We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great having a roof top terrace”
Review of Orosi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orosi Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orosi
Certificate of Excellence
Porirua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great having a roof top terrace”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Orosi is a hidden gem and we had a wonderful five days at the lodge. Easy walking distance to the town and next to the local swimming baths. Andreas is welcoming host and helped us organise shuttles and trips to local attractions. Great breakfasts, comfortable rooms, helpful and pleasant staff and a great view from the roof top terrace. One of the rooms even had a hummingbird nest complete with mother and baby outside the window. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flospeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    107
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
66
234
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Highly reccomended for the first stay in Costa Rica. For those who don't want to lose time for San José, it's "just" 2h drive from the airport. The place is very nice and quiet so you can sleep long after the long flight (we're flying 11h from Spain). Rooms are comfortable and clean, in front of our window there was a small palm with hummingbirt nest. The hummingbird was there, sitting on 2 eggs. Our first face-to-face with wilod life in Costa Rica :) The breakfast just confirmed that Orosi Lodge was a good joice. Tasty, fresh, perfect. I purchased some of the banana jam and of course coffee. This was the best cup of coffee I ever had in this country. We went also to Caffee Cristina, coffee farm where the coffe is cultivated and roasted by Linda - nature enthusiast and coffee expert. We had a very nice tour finished with fresh roasted coffee. You can also buy it there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank huertofrutal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We just returned from a week at Orosi Lodge, February, 2014. Having seen many of the tourist must-sees on previous trips, we wanted to just relax in a typical Costa Rican town. The owners of Orosi Lodge are unfailingly helpful and cheerful. The other staff are attentive and wonderful. We stayed at the Casa, a one-bedroom unit across the road with its own parking lot, but we got to meet other guests at the wonderful breakfasts. The bedroom of the Casa has a double bed and bunk beds. The double bed, if I have quibble, is soft and maybe has too many miles on it. My back is glad to be home.
Orosi is well-located for trips to Irazu Volcano, Tapanti forest and the Lankester Botanical Gardens in nearby Paraiso. The lodge has no swimming pool, but is next to a thermally heated public pool. The well-equipped kitchen allowed us to make some of our own meals.
We can recommend Orosi Lodge whole-heartedly. Our stay there will remain a fond memory.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jastell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Level Contributor
148 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed 1 night in the chalet of this comfortable and friendly lodge. The chalet is a well furnished big two storey house with private parking lot and a perfect roof terrace overlooking the valley and both Irazu and Turrialba volcanos- what a location!
German owners are very helpful- arranged for us a visit to Cafe Cristina, an organic coffee farm close to Paraiso (highly recommended, a must!!!)
By the way- the coffee sold at Orosi Lodge is from Cafe Cristina. Try a cup- it´s great!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münc
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Orosi Lodge in May 2013, the rooms are clean and nice with kitchenette. From the upper level you have a great view on the vulcano.
Worth mentioning are the owners and staff, very friendly and helpful as they provide a map with all important sights in the regions including a lot of personal advice.
They also booked us the coffee tour, which was great.
All in all, great stay - great value for money ratio. We can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Upstairs for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AN Love travel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in Orosi Lodge only one night. The owners are very nice, helpful (very) and competent.
We had the Chalet, actually a huge 2 story-house, just for us !!. It has a balcony overlooking the city, facing the Turialba (which we unfortunately could not fully see due to the cloud coverage), two bedrooms, living room with sofa, a fully equipped kitchen with local organic coffee (Mmmmmmmmmmmmm, so good). The city itself is very quiet, pretty small, and the surrounding are just lovely.
Not easy to park a big car Inside, but in front of the reception is just fine.

When we left we said "we don't know when, but we will come back".

Breakfast was great, with only fresh products.

See you !!

Room Tip: If your budget permits, take the chalet or the Casita.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEROSTEPH_PARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Orosi is a fascinating small town, in a valley surrounded by mountains. The town is growing rapidly but it still has a small village atmosphere--with families walking to the next-door thermal pools during the day, the church bells ringing before services, "pick-up" soccer games from sunrise to past sunset on the town soccer field, and very friendly residents. We were so glad that our family included three nights at the Orosi Lodge during our trip. I highly recommend a visit to the town and a stay at the Orosi Lodge for anyone coming to Costa Rica.

The Lodge is as good as the other reviewers say. Each room has a small refrigerator and coffee maker, sink, and hair dryer.
The bed is comfortable. The two pillows, however, were too thick for me to use (but a towel wrapped in my pajama top worked wonderfully for me), and were too few for my wife to be able to prop herself up for sleeping(we were able to borrow another pillow after the first night). There is no air conditioning. We are sensitive to heat, but the December nights were absolutely comfortable and easy to sleep through with the ceiling fan and the windows open a bit.
There is at least one village rooster who starts crowing at about 3am, but after the first night, we were not bothered by the crowing. Another night, a couple dogs spent some time barking at each other. As another reviewer suggested, ear plugs for sleeping would help if noises disturb your sleep easily. Don't let this issue keep you from visiting a wonderful spot!

The views from the front windows and second floor balcony are wonderful. You look out over the town to the coffee farms in the hills nearby to the mountains and two volcanoes in the distance.

The owners are very helpful. The breakfasts are a must! There are two choices, but you can adapt those choices to whatever mix you want, so our family of a vegan, vegetarians, and a couple meat lovers all found the breakfasts a treat. If you enjoy coffee, you are in the right place to have a couple cups with breakfast. The owners also will prepare box lunches for you if you are going on any adventure in the national park or away from the town or if you just want a picnic.
The owners also will provide lots of help in choosing places to eat and activities to enjoy. They connected us with a taxi driver who was a wonderful help for us. I recommend trying to get Luis if your family needs a driver while in Orosi. There is much to enjoy in and around Orosi and with the guidance of the owners, and Luis as driver, we were able to do lots.
Also, the owners are fluent in German, English, and Spanish (and maybe other languages too).

I would highly recommend a couple things to the owners. First, lower the bathroom mirror about a foot (at six feet tall, I was able to use the mirror but my 5'2" wife could not see a thing). Second, put a chair in the room! There are chairs on the balcony, but if you want to sit in the room to read or talk or rest, the only choices are the bed or the floor. Finally, though the WiFi was usable, it really needs to be modernized for current internet speeds. Connections were quite slow.

Orosi Lodge (and the town of Orosi) is one of the most overall enjoyably and interesting places I have ever visited. Go to Orosi, stay at Orosi Lodge.

Room Tip: The second floor is best. You need to leave your shoes outside the second floor rooms, but they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orosi
6.1 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
249 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino
2.5 mi away
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
#4 of 5 in Cartago
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reventazon
Hotel Reventazon
#2 of 3 in Orosi
58 reviews
17.2 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
740 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Turrialba
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orosi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orosi Lodge

Property: Orosi Lodge
Address: Valle de Orosi | 25 m east of the Thermal Pools Orosi, Orosi 1122 - 7050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Orosi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orosi Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming small Colonial Style Hotel in the most beautiful valley of Costa Rica - "Orosi Valley" near Cartago in the Central Highlands; located in the center of Orosi village right next to the Thermal Pools Orosi. American or continental breakfasts are on the menu with fresh organic coffee roasted especially for Orosi Lodge. Enjoy a Cappuccino, Espresso, or Cafe au Lait with a piece of our famous homemade cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orosi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orosi Hotel Orosi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing