We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A slice of paradise... The perfect hotel for solo travelers, couples and families alike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Reventazon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Reventazon
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Orosi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A slice of paradise... The perfect hotel for solo travelers, couples and families alike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

I just recently left Orosi and the Hotel Reventazon and im missing it already. The rooms were spotless, how water was a treat an the balacony was a perfect place to chill out and greet all the locals passing by. Theres a restaurant right next door selling casado with chicken or meat or fish with a drink for $4 and in the evening theres always a few friendly faces at the bar. The huge supermarket is literally round the corner. The wifi meant I could surf the net from the comfort of my own bed and the hotel owners helped with everything needed.

Orosi itself is a stunning small town where passersby typically give you a generous smile, greet you and perhaps even stop for a chat. The local waterfalls hot springs coffee farms and botanical gardens were all stunning and staying at the hotel reventazon meant that I met so many different people who all had advice on how I should spend my time in Orosi.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leila_Arbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
14
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

A great place to stay if all you need is a clean room and hot shower. It was very nice to sit out front and enjoy the evening air. Everyone was very nice, even did laundry for me. My only complaint was a rooster that woke me up every morning at about 4:30, which is also when people in town start moving around. I was able to fall back asleep quickly. If your looking for the true Orosi experience, this is a great place to stay, safe as well.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyboy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spreitenbach, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

A couple of months have gone by since the last reviews were posted on this hotel, and it seems that the place has undergone a bit of a transformation in that time. For us this was the least pleasant experience in three weeks of travelling Costa Rica. When we arrived to spend one night at this hotel, the owner just quickly showed up to open the doors to our rooms (the keys were inside the rooms, so she opened by putting her hand through the window next to the door and by unlocking from inside...). Before she left again we inquired about breakfast. She said that it was not included since they had sold the restaurant next door and recommended a good place 100 m away (that place was indeed good). Inside, the two rooms were fairly dirty, especially below the furniture. The knobs of the bathroom-doors were missing, and so were some of the light bulbs. Toilets and showers were not in too good a shape either and one bathroom had no toilet paper. All this, and particularly the owner's attitude, made us wonder whether the owners were about to sell the establishment or whether they just had a bad day.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LosIhlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelreventazon, Owner at Hotel Reventazon, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
To: LosIhlys

From: Frank Bynum, Owner, Hotel Reventazon , Orosi, Costa Rica

re: "A disappointing experience"

First, I would like to admit that you criticisms were absolutely valid. Our commitment has always been to a pleasant vacation experience in a clean, comfortable room and we obviously did NOT provide that to you. I sincerely apologize for your bad experience! The comments you posted painfully brought to my attention issues that needed to be addressed. The reason for my delay in responding to you is that I wanted to resolve them first.

They have been resolved. The manager and maid are no longer with the hotel and I have taken personal responsibility for management.

Many years ago, my mother told me of a sign she once saw in a business that has stuck in my mind: "Good customers don't complain . . . they just don't come back!" The obvious sentiment to that is: "Excellent customers DO COMPLAIN and point out problems that allow one to correct mistakes and improve their product or business."

I appreciate your taking the time and giving me the opportunity to resolve the problem. I hope that you will return to Hotel Reventazon in Orosi and give me the opportunity to provide you free accommodations and demonstrate the improvements. Plus, if you will e-mail me your contact information at info@hotelreventazon.com, I would gladly refund the money you paid.

Sincerely,

Frank Bynum, Owner, Hotel Reventazon, Orosi, Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Hotel Reventazon is very well maintained with clean rooms and hot showers. It is in the heart of the county therefore, a great base to go from. There is a hot springs swimming pools down the street. Tiffany and Frank are super nice. They have been in Costa Rica for a few years and know a lot about getting around. The hotel is very secure. I have sent others to this hotel and they will go back. Likewise so will I.

Reba

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebaEustis_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

Here's a place that could be central enough to get the full expirience of Costa Rica.
Centrally located south of San Jose' you have the country at your fingertips. From here it's nice to visit the beach or stay around town and visit a botanical garden.
As properties become more equitable, The Hotel Reventazon makes a good home base to utilize listings advertised, wi fi available, and ATV's to travel parts of the country, no car has gone before.
The owners, Frank and Tiffany are known by neighboring merchants and resturaunts and are well respected. They will help you get the complete expirience of the local culture and be able to point out the most historical landmarks. And if your up to it, they can guide you on atvs anywhere you'd like to go.
Definitely ask for the tour of Christine's Coffee Farm and the Lankaster Botanical Garden. And of course you can decide if you want to summit some of the tallest volcanos in Costa Rica and look down into them. On a clear day see from coast to coast on top of Mt. Irazu with the help of the hotel staff.
Thank you guys for the vacation of a lifetime, and making it affordable for me.
See you in May!

Chris

  • Liked — I liked how the ATV's, dinning and WI FI made everything come together!
  • Disliked — It was hard to leave after finding true friends.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank OregonMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A>
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2008

Driving to Orosi can be difficult. You may have to stop and ask for directions a few times. However, the final turn down the side of the mountain gives you a great view of the valley floor where you see a few rooftops peeking out of the deep green landscape. The town is nestled at the base of a mountain with a historic church in the middle and an eco park a short distance away.
The hotel itself is not a five star resort by any means, however, it's just what you need in this small town. Clean, friendly, bar/restaurant with a view directly towards a smoking volcano.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveling_john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

We happened upon this great hotel/restaurant/bar from reading a guide book on Costa Rica. it is family owned (American), in a gorgeous setting and very friendly. The hotel is backpacker style, clean, queen bed, super hot shower :) and a great open area downstairs for food, drink and friendly conversation. We arrived after an unpleasant experience at another property. This place was everything the other was not. They offered advice on tours-the dad even walked us around town to show us around-offered a computer to check email. One of our favorite parts was the Quad tour they offer for a reasonable price, it's a great way to explore the area!
The room was very reasonably priced as well. It is near restaurants, supermarkets, without being in a commercial setting.
The area is very quaint, an old church, a large soccer field in the center of town.
It's about an hour from the airport, but they have a trusted driver you can hire who speaks english.
A big thumbs up-it was perfect for us!

  • Liked — Their genuine interest in your comfort and enjoyment
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VeggieHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orosi
0.1 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino
6.0 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Las Brumas
Hotel Las Brumas
#3 of 5 in Cartago
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
#4 of 5 in Cartago
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel El Guarco
Hotel El Guarco
#2 of 5 in Cartago
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reventazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reventazon

Property: Hotel Reventazon
Address: Banco Nacinal 25 mts south 20 west | Banco Nacinal 25 mts sur 20 oeste, Orosi, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Orosi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Orosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Reventazon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Reventazon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reventazon Hotel Orosi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing