We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of Orosi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orosi Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orosi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I'm adding this hotel to my short list of favorite p,aces to stay in Costa Rica. Kinda hard to find, but well worth the effort. Sebastian and Andreas are delightful hosts who will warmly greet you and assist you in any way....from restaurant suggestions to fun things to do in the area. This boutique hotel is value priced and worth every cent. The rooms are co,orful and comfortable. I love room #2...it is right across from the hammock where the fountain could lull to sweet dreams. The rooms upstairs give yo a view of the surrounding countryside.

Can you say Bliss?

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lazrlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Orosi Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 405 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

Orosi Lodge does not just offer the best and I realaly mean THE best breakfast in Costa Rica, you will also get a price for your room which is more than fair for the value you get, large, very clean and nice rooms. Thoughtfully decorated and the topfloor rooms offer stunning views, weather permitting, of the valley and the volcanos. The owners will advise you on what to see and where to go without trying to sell you a tour or any add-ons. Parking is available right in front or a cross the street in a gated small parking lot. The rooms have hotwater showers, free coffee and a coffee maker, a fridge with mineral water and beer and enough room inside so that you can bring your own things as well. WiFi is available throughout the property. Just the perfect place to stay in Orosi.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have a wonderful view from the shared balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebluetruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

What a lovely little hotel and restaurant! Friendly, helpful owners, great location, comfortable beds, and big rooms. All for a super price. Breakfast is really good and inexpensive ($6 or $7 US). I definitely recommend staying here if you are in the Orosi area and looking for somewhere clean, comfortable, and simple.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views, and I imagine they are quieter (I had an upper room).
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonm1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I and another couple really enjoyed our stay at Orosi Lodge. The room
was very roomy and charming. Comfortable porches with seating in the evening. We really loved the breakfast. Definitely worth doing,
especially the skillet breakfast. Great area to visit. The owners were very nice and
helpful.

Room Tip: we liked the second floor rooms for the view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This lodge is great! We appreciated the advice of our hosts, with their album full of wonderful suggestions for activitiesb in the area. Breakfast is not included in the very reasonable rate but don't miss it! Of course, the coffee is excellent too.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room to avoid overhead noise and to have a good view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTravel032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I spent one night at Orosi Lodge in April 2012. The hotel is nice, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is good, welcome excellent. Rooms on the upper floor are cosy and have a view on Turralbia and Irazu volcanos ... but above the roofs of ther houses of this small town. Beds are excellent. A good place to go.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

While checking in, we noted that the German owner is not really interested in his guest. He mainly took care of his dogs and explained us the local attractions in a rush. The rooms are clean and well maintained - however the rooms are not well isolated from each other. Therefore, expect to hear the noices from all the other guests.

Once arrived in the morning at breakfast two minutes too early, the German owner told us that they are true Germans and won't serve the breakfast prior to 7am. We were not even allowed to sit down at one of his places. We both agreed that this was truly bad services and left immediately.

I therefore do not recommend staying in this lodge!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank quinto13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timeCostaRica, Owner at Orosi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Dear Quinto Berlin,

having read the 4 reviews you posted here on trip advisor, it seems to me that everywhere you go, you seem to have a problem with bad service or bad management. I truly hope that some day you will find a place that makes you happy.
Just remember : wherever you travel - you always bring yourself ...Good luck !

Andreas Veit
Orosi Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orosi
6.2 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
262 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort
2.5 mi away
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
#5 of 5 in Cartago
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tetey Lodge
Hotel Tetey Lodge
#3 of 3 in Orosi
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reventazon
Hotel Reventazon
#2 of 3 in Orosi
58 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Turrialba
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orosi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orosi Lodge

Address: Valle de Orosi | 25 m east of the Thermal Pools Orosi, Orosi 1122 - 7050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Orosi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orosi
Price Range: $60 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orosi Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming small Colonial Style Hotel in the most beautiful valley of Costa Rica - "Orosi Valley" near Cartago in the Central Highlands; located in the center of Orosi village right next to the Thermal Pools Orosi. American or continental breakfasts are on the menu with fresh organic coffee roasted especially for Orosi Lodge. Enjoy a Cappuccino, Espresso, or Cafe au Lait with a piece of our famous homemade cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orosi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orosi Hotel Orosi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing