # 3...stunning with huge bathroom and jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
8.1 mi away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Turrialba
284 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Turire
Hotel Casa Turire
#3 of 12 in Turrialba
294 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Pacuare Lodge
Pacuare Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pacuare River
550 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#8 of 12 in Turrialba
65 reviews
3.1 mi away
Green Mountain and Lodge
Green Mountain and Lodge
#5 of 12 in Turrialba
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Florencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Florencia

Address: Metros Noreste de la Ciudadela la Susanita 800 | 800 Metros Noreste de la Ciudadela la Susanita, Turrialba, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Price Range: $162 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Florencia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Florencia is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the beautiful landscape of the Turrialba Valley.Settled in the middle of Sugar Cane plantations and surrounded by mountains and tropical gardens, this hotel offers its guest a family oriented atmosphere and all the comfort of a boutique hotel. Villa Florencia Hotel offers an open air concept, surrounded by gardens, an open air gym, trails to walk on your own, a wonderful Jacuzzi and a beautiful swimming pool.The hotel has 11 guest rooms that allowed for a personalized service and a warm setting. All the rooms have private bath with hot water, satellite TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, safety deposit box and unique décor. Villa Florencia has a gourmet restaurant “Veroliz” named after the flower of the sugar cane, and offers a variety of menus including special diets upon request. The restaurant offer fresh ingredients and creative cooking, full of flavors, they even have a special menu for kids design by the owner’s daughters and a special menu for honeymooners on private garden. The area offers a enormous diversity of activities, that the staff of the hotel will be happy to organize for you, rafting the Pacuare and Reventazon River, visits to Guayabo Arqueological site, exploring the CATIE Botanical Garden or the very active Turrialba Volcano are just some of the activities located a few minutes away from Villa Florencia. Turrialba is also known as one of the best areas in Costa Rica to observe wildlife, specially birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Villa Florencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florencia Hotel Turrialba
Hotel Villa Florencia Costa Rica/Turrialba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing