We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This One”
Review of Altura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Altura Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here for the first night of our 6 day stay in Costa Rica. The setting is extraordinary, and the rooms have high ceilings and windows on 3 of 4 walls so you can enjoy the vistas at every turn. We stayed in just the standard room, and it was perfect for the two of us. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was one of the best meals we ate for our entire trip, and the owner and staff were all so friendly and helpful (especially the nice young man who opened the front gate for us when we decided to take a 6 AM drive around town!). Very convenient to the Poas National Park, La Paz, and some great local restaurants and markets. An unexpected touch - they have put a great deal of effort into maintaining several great outdoor areas where you can just relax and enjoy the view. Our night here was one of the highlights of our stay in the country!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear costumer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks you for your description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our custumers the best service possible.
Therefore it is gratifying to read your review. You can be certain will let our staff and owner know of this encouraging remark.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 242 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in the suite and it was incredible, a real gem of a room. In the morning we took a wonderful walk up to the volcano and returned to the most delicious breakfast at the hotel. This was our last night in Costa Rica and it was one of our best!

Room Tip: the Suite is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear costumer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks you for such a description of your experience with us,
We thrive to offer our costumers the best service possible.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We also started our recent vacation to Costa Rica here. The Altura Hotel was a great introduction to the country and the food. We stayed in the suite which is pictured here. It was all glass and looked out over the valley. An absolutely beautiful room. The service and food was excellent and the hotel is conveniently located close to the Poas Volcano and the La Paz Waterfall Gardens (not to be missed). The owners were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kram53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear costumer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks your description of your experience with us, and feels encouraged by it to keep trying our best to make you feel at home with us, and therefore becoming a memorable vacation.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

It was the perfect spot to start our holidays in Costa Rica. Owners were extremely nice, their advises and support were great.
Small hotel only with 4 rooms, we were the only customers there, big garden with amazing views, really quiet, like being alone in the whole planet, just wonderful.
Quality of the bedroom and the breakfast was above our expectations.
Very well located for Poas Volcano National APrk and La Paz waterfalls.
Thanks to everyone there!!
David

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkoutecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear costumer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks your description of your experience with us, and feels encouraged by it to keep trying our best to make you feel at home with us, and therefore becoming a memorable vacation.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

great location near Poas Volcano, nicely landscaped grounds, romantic surroundings and property in the mountains, highly recommended for couples looking for a rural getaway. Has a nice look out area over the valley to chill out, run by a very friendly family.
Great breakfast, clean large well decorated room, good quality bathroom furnishings, cable TV, worth it for the price. The perfect bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: second floor for more privacy as rooms have huge windows but with blinds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cortecera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear costumer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks you for your great description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our custumers the best service possible.
Therefore it is gratifying to read your review. You can be certain will let our staff know of this encouraging remark.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is a GREAT little hotel in the middle of the mountain just min away from San Jose but once you are there it feels as if you´ve gone to a whole different country! The climate of the area combined with nicely decorated rooms and an incredibly comfortable bed make you want to stay in as if everyday was a rainy Sunday morning! However if you want to go out there´s also plenty to do with the a volcano and waterfall just minutes away! And if you don´t even want to use your car just go have a couple of drinks over at the fire pit or enjoy the magnificent view of the city from the common area! Plus the internet access in all the rooms gives you the opportunity to stay connected if you need to. Overall I would definitively recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a nice, calm, weekend getaway or a longer stay if you really need to recharge your batteries! Can´t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear costumer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks you for your great description of your time with us,
We thrive to offer our customers the best expirience possible. None the less we are aware of our great surroundings which undoubtedly give us a hand in make it achivable.

looking foward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed at the Altura in April 2012 for a night as I was touring the country. Everything was fantastic. The price was reasonable, the room was well designed and furnished and the hosts were very accommodating, and spoke English very very well. The free breakfast in the morning was very nice as well.
Just remember if you stay here that is is considerably cooler at this elevation than if one was at or near the ocean or at a lower altitiude. A sweater or light jacket may be in order especially in the evening. When I got there the in the afternoon the temperature was 14C.
If you are going to Poas and want to stay on the mountain this is the place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryanf1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Dear costumer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks you for your experience description with us,
we thrive to offer our costumers the best service possible.

thank you for providing us with this valuable feedback so we can constantly improve our service.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
1.8 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
5.4 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,296 reviews
6.5 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
872 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
691 reviews
18.1 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altura Hotel

Address: Nr. Estacion de Servicio de Poasito, Poas Volcano National Park 20802, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range: $123 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altura Hotel is a small resort that blends the essence of the rural lifestyle with the comfort that offers a great hotel room, altogether at a mystical place filled with fog, rain, wild animals and an incomparable view of the central plateau and the Nicoyan Gulf on the Pacific coast.The Hotel located 24 km away from the city of Alajuela, and International Airport and 5 min drive from the Poas Volcano ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Altura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing