We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cartago
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our family stayed here 2 nights/3 days. We had an incredible experience, very clean rooms, friendly staff, food was great for $15 on average. Very accessible from San Jose, we had lots of fun observing the nature, the trails, the fish, birds, swimming in the near-by river, and hanging around the pool. The warm pool was great because the weather is not necessarily hot. Loved the place and we will come back. Great place for relaxed vacations

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    51
    53
    39
    21
See reviews for
58
95
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, and I would agree with the sentiment that this is not a 5-star property. That said, the price we paid was around $100 for a private cabin, so not a bad value.
Pros: Very quiet & secluded, nice pools and an OK spa (again, not 5-star, but not pricey, either). Decent restaurant; no James Beard awards here but they serve a pretty good local trout.
Cons: No car (they transport you to the cabin; have to park at the entrance). No internet in the rooms; only at the reception area (we found both of these factors to be a bit inconvenient). The TV was pretty lame as well; I've had better reception with a pair of rabit ears in 1960.
Our first impression wasn't that great, but by the second day, the place began to grow on us. After massages and manicures, a swim in the thermal pool, some cold beer and a nice meal we were feeling better about the place.
Bottom line: This is a good location is you seek seclusion and want to be disconnected from the world. It's quite remote, and they are very good at disconnecting you--I'm just glad they didn't confiscate my car keys!

Room Tip: Have at least one dinner in the restaurant--they need the business! Also, Orosi doesn't have mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were in Costa Rica for a vacation in February of 2013. We had decided to tour the country without an itinerary so after a day in Cartago this hotel was to be home for the night. We were pleasantly surprised upon check in at the grounds and the room. The main problem we ran into was that many of the lights in the room were not working. The room was so dark at night that there was no option to read, there seemed to be many maintenance issues that had been ignored. We did not have hot water in the morning and the grounds are very dark so bring a flashlight. The grounds are very nice, the property sits on the side of a mountain so it is quite a hike up to the top where the restaurant is. We did swim in the thermal spring pool, a unique addition. Also there are small bathtub like fixtures spread all over the property. I suppose the idea is to fill the bathtubs with thermal spring water and soak, but they are right out in the middle of the grounds...very odd. The restaurant was VERY good, and the service was excellent. We had breakfast and dinner in the onsite restaurant and had a great experience both times. All in all I would stay in this hotel again, but bring a flashlight!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranhar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

First, I would like to say that I am not what you would consider "high maintenance". I rarely complain about anything, can't think of the last time I sent food back at a restaurant and generally don't complain about much in life. With that said, I felt compelled to write this review to hopefully prevent others from falling victim to the false advertising that is Hotel Rio Perlas and having the same horrible experience our group did. The place is advertised as "5 stars" but it isn't even a one star hotel (seriously) The good: the grounds are beautiful. That's it! The bad: almost NONE of the advertised amenities were availabile or working...not one clean or working jacuzzi in the whole place. The "thermal spring" pool was lukewarm at best. There was no poolside wet bar. The spa was closed. Satellite TV was 4 channels, 3 of which were unwatchable. The room stank of mold and even worse, the curtains were covered in either mold, squished bugs, or what one person in our party (claiming experience on the matter) said was "spider poop". We ate at the restaurant and while the food was passable, the service was some of the worst I have ever experienced. The best way to sum this place up is that it was so bad, we left in a downpour and in the dark, willing to forfeit the pre-paid 2 nights just to get away.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cartago hotels

Wiscasset, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
256 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The layout is superb, with flowers and orchids everywhere. Well maintained grounds and very helpful staff. We parked, and were driven to the Captains Quarters for food and drink. Really special. The food was passable, not spectacular, clearly using what was on hand. Order local fish and beef (trout from the pool on site) are good. Prep time was long, but we watched birds and ambled about taking in the sites. All in all, a pleasant afternoon spent in a relaxing and beautiful location. Perhaps a stay next time.

Room Tip: Water falls are loud, but there are many rooms to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanRafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

beautiful scenery and very enjoyable thermal pool,value great at 85$ on kayak .com Breakfast great and included with choices.. drinks expensive recommend eating in town spa seems good but didnt have time to try it out thermal pool open at all hours

Room Tip: check shower out in your room and make sure wter heater turned on
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We went to this hotel this weekend with a couple of friends. We were really looking forward this trip since we are very busy people and we finally got to escape to find some peace of mind... We were offered a good price even for high season. We got very excited to see the hotel's entrance and the first buildings but the excitement did not last long. My husband, friends and I had high expectations for a 5 stars rated hotel so when we finally went in the reception we had a bad feeling when we saw a very cheesy picture of a lady hanging in one of the main walls, ragged, outdated furniture and devices. Staff was not properly dressed for a 5 star hotel and this was just to start. We were given 2 very separate rooms and very different from each other for the same price.. When we claimed for the room next to our friends they said they were full for the weekend and it was not possible.. They said he we stayed one more night they could probably make the change. We could see with our own eyes this statement was not true when we passed some empty rooms.. Our room was nice, I mean the infrastructure but it was too close from the access street. We were hit by a strong mold smell. We had to turn the fan on and the room felt even colder. The coffee for the room was in a plastic food bag and the bathtub tiles and doors had mold on them. The TV was all static and there were not much channels to choose from. We decided to in for a walk and grab a bite to eat. The property is very beautiful, but we were very dissapointed and disgusted to see the jacuzzies all dirty, brown from the very old water left on them! When getting to the restaurant to make the story short, due to the high prices and lack of good responses from the personnel we decided to look for a better place to eat outside the hotel. We found a very small 'soda' where we ate better by a few bucks and treated as at home. Great for 'Soda dona Luz'! We actually enjoyed the got water pool at night but dinner was not so successful. Staff is not well informed, needs more customer service training, bill was not complete, we had stained spoons and on real olive oil just to mention some things. The next day was not so different. Breakfast was not motivating. We decided to spend the rest of the day sleeping to avoid more bad surprises.. We are local tourists and we felt really ashamed for the international tourists who may visit this place. Please don't give up Costa Rica, there are a lot other great places to visit with fair prices, high class service and awesome sites!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lygia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartago
8.0 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
#5 of 5 in Cartago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
2.1 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Reventazon
Hotel Reventazon
#2 of 3 in Orosi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco
5.6 mi away
Hotel Las Brumas
Hotel Las Brumas
#3 of 5 in Cartago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino

Property: Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino
Address: Valle de Orosi, Cartago 95-7100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Cartago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cartago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 65 rooms new property located in the beautiful and legendary Orosi Valley 39 Km./ 24 Mls. from San José represents the only Mountain & Spa destination in Costa Rica. Hotel Río Perlas Spa & Resort is surrounded by many natural attractions as: Tapantí National Park (15 Km./ 9 Mls.), the Irazú Volcano (57 Km./ 35 Mls.), the Turrialba Volcano (30 Km./ 19 Mls.), the Arqueological Reserve of Guayabo ( 30Km. / 19 Mls.), the Pacuare and Reventazón Rivers normally used for white water rafting, the Lankaster Gardens (9 Km./ 6 Mls.), the Ujarrás Valley and also the Cathedral of Nuestra Señora de los Angeles located in the center of the old Costa Rica metropoli: Cartago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Perlas Cartago
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Cartago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing