We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A tranquil hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Guayabo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Certificate of Excellence
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A tranquil hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed for one night at Hotel Guayabo Lodge in June, a tranquil motel located on the side of volcan Turrialba. Stunning views of the mountains and the volcano. The facilities and food were excellent and the tour of Monumento National Guayabo extremely interesting and highly informative. I stayed just one night but it was the most relaxing portion of my one month stay in Costa Rica. Unfortunately time constraints did not allow me to visit the biological gardens at CATIE near Turrialba or the volcan Turrialba. I highly recommend this motel as a respect from the other busy tourist areas in Costa Rica. Although a bit off the major roads but accessible from Turrialba via taxi or by bus for those with more time. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the volcan Turrialba.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    56
    17
    16
    3
See reviews for
43
97
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Guayabo Lodge

Ok, tough to give a good review here. Read a lot of positive ones and thus booked. We got lost on the way to the lodge and really really struggled finding it. A detailed map or a sign at the bottom of the hill would have been very helpful. We eventually arrived exhausted and after dark. 

We enjoyed a good dinner and then passed out. 

The biggest negative was that our toilet leaked and the stench was unbearable. My friend refused to use the bathroom and I could barely breath when I did. Big thumbs down on those two marks. 

Our room view was that of sheet metal rooftops. Not too impressive. Beds were two singles in a small room.

Did enjoy the view from the main entrance area of the lodge. Maybe our whole opinion would have been different if we had not gotten lost and had a non stinky bathroom.

The drive up the hill is no less than 30 minutes. Not even close to Turrialba...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TacomaTx07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The setting is breath taking and the food was wonderful. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. It was homey and the fire every night was most welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This lodge is just amazing for people that like great service and rooms that are clean and well kept.The owners Pedro and Roseanne treat every client as if they
are special.Have stayed at the lodge for 6 years in a row and every year they
exceed my expectations. A must stop in Costa Rica
Cuba Discovery Tours

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willie1Brandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Fantastic views and comfortable rooms. Excellent birding and great food. Had an excellent cooking class and a warm fire every night. Arsenal visible and closeby.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank f0cus0nsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

My Girlfriend and I went there to stay for a night, We read on the news that the weather was going to be very nice for us to get to see the Volcano. But unfortunately the clouds took over the whole place, and we did not get a chance to see the Volcano... The owners were very nice to us and advised us to go to the Monumento Guayabo regardless of the weather condition.... We actually enjoyed very much and had a very good time... THe hotel is very nice, clean, and the rest is also very nice as well as the food, the price is very affordable.

THe only problem that we had, was the quality of the mattress since it was not very good we didn't sleep that well on it.

Room Tip: If you are not in Turrialba or coming from somewhere where you must pass Turrialba, which means you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reubenuk777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

This wonderful and friendly lodge is beautifully situated within view of Turrialba Volcano and has a magnificent night view of Turrialba's city lights sparkling in th valley below. If you have a chance to arrange for a cooking lesson, do so. It is fun and your meal will be delicious! This is a good place to relax for several days and is within driving distance to Irazu Volcano, the Guayabo archaeological site, Cartago, CATIE and the Orosi Valley.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veraguas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
9.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Turire
Hotel Casa Turire
#3 of 12 in Turrialba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Florencia
Hotel Villa Florencia
#6 of 12 in Turrialba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
#9 of 12 in Turrialba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
12.2 mi away
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
#4 of 5 in Cartago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guayabo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guayabo Lodge

Property: Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Address: Sur del Cementerio de Sta Cruz 300 m | Santa Cruz de Turrialba, Turrialba 30504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Guayabo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guayabo Lodge is a 24 room cozy mountain eco-Lodge located in the outskirts of the Turrialba volcano, 2 hours from the airport. Excellent rooms and magnificent views. Enjoy nature, rafting, canopy or hiking, tour the smoking volcano, visit the Guayabo Archaeological Park or the CATIE botanical garden. Our restaurant offers a selected menu of Costa Rican and international dishes, taking advantage of tropical ingredients and creations from Guayabo Lodge Cooking School. Our bar is open every evening and offers a great selection of fruit juices, cocktails, beers and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Guayabo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guayabo Lodge Costa Rica/Turrialba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing