We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unlucky timing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Poas Volcano

Poas Volcano
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.00*
and up
Half-Day Tour to Poas Volcano from San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unlucky timing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not much I can really say about the Volcan Poas. Visited the volcano on two saparate trips and both days it was rainy and overcast so we never really saw it except for a few minutes when a gust of wind blew the low lying clouds away for a brief moment, allowing us a quick photo op. I am sure it is beautiful on a clear day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,641
    909
    348
    96
    33
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great, but not if its foggy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We went to visit in the morning (we were on a half day tour). The hike was great, but it was pretty foggy still so we were only able to get a few half glimpses of the volcano. The hike to the lagoon was uphill and chilly. Be sure to bring a jacket and warm clothes. The lagoon was also fogged up so there wasn't anything to see.

It would be amazing to see the volcano and lagoon clearly, but no one can really predict the weather. Since we were only there for a half day tour, we didn't have the time to wait out the fog.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ying S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,TX
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Active volcano when are you going to get to see this again?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

lush gardens lots of local wildlife. Great place to take a long walk and just enjoy nature. Not much in the way of food but lots of nice local resturaunts near to the property.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RTSDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty cool excursion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cruise on up to the volcano about an hour outside the city. Taxi ride was $100 round trip but you can get there a lot cheaper. Theres actually a couple volcanoes up there. Not a must see but cool if you've never seen a volcano.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank rob f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Drive up the volcano was beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The closer we went up to the park the cloudier and more rainy it became. We never did get to see the crater but the walk around the park was invigorating. Before you go, take a warm water proof jacket, umbrella and wear sneakers. There are MANY steps that are steep, unregulated as to height and if you have bad knees or hips, this isn't a trip for you. There is a $10.00 entrance fee to the park.
After our walk around the rain forest( which in itself is worth while) we stopped in the visitors center for a hot cup of coffee and a pastry. The coffee was excellent as was the deep dark chocolate cake.
The coffee farms going up the mountain are beautiful and scenic. We will be back!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poas Volcano also viewed

Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Poas Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing