We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet in Orosi”
Review of Chalet Orosi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chalet Orosi
Ranked #1 of 4 Orosi B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Quiet in Orosi”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Chalet Orosi is an oasis in the valley. Excellent location for a hike in Parque Tapanti, and some quiet time to read or write. I enjoyed every minute, especially the breakfast, birds, and just right hosting by Marie Claire.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famtravel20122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
58
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Micanopy, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent the most wonderful vacation recently at Chalet Orosi.
Marie -Claire the owner always attentive to our needs .. Fresh bread , fresh fruits, (pineapple, mangos,oranges , bananas, avocados and tomatoes ) homemade strawberry and blackberry jam. And of course coffee for breakfast daily.
The Chalets have beautiful surroundings with various tropical plants and flowers.
Marie - Claire found out it was my birthday and baked me one of the most delicious " French " chocolate cake I have ever eaten.
There was no need to rent a car .. Luis for an affordable price took us to visit Irazu volcano, a coffee plantation and other interesting places to visit .. He also drove us to Manuel Antonio our final destination before coming back to the United States.
My husband , my twelve year old daughter and I highly recommend Chalet Orosi.
This is definitely a place my family and I will return to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We were here in 2009 when our son was 7 and we stayed in the smaller bungalow for only one night on our way through town. Now that he is 11, we returned to spend more time in Orosi and Frank suggested the larger space. It was just as lovely as we remembered. The peaceful setting. The kind hosts. The fresh fruit and bread in the morning along with the cock a doodle doo from the rooster. It's a wonderful spot to come and go from as you explore the area. And the jacuzzi tub on the porch is the perfect way to unwind after a day of hiking.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the Chalet Orosi for one night in January 2013, but we really enjoyed the very cozy cabin, and the extremely friendly hosts Frank and Marie. The private hot tub was great too, and the food was excellent, thank you! Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mathdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The care and attention to detail that Frank and Marie Claire put into the Chalet, the grounds, and service really shows. We stayed in the Chalet Teca for two nights, and it was simply gorgeous. It truly is the kind of accommodations you'd expect to find in Vail, CO, so finding it in the middle of the Costa Rican mountains was a wonderful surprise (at a fraction of the price!). The pictures on their website don't even do it justice!
Creature comforts like wi-fi, cable, a jet tub, and a mini-kitchen stocked with delicious breads and fruit preserves were a welcome change of pace from the inherently more bare-bones Puerto Viejo accommodations. A/C was also not at all necessary as the elevation provided nice cool nights. We actually ended up closing the windows on the second night.
During breakfast, we had a few canine visitors at the gate, hoping for a few scraps. Very cute dogs, and adds to the down-to-earth atmosphere.
Nothing but wonderful things to say about Chalet Orosi- go there! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed at Chalet Teca the night before and three nights after my wedding, and from the moment my family and I arrived at the Chalet, Frank, Marie Claire (and their pets) made us feel so welcome, so at home. The grounds are overflowing with beautiful flowers and just outside of our patio was a hedge from which several species of hummingbirds would feed all day long.

Both the owners put forth an amazing effort to make sure my wedding was special, even helping my mom choose a ceremony location and building a special table to accomodate our dinner. The four-course meal was amazing, as was everything that Marie Claire prepared, and Frank served some fantastic wines.

They even conspired with my parents to surprise us newlyweds with a night alone in Chalet Los Leones, perched on the mountainside with amazing views of Tapantí national park.

I can't recommend the Chalet enough, and make sure to arrange for Marie Claire to prepare dinner!

Room Tip: If you don't mind being isolated, Chalet Los Leones is a special treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djskafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed for three nights and will definitely return! The chalet is nicer than the photos indicate, cozy fireplace and a large outdoor, private jacuzzi. Only thing is that the WIFI signal is so weak that you can't connect to it.
Fantastic hosts and very clean!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_Price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orosi
1.1 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
389 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
249 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Reventazon
Hotel Reventazon
#2 of 3 in Orosi
58 reviews
3.3 mi away
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
#4 of 5 in Cartago
38 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Las Brumas
Hotel Las Brumas
#3 of 5 in Cartago
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Orosi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Orosi

Property: Chalet Orosi
Address: Calle Juco De la planta Santa Maria | 200 mts sur, Orosi 7100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Orosi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Orosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chalet Orosi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the foothill of the mountain, near a river, in the heart of a coffee plantation, with a beautiful view on the Irazu Volcano, our spacious 2 chalets studio and the family chalet offers you a huge space and full comfort.All the chalets are fully equiped with hot tub on the terrace.Our guesthouse is the ideal spot to relax and unwind during your stay, in total harmony with the quiet surrounding nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Chalet Orosi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing