We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOnderful Tour of Coffee Plantation”

Doka Estate Coffee Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.00*
and up
Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Doka Estate The Real Coffee TourPick Up Time: Upon RequestDuration: 1 hour, 40 minutesDifficulty: Easy (recommended for senior citizens and children)What to Bring: suntan lotion, hat, comfortable shoes and umbrella (rainy season)Tour Includes: Entrance fee, Butterfly Garden, Bonsai and Orchid Exhibition, Sugar Mill and Guided coffee tour, coffee tasting and coffee liqueurs, chocolates and treats. Additional Buffet Breakfast and Lunch.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“WOnderful Tour of Coffee Plantation”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The tour of the Doka Estate Coffee Plantation was both picturesque and informative.

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and was pleased to answer questions.

The tour included the harvesting process and how the beans are prepared for export or roasting.

The samples of the many styles of coffee were a nice touch and the lunch was good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    242
    53
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hazel Green
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not a coffee lover, but really enjoyed the tour!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Wow, what a surprise! I was not going to take this tour as I am not a coffee drinker and didn't think I would be interested. However, I am glad I went as it was so interesting. There are beautiful gardens to enjoy. The tour guide showed us how the beans are harvested and dried. The methods are very primitive. This is one of the best employment opportunities for Costa Ricans besides the tour industry. Coffee bean harvesting is hard work, thus, the reason really good coffee is so expensive. There is a tasting area and nice store at the end of the tour. Educational and very interesting tour - glad I went! In addition, the gardens were fabulous! Also, I saw my first banana tree. P.S. my coffee lover friends said they never have had such good coffee!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank biker5152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Must go for those who love coffee”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

If you are into coffee, don't miss this half day tour. It shows you how coffee is planted and made. It is something like visiting a vineyard with nice scenery. Of course, at the end of the tour, you can try their coffee and buy the beans.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ermainator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAFETresGeneraciones, Manager at Doka Estate Coffee Tour, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Ermainator,

It was an honor to have had you and your group at Doka Estate Coffee Tour, sharing your wonderful experience at our Plantation and facilities would help us to improve and work harder in order to keep our standard of quality and service as you deserve. Please visit our online store.
Regards,
Mario Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Learn a lot about coffee”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was a very interesting tour to learn about the production of Costa Rican coffee, the entrance is a bit expensive but we learned a lot and the guide was nice and funny.
We enjoyed testing different kind if coffee.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbanetCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAFETresGeneraciones, Manager at Doka Estate Coffee Tour, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Visitor:
Thank you very much for your recent visit to Doka Estate, the best part of cultivating and processing the best coffee of Costa Rica is to share our knowledge with our friends and visitors.
Please review our specials of Coffee at our online store,
Regards,

Mario Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Who knew how much goes into a cup of coffee”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Having been on a couple of coffee tours, this is one of the better ones. A complete tour that covers the full production of growing, producing and selling coffee beans.
Very educational. This is an actual coffee plantation where you can actually see every step of production.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAFETresGeneraciones, Manager at Doka Estate Coffee Tour, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Charles,

Thank for including Doka Estate Coffee Tour during your recent visit to Costa Rica and helping us to preserve our Coffee Cultivation Culture, hundreds of people depend on this industry and Doka Estate by supporting this communities and providing new jobs every day with the tourism Industry, so visits like yours are not just important to us but to the entire industry.
Please be part of our Coffee Lovers Club by visiting our online store,
Regards,

Mario Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doka Estate Coffee Tour also viewed

Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
 
Heredia, Province of Heredia
Braulio Carrillo National Park, Province of Limon
 

Been to Doka Estate Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing