We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Altura Hotel(Poas Volcano National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peace Lodge(Heredia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Silencio Lodge & Spa(Bajos del Toro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveler rating
402
94
11
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
94
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral valleysan josecosta ricagreat hostsgreat viewpancakesburgerfrom texastwo brothersnew ownersla paz waterfall gardensstayed longerdelicious foodcomfy bedthese guysmain roomlarge windows
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 510 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here for two nights of our honeymoon. The drive up is a bit long and windy, but worth it when you get there! It was so nice to wake up to the beautiful view and the sound of cows munching on grass beneath your window. After breakfast we would head out and explore for a few hours, come back for a siesta, then walk upstairs for a great dinner. After that, all you need are a few more drinks and a comfy seat by the window to watch the city lights. Two minor issues- the first night there, we couldn't sleep due to loud music.. we think it was coming from the hotel down the street. Also, the website prices were not current at the time and we were charged more than expected. Hopefully the issue has been fixed. However, the place has a great romantic vibe and is super close the the volcano park.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angmroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you for taking time to review Poas Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The restuarant up the hill did have a concert your first night, sorry for the noise. As for the the rates, our website recently had to switch hosts. It has been backdated to 2009. As for the booking price, you were charged the rate you booked it for. I am not sure why you expected a price lower than what you originally booked at? We hope to have the website current this week. All booking sites have the correct pricing. It would have been nice if you would have expressed your concerns directly to us and we could have explained the situation. We hope the rest of your honeymoon was wonderful. Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Absolutely wonderful experience at Poas Lodge. The room was very clean and comfy, views are absolutely amazing and the food was delicious!

Jimmy and Stephan make you feel like family and are very knowledgable of the surrounding area.

If you're looking for a full reset...I would suggest that you spend a few days at Poas Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getjackd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you guys for the kind review. We are happy we were able to provide you two with a wonderful time. We also enjoyed the reset. You two are exactly why we have this lodge. Not everyone realizes they are on vacation when they are on vacation. The door is always open to our house and come see us again. Hopefully your winter is not too long and have a wonderful 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This place is fantastic! Waking at 5 am (thank you jetlag :)) to see the sun come up in the valley. Dozing in the dining area, watching the lights of San Jose and humming birds dancing in the air. Thanks Stephen and Jimmie for this wonderful place!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank An M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

An,
thank you for taking time to send a review. Our goal is to have a relaxed and calm environment. from the sounds of it, we are succeeding. Hope the remainder of your trip went as well and keep in touch. Pura Vida!

stephan and jimmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed one night here....location is perfect to be able to get to the Volcano early in the morning...and get the best views. Food, lodging and staff were great. Stephan and Jimmy also helped us track down our missing bags that United Airlines chose to hang on to for a couple extra days.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Alan,
we are happy everyone had a good time while you were here. We hope the rest of your trip went well. You family was enjoyable. We hope you got to see and photo more birds than you imagined. Enjoy the rest of winter and please tell everyone we said hello.

stephan and jimmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We arrived, me and my husband, to Costa Rica in Dec 2013 for the 1st time.
We really enjoyed our overnight in Poás Lodge located on the strategic place nearby the NP Poás Volcano. Upon arrival to this hotel we were welcomed by the owners themselves, Stephan and Jimmie. These nice guys made our stay comfortable from the beginning to the end.
Our luggages left at the reception already in the morning before to visit Poás Volcano and La Paz Gardens were already taken by staff to the room . Our room was clean and big enough, with amazing views from the huge window.
We liked bed and appreciated perfekt blanket !
We were not able to eat the whole typical Costarian breakfast, even was good, but too big for us.
In the cozy restaurant we also admired the overlooking from the windows. The sitting by the fireplace, eating some specialities prepared by Stephan and then just relaxing with a glass of some good drink, we enjoyed this unforgetable atmosphere.
Even that our stay in this hotel was so short (only 1 night) we thank you to have a posibility to meet so nice people there and we hope to welcome them once in Prague, Czech Republic.

Iveta a Mila from Prague, Czech Republic

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miloslav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barracudasa, Manager at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

It was great meeting you two and we enjoyed the evening around the fire. It is nice to learn from fellow hospitality industry people. We will be over the pond later this year, hopefully we can have a night of fun in your area. Thanks again for the kind words and have a Happy New Year.

stephan and Jimmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews