We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with wonderful owners and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have stayed here many times and each time things seem to get better. Pedro, who was the manager of Central America's most important horticultural educational facility, and his wife run a very tight ship with hands on management. They are gentle lovable people deeply connected to Nature. Their property shows their love of Nature.

The lodge has wonderful views and is only 20 minutes from the National Park at the top of Turrialba Volcano. One warning...make sure that you have full gas tank before you leave because gas stations are far and few between. The views are spectacular on the way to the hotel.

The hotel is also just 30 minutes away from the world famous Guayabo National Park which once was the commerce center of Central and South America. There is an adventur park nearby with a great restaurant next store. Vegetarian food is available.

If you love to study and experience Volcanoes this is the perfect place to stay. There are two major volcanoes within about an hour of the lodge...Turrialba and Irazu.

Room Tip: I like room 23 or 24...they are large, spacious, and have wonderful views of the valley.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eagleheart222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Guayabo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 277 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

I am not sure why Trip Advisor only has average or very good. This place is not average, is not very good, it is good. Good service, good location, good rooms, a decent restaurant working at night and some rooms/apartments with amazing views of the marvellous mountains of Turrialba. Turrialba is a special place, not much to do there, but it is so peaceful, so refreshing, I would definitely recommend it for a

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

At night gets down to about low 60's. Since high in the mountain, not really that hot during the day. Owner's son's VERY accommodating (owner must have been on vaca).

We spent two nights. Gorgeous sitting outside day or night overlooking Torrealba (town about 5 miles away).

They offer dinner at night for under $20 if you don't want to travel. We ate both nights we were there --one night had pumpkin soup (hot), another night vegetable soup. One night they offered buffet, another night they had a la carte or dinner menu only.

Service was excellent--entire staff very nice and accommodating.

Breakfast was decent, fruit, eggs you can order, etc.

I highly recommend. One of the coolest (literally and figuratively) places you can stay at in Costa Rica for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Criticdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

40 miles drive from San Jose. Along winding roads and small villages.
WALMART on route 2. Beautiful lodge with 26 rooms. We have Suite number 4. Try to stay 2 nights to enjoy the surroundings by horse back. Great 3 course dinner choices. Check the website for details. Afternoon tea or coffee compliments of the lodge. Breathtaking views from most rooms.
Breakfasts included. Good beds, flat screen tv. Recommended. MeuterMedia

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I have travelled a lot in Costa Rica in 2013 and the Guayabo Lodge is one of the best places I have stayed in the whole country. The rooms were modern, clean and spacious and were tastefully decorated with high quality furnishings and local art. The morning views from the hotel grounds were amazing and include one of the most active volcanoes in the entire country (from a safe distance away). The staff was friendly and very helpful with great recommendations for nearby resteraunts and sights. They were also generous with information about nearby Turrialba.
The only warnings I would want to give other visitors is that the hotel is on the mountain and so it will be much cooler than in Turrialba or San Jose, the views in the afternoon are often obsured by low hanging clouds, and finally the road to the hotel is in good condition but is slow going because it winds up the mountain to the village.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keneti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night to break up the drive between the airport and Puerto Viejo. But it would have been nice to have stayed longer. Guayabo Lodge's scenic location is absolutely stunning at sunrise and sunset. They have nice little walkways throughout their gardens where there are benches to relax throughout the afternoon. They have decent food on-site, and the rooms are perfect size with great hillside views.

Room Tip: We had upstairs rooms which provided a fantastic view of the hills.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tzoom84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Guayabo Lodge came recommended by friends and The Tico Times and it lived up to our high expectations. The upstairs rooms in the building across from reception had beautiful views and, because we were traveling in the off season, constantly changing clouds formations and light conditions = spectacular! The whole property is like a tiny Alpine village with pretty buildings and lovely gardens. The rooms and meals were incredibly reasonably priced and the food was delicious. Pedro, the owner, was unfailingly genial and helpful. Waking up at 5:30 am and seeing Turrialba Volcano first thing in the a.m. was a real treat. Guayabo Lodge arranged for a knowledgeable local guide (reasonable price, too) who took us into the park to see the volcano at fairly close range -- it's active so you cannot get to the crater but the smoke rising form the cone, the devastated landscape (mainly from sulfurous fumes) and the impact of the huge volcano is (sorry for the over-used word here:) awesome. Our guide, Cesar, also took us to Guayabo National Monument, the largest and best studied archeological site in the country and then for lunch to a local soda with fresh tilapia and trout that belongs to a friend. We cannot recommend this hotel strongly enough!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have the most spectacular views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonOlivieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
9.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Turire
Hotel Casa Turire
#3 of 12 in Turrialba
293 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
262 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Florencia
Hotel Villa Florencia
#4 of 12 in Turrialba
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Pacuare Lodge
Pacuare Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pacuare River
547 reviews
14.2 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
405 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#8 of 12 in Turrialba
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guayabo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guayabo Lodge

Address: Sur del Cementerio de Sta Cruz 300 m | Santa Cruz de Turrialba, Turrialba 30504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Price Range: $68 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Guayabo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guayabo Lodge is a 24 room cozy mountain eco-Lodge located in the outskirts of the Turrialba volcano, 2 hours from the airport. Excellent rooms and magnificent views. Enjoy nature, rafting, canopy or hiking, tour the smoking volcano, visit the Guayabo Archaeological Park or the CATIE botanical garden. Our restaurant offers a selected menu of Costa Rican and international dishes, taking advantage of tropical ingredients and creations from Guayabo Lodge Cooking School. Our bar is open every evening and offers a great selection of fruit juices, cocktails, beers and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Guayabo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guayabo Lodge Costa Rica/Turrialba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing