We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orchids!”

Jardin Botanico Lankester
Book In Advance
More Info
$113.33*
and up
Day Trip to Irazu Volcano, Oros Valley and Lankester Gardens
Ranked #2 of 22 things to do in Cartago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Lankester Botanical Garden is a research center of the University of costa Rica, created in 1973 due to the international efforts of scientists and conservationists. Our mission is the research of orchids and other epiphytes to preserve our plante's biological diversity and to inspire and improve people's quiality of life
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Orchids!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

It was part of the day tour I booked; not something I would have chosen if on my own. However, it did give us a chance to get out and walkabout. To see wonderful vegetation and learn that Costa Rica's national flower is the Orchid (actually a purple one). Lankester is a science conservation site and houses boards of the teeniest little orchid samples you can find! They hang a magnifying glass by each board so you can zero in on the sample flowers. In the Japanese garden area I walked about the largest bamboo I could imagine. Keep in mind I come from Seattle where there is a large Asian population, culture, and gardens. The bamboo was not only TALL but the diameter of each stalk had to be a good 10 inches. On the leisurely grounds I noticed families and couples using the grass areas for picnic lunches. It was a very usefriendly venue.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    98
    32
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bring your camera!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a Zen like experience where peace and harmony come together amongst spectacular orchids, flowers and plants.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kbincostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“One of the gardens to see before you die just for the orchids but so much more.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Natural and lush in spots and beautifully stylized on others. The Japanese garden was lovely. The tree fern and aroid collections were fantastic and the orchids are the best in Costa Rica - especially the amazing miniatures! We saw many amazing birds thanks to our guide, Leo Garrigues. Nearby are fantastic Spanish ruins worth a visit. It's only an hour from San Jose.

Helpful?
Thank travellinglandscaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“beautiful, tranquil, definitely world class”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have been to MANY botanical gardens - this was one of the very best I have ever been to! Has many many flowers and trees, PLUS a great river, with rapids and small waterfalls! Could have spend many hours just relaxing here - if you want to completely de-stress and unwind, and love nature - GO HERE! Also, the staff was extremely friendly, one man spoke very good English, the prices of books and what-nots was very very reasoinable (much better than the "tourist" shops) and all made by native costaricans! The plants were also very reasonable and there were some more rare ones to buy...and don't miss the hanging bamboo planters! GO - you will not be disappointed!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank aannafred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice gardens and worth the visit.”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I enjoyed the variety of plants and how the gardens are laid out. The university has done well with this project and I recommend for people to go if you are big on horticulture. It would have been better to have a guide to understand everything that we were seeing and point out things that we may have missed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nanasofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jardin Botanico Lankester also viewed

Cartago, Province of Cartago
Cartago, Province of Cartago
 
Cartago, Province of Cartago
 

Been to Jardin Botanico Lankester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing