We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big place, nice atmosphere, left hungry”
Review of Mi Tierra

Mi Tierra
Ranked #3 of 85 Restaurants in Cartago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Big place, nice atmosphere, left hungry”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The place has a nice "outdoorsy" feel. Wide open to the front. Indoor/outdoor seating, picnic bench type seating. The food was good. Not fantastic, but good. Prices were average, but for the price, there could definitely have been more food. Left not really satisfied.
Hot peppers on request, packet ketchup, I think one waiter speaks English (but it's not a touristy area like the coasts).
Rustic design and decor.
A little above average, but not outstanding.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    98
    41
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS COMIDA TIPICA”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was a very busy restaurant which has the room for parties as there was a birthday there the day we visited. The service was pleasant, quick and efficient. We were visiting the area with friends and we all enjoyed our extremely large portions of food (plenty for the doggy bag!). The atmosphere was rustic and pleasant. They cook on a large, indoor grill and all meals are served on a handled cutting board and banana leaf. Very enjoyable!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chaimpupic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mi Tierra has good food”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Staying at las brumas Hotel, we had lunch upon arrival. Food and service good. Large portions of casado served. Tender chicken, ripe plantains, excellent frijoles negro. The coffee was hot and good on a cold and rainy day. We came back for a light dinner ..posole soup which was oustanding ... Hominy and pork seasoned well served with warm fresh handmade corn tortillas. Service was slow in the evening. Recommend this restaurant for a good meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo0547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Tipical food although not what I spectated to be. The service wasn't that good

Helpful?
1 Thank Franz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Don't eat here!”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I visit this restaurant a couple times before the awful experience last weekend. Even though the last visits were ok this time it was a nightmare. First the order was incomplete and thenn the food was raw, by the way it was chicken so you can easily cab get salmonella. I advise the cashier, since the manager was not available, about the situation, that at the end didn't changed a thing, 2 different meals raw again. I decided not eat, although the rest of my family ate their food (meat not chicken). I ask for the bill and again had another bad surprise, they charged for the food I returned and didn't ate, after I told that I will noy pay for it they deducted these 2 plates from the complete bill. In a nut shell, I will never visit this restaurant again and I recommend you to check your food before eaten it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robmoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Tierra also viewed

Cartago, Province of Cartago
 
Cartago, Province of Cartago
Cartago, Province of Cartago
 
Province of Cartago, Costa Rica
Cartago, Province of Cartago
 

Been to Mi Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing