We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveler rating
190
48
11
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
48
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit poas volcano san jose costa rica beautiful location lovely hotel great things gravel road typical breakfast the main house hidden gem amazing views monkeys property mountains container barn
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 256 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2017

Our room was nicely furnished, big and bright due to lots of windows. Everything was clean and we felt very comfortable staying here. The only downside was that we had pretty bad weather and is was a little chilly at night.

You have a beautiful look over the city and landscapes from this location. A big plus is the distance to Poas Volcano.

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and was excellent (incl. fruits and a typical breakfast in CR). Would definitely stay at Altura hotel again!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank raymondb428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017

Cannot say enough good things about Altura. Carved into the side of a mountain, and the design takes full advantage of the geography. Lush gardens, unique spaces, tasty breakfasts, friendly animals, accommodating hosts. Near Poas volcano and La Paz Waterfall Gardens. We booked one night when we first arrived in CR then tried to book another for the way out but nothing available. Definitely book here if you can!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jamesgp2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile

We arrived in the dark and were happily surprised in the morning by the beautiful setting! Our rooms included a third floor patio with a gorgeous view. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was great. Get to the volcano early - before the clouds!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017

The winding roads (but better quality than much of CR because of repairs forced by a 2009 eruption) were well worth what awaited us at the top - which included a donkey in an establishment which combines a farm and a hotel. The unusual blend of rustic and modern worked well. We had to pay extra to have two camp beds put into our standard room for the kids and it's probably best to get the suite if you are travelling in numbers. But the beds and facilities were good and the traditional breakfast set us up well on each of our two mornings. The grounds on the mountainside were stunning, with great views of San Jose and the volcanic peaks surrounding it. And the main reason to come, of course, is Volcan Poas. We took the advice of the guide books and rose early on a weekday morning to maximise our chances of seeing the crater. La Altura was the perfect base.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dnk1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017

Docile dairy cows grazing just outside the very clean minimalistic style room just outside the Poas National Park. Great typical Costa Rican breakfast with other guests in the morning. Stay would have been great if we had more than 20-30 seconds of hot water in the shower, and if we had a larger or more efficient heater for the entire room and bath. The burro stalls adjacent to the reception area were a aromatic surprise but not a problem.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews