We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altura Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed in Altura Hotel only 1 night but we loved it! Confortable, clean and with a nice view. Coffee in the room is great, but the best is desayuno! So simple but yet delicious! The road to access hotel is not the best, so it's easier with a 4x4 vehicle.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mocrgomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Customer,

Altura Hotel thanks you for such a nice description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our costumers the best service and comfort possible.Such remarks encourage us to keep trying our best to make you feel at home with us.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards to the newlyweds
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    42
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
64
119
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Altura our first night in Costa Rica. The room was very spacious and clean, beautifully designed. We were sad it was cloudy the only evening we were there and we couldn't see the lights in the valley below, but fortunately it was clear the next morning and the view was amazing. The traditional breakfast was very good and filling. The owner was helpful in answering all of our questions and his recommendations were great. Definitely visit the Poas volcano while in the area. Nice easy hike with more amazing views.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iledav, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel thanks you for such a description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our customers the best service possible, remarks as yours encourage us to keep trying our best to make your trip memorable.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaDarom, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay if you are going to volcan poas and the area or to spend your first or last night in CR (the hotel is 45 minutes from SJO).
The room we stayed in was great, breakfast was tasty and poas is 10 min. drive.
But most of all the service was great and the managers and staff are king and helpfull.
Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shablul_yesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iledav, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks you for such a nice description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our customers with the best service possible.
And its great to have such a good feedback regarding everyones work.
I´ll make to let everyone know that their job we us is really appreciated by our clients.



Thank you again and we´re Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

After a long time driving we came to that very nice place. We asked for a room at an other hotel. They were fully booked but told us go to the Hotel Altura. We would have never drove there, because the street was unpaved. We were surprised about the nice and very stylish room. Also the surroundings (garden, terrasse) was very nice looking. The view is wonderful there. The breakfast was nice and the service very fast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mytipforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iledav, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel thanks you for the description of your experience with us, and feels encouraged by it to keep trying our best, blended this with a great place full of wonderfull natural riches certainly makes a worthy combination, and hopefully becoming a memorable vacation.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful and tranquil property on the last night of our Cost Rican vacation. We decided to upgrade our accommodations and loved the villa. While it does get chilly at night (bring pants and a sweater), the villa had two fireplaces which kept the rooms comfortable. The room was very clean and offered plenty amenities. We also enjoyed a delicious traditional breakfast. The owner of the property was very pleasant and helpful. We will stay here again on our next visit to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and go for the villa. It's totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edtfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks you for your description of your experience with us,
We thrive to offer our customers the best service possible. Although we are certain
that our views give us a hand in that matter.

Non the less it is gratifying to read such a review.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

After spending our first 4 nights in Costa Rica at very budget hotels, Altura Hotel was a great place to find while the sun was beginning to set after a long drive from the Caribbean. My girlfriend and I were looking for something close to the top of Poas so we could get up their early, and found Altura about 4kilometers from the top. While this was definitely a bit more expensive than the $30/night we'd been spending previously, it was worth every penny and still a bargain compared to what you would find in the States. Being greeted by Antonietta (their sheep dog) was a great start to the visit (made us miss our dog both a little bit less and a little bit more at the same time), but it is all about the property and the views. The room was great, spacious and comfortable, and the entire property is beautiful. We had dinner just up the road at Poas Lodge (totally recommended!), and the complimentary brekfast at Altura was delicious. Couldn't really ask for more!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear costumer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks you for your great description of your time with us,
We thrive to offer our customers the best expirience possible. None the less we are aware of our great surroundings which undoubtedly give us a hand in make it possible.

looking foward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Great personaizedl attention! The place was a bit tricky to find, but we drove at night, however once there you definitive want to stay! It has a great view, warm facilities and a marvelous host, besides the lovely English Shepperd and Donkey that you can get to play with if you are an animal lover as I am.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel thanks you for such a nice and heartfelt description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our customers with the best service possible.
And its great to have such a good feedback regarding Antonieta and Julieta, loved by our customers because of their natural charm.
You might want to follow us in Facebook and check out Julietas newborn in a couple of weeks when she is due.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
1.8 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
4.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
6.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altura Hotel

Property: Altura Hotel
Address: Nr. Estacion de Servicio de Poasito, Poas Volcano National Park 20802, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Altura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altura Hotel is a small resort that blends the essence of the rural lifestyle with the comfort that offers a great hotel room, altogether at a mystical place filled with fog, rain, wild animals and an incomparable view of the central plateau and the Nicoyan Gulf on the Pacific coast.The Hotel located 24 km away from the city of Alajuela, and International Airport and 5 min drive from the Poas Volcano ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Altura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing