We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cartago
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Wonderful place, rooms clean, nice pool, but a very bad service at restaurant and the quality of food is not good enough for a hotel restaurant.

Breakfast menu is very limited, is not a buffet is only one option, and the quality is not the better.

Price versus value at restaurant is not fair enough, you can go a local place outside the hotel and receive better prices and quality

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank pbroce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, Marketing at Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write your review of our property, we were pleased to read you liked our Hotel but I'm sorry to hear the restaurant services weren't up to the standard you've come to expect from us. it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 227 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

The setting of Hotel Rio Perlas is wonderful. If you are the kind of person who likes to sit in your hotel room and watch TV and answer email, then this is not the place for you. To get out and hike the trails through the seemingly virgin forest/jungle makes for an unforgettable experience. We enjoyed the comfort of the room, the seclusion of the setting, being away from town, the staff and the food but by far the most enjoyable part of our stay was our time in the trees and by the creek as well as in the spa pools.
The large pool and the smaller ones close to it are not that hot though fun to be in. The smaller pools that you find scattered around a bit have much hotter water and it is adjustable with hot and cold faucets. Romantic as well as they are perfect for two people and a bit more secluded. You will really enjoy this hotel if you don't take seriously their claim to be a five star resort and it is certainly not a casino. But I don't think I've ever seen a hotel anywhere that has such beautiful, natural grounds.

Room Tip: The cabins in the woods looked wonderful for the setting and privacy but you might want to stay away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioPerlasResort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014
Google Translation

Nuestros clientes son nuestro complemente perfecto para que nuestro Hotel irradie esa magía natural que solo nuestra naturaleza nos pueda dar. Nos sentimos muy alagados con sus comentarios, nos motivan a seguir creciendo y darle a nuestros clientes lo mejor. Muchas gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

When I first saw the resort it took my breath away, the website doesn't do it justice. The landscape, the spanish style suits, the pools, and trails--absolutely gorgeous. You can wake up in the morning and hear exotic birds singing while you drink your coffee, it is so tranquil and calming. We loved it. We stayed in the suites they were huge AND clean. They had separate rooms for sleeping and one for watching tv. The food was delicious, service was a little slow inside, but they were quick to give me my drinks outside while i bathed in the pool. It was such a pleasant experience, we loved it. We will go again.

Room Tip: The suites, you have to get one of the suites, it's big and spacious, the rooms are separated wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioPerlasResort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014
Google Translation

Nos complace mucho saber que cumplimos con sus espectativas, comentarios como estos nos instan a seguir mejorando día a día. Esperamos nos visiten nuevamente. Saludos cordiales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel consists of a lot of huts, some duplex, many individual, strung out on paths on a very long river valley. The valley is so steep that there is no path at the river itself. Cars are not allowed - they take you from the check in, by the entrance, and car park to your room, by golf buggy, and then you are on your own. Our room was ok - not well maintained, and it took them four hours to replace two light bulbs. TV is pathetic, but I only tried it just to see if it worked!

We stayed up on maybe the third level above the valley. There were enough lights to see the way to the restaurant, after descending many paths to the river bridge, and then hauling up the other side. Dinner was ok - local fish comes from ponds, off of the river, half a mile upstream and is quite tasty. The spa were helpful. The large cold swimming pool was refreshing, after walking 1/2 mile to get there. Breakfast was buffet, and lovely views in the morning. There is fairly thick vegetation going up the sides of the valley, and lots of birds.

The grounds have lots of scattered "hot tubs" in the open air, they are discoloured because the water is natural geothermal, often scalding hot, and full of that crazy rotten eggs smell from the sulphur. The river falls continuously, so there is some noise.

I would not call it romantic.

It's great for exploring the valley of the Orosi River, and Lankester Gardens, etc. Best to have a 4 wheel drive vehicle.

The chapel and small "conference area were not open.

Room Tip: Higher levels have more light, less noise, but more walking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was a one night romantic getaway for us; we did enjoy it a lot. We MUST say the service, the staff was remarkable, and workers are really friendly and willing to help very nice happy staff that made us feel welcome from the moment we entered.
The Grounds are beautiful, gardens are very well kept, magic scenery, very green, and if you love nature you will love it here, it has a nice river that goes through it. It also has a little chapel very nice and cozy and a conference center next to it. The place is very secluded, no phone signal, the Wi-Fi only works well in certain common areas and is really weak in the rooms. I think this is a good thing if you really want to get away from work and just relax, it was fine for me. But other people might find this as a con.
We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant Taberna del Capitan Bar, Restaurante and Grill, for dinner my boyfriend ordered chicken stuffed with veggies and cheese this was excellent, I ordered a garlic trout filet which was very salty; not what I expected, the restaurant is decorated nicely and as mentioned before the staff was really welcoming. Breakfast was average, gallo pinto, eggs (scrambled with too much milk) sausage, and very tasty plantain.
Now this place is promoted as a 5 star hotel but it doesn’t meet the criteria to be considered 5 stars. The place was design nicely but it is desperate need of an update and maintenance. The owners need to invest some money into it.
The rooms were comfortable and big but felt really old and outdated with regular TVs’; I think to be a 5 stars they should upgrade to flat screens, also had a big mirror, refrigerator, coffee maker, safe box, hairdryer, table and 2 chairs, fan, and lamps. There was only one room next to ours and we could literally hear the person snoring in his room.
Cleanness: I found cockroach in the bathroom. My boyfriend and I decided to go for a walk to know the whole property which is really stunning itself we could wait to get into the hot tubs since they have several, but, some of them if not all of them were REALLY dirty, with green stuff on the walls, like the last time they were cleaned was months ago! Disgusting! During our walk we crossed a little iron bridge and this awful smell hit us, to our surprise when we looked down we saw drain water (SEWER) going in straight to the beautiful river SO DISAPPOINTING this place is CONTAMINATING THE RIVER!!!! They must find a way to control their drain waters ASAP. LOOK AT THE PICTURES.
Overall as I said the best thing they have is the staff, the place, the gardens the grounds are very nice, in extreme need of an update and take actions with the hygiene of the tubs and fix the sewer problems.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naomi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went on a romantic gateway to Hotel Río Perlas. We rented a junior suite wanting to get some privacy and quiet time. But the walls were so thin that we could hear our neighbors, who to our misfortune were way too noisy. We expected to hear nature’s sounds, not other people´s TV and family problems!!! It does not definitely deserve the 5 starts they claim for themselves! It probably was a great hotel some years ago, but it looks as if it had not received any maintenance since its opening, so everything looks outdated and worn-out. The room looked like an old cabin and it was really moldy; on top of that, the fan did not work much, so we could not ventilate it to get rid of the awful smell. The safe was not working properly and when they came to check, they said it had run out of batteries but did not solve the problem. I’m pretty sure other more modest cabins in the Los Santos area will be way better!!
The location is splendid, the scenery is magic. It’s a real shame because it could be a stunning place to relax and enjoy nature. But as it is, it’s just a horrible pricey place to visit!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SNR80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our family stayed here 2 nights/3 days. We had an incredible experience, very clean rooms, friendly staff, food was great for $15 on average. Very accessible from San Jose, we had lots of fun observing the nature, the trails, the fish, birds, swimming in the near-by river, and hanging around the pool. The warm pool was great because the weather is not necessarily hot. Loved the place and we will come back. Great place for relaxed vacations

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartago
8 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
270 reviews
3 mi away
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
#5 of 5 in Cartago
41 reviews
2.2 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco
5.5 mi away
Hotel Las Brumas
Hotel Las Brumas
#4 of 5 in Cartago
27 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Reventazon
Hotel Reventazon
#2 of 3 in Orosi
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort

Address: Valle de Orosi, Cartago 95-7100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Cartago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cartago
Price Range: $107 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 65 rooms ravishing property, Among the finest five star hotels in Costa Rica is set in the beautiful and legendary Orosi Valley 39 Km./ 24 Mls. from San José represents the only Mountain & Spa destination in the area. the exclusive Hotel Río Perlas Spa & Resort is surrounded by tropical gardens of the rain and cloud forest with many natural attractions as: Tapantí National Park (15 Km./ 9 Mls.), the Irazú Volcano (57 Km./ 35 Mls.), the Turrialba Volcano (30 Km./ 19 Mls.), the Arqueological Reserve of Guayabo ( 30Km. / 19 Mls.), the Pacuare and Reventazón Rivers normally used for white water rafting, the Lankaster Gardens (9 Km./ 6 Mls.), the Ujarrás Valley and also the Cathedral of Nuestra Señora de los Angeles located in the center of the old Costa Rica metropole: Cartago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Perlas Cartago
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Cartago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing