We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poas lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2012

What a fantastic enviroment. Felt like we were in a cozy home which I really enjoyed as we were away from our children.. Mark and Oliver were wonderful hosts. We were on our trip with 4 great friends and enjoyed the company in the evening. We enjoyed visiting in a relaxed atmosphereby the fireplace and the meals are fantastic. I would have to say I enjoyed the meals the best there out of our 11 day trip.We enjoyed visiting with Mark and Oliver to find out their community and their stories of how they came to open such a pleasant enviroment. I agree with Judy Z review from Reddeer as we travelled together and she has worded it all so well. So please read her review. I felt they should have higher rates paid for such great service. Where do you go and get a room for that rate plus a healthy breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 485 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

Poas Lodge is the place to stay when visiting Volcan Poas or La Paz. Waterfall Park. Mark and Oliver were fantastic hosts and Mark, what can I say? His meals are monsters and absolutely delicious. The whole atmosphere is brilliant, the views across the Central Valley were magnificent, both day and night. You will not find better hosts or better value in Costa Rica.

The only down side, we had to leave this morning!!

Steve & Val

UK

Room Tip: They are all good and the view are unbelievable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Throstle-Bower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We just returned from 11 days in Costa Rica. After exploring the Arenal area we headed down to coffee country in order to do a tour at Doka Coffee plantation (fantastic tour - learned lots!) and had booked accommodations at Poas Lodge and Restaurant which is a short drive out of Alajuela. We passed by the Lodge completely the first time, as the frontage of the building is very unassuming (we were a little worried at first). From the road it doesn't look like anything more than a restaurant but DO NOT BE FOOLED! This is one amazing place! First of all, we were warmly greeted by Mark and Oliver, who run this fantastic gem. They were such gracious and welcoming hosts that all 6 of us felt right at home. Secondly, the view! OMG - the whole back area of the dining room is full windows and showcases a panoramic view over Alajuela and San Jose - absolutely breathtaking. The clouds roll in low due to the altitude of the lodge - it is quite a thing to witness - we watched the sunsets and the night lights on this landscape and it was mesmerizing. The main floor is a very intimate, cozy setting - seating area on couches in front of a fireplace, and the dining area is adjacent to this. Even "girl" their beautiful dog joined us for our evenings of relaxation for drinks by the fire. The rooms were very modern and tastefully decorated. The food they served was superb - breakfast was included, so between that and the very inexpensive rates at this gem, we all gave it a five star rating.
At the end of our 11 day trip, when we were having our last meal in Liberia, the 6 of us were talking about the highlights of the trip - one of the questions was favorite place we stayed and it was unanimous - this was the one (and we stayed at some pretty amazing places when we were there). I think it was the combination of amazing hospitality, the cozy environment (they have a total of 5 rooms so we had the place to ourselves), the great food and that view! Thanks Mark and Oliver for giving us such a fantastic memory!
Judy

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Poas Lodge after reading the reviews here, and we were so glad we did!

Our room was on the lower level, and quite comfortable but since it was the only one available, I would presume the upper level rooms are a tad bit fancier. We appreciated the comfy bed, fresh cut flowers and wifi in the room. The ambience in the restaurant area is so cozy and, since the weather was temperamental during our stay, we enjoyed time playing cards in front of the fireplace after dinner. Meals there were really good (try the sea bass), and we did not feel we had to wait long at all.

The views of the valley are incredible when it's clear, and even when it's not, you get an awesome view of the clouds rolling by. The hummingbirds are fun to watch too. We thoroughly enjoyed chatting with Oliver and Mark. They were very helpful in answering our questions about area activities. And Girl is such a sweetie--she kept us from missing our own dog too terribly. :o)

We were not fortunate enough to see the Poas crater due to the weather (and yes, we went right at 8 a.m.) but this lodge made up for that. I highly recommend Poas Lodge for the location as well as the wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper level, although views are great from anywhere on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rottmom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed one night and couldnt have found the lodge more hospitable. Very friendly owners/staff. Loved our short stay, and would recommned this to anyoone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginosrsto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Mark and Oliver were the perfect hosts for our 2 day stay. The kids loved hanging out with Girlie and playing games in the restaurant -- very homey feeling. At night it is so quiet and no cars coming down the street, makes for a great nights sleep. The food is delicious. Too bad the fireplace was broken while we were there because that would have been nice. Great advice from Mark and Oliver regarding places to see. You can't beat the location for getting into the park by 8am. When we were leaving the park after hiking all morning, there was a line of cars waiting to get in. We were able to view the crater before it became crowded. Beautiful morning!
The view is the best! Watching the sun set each night. One afternoon I just sat and looked out at the view, beautiful!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barracudasa, Manager at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Poas Lodge, all the reviews we have make a huge difference to our business, so thank you for being a part of our success.

We have had the chimney repaired! Thankfully it is working again and we have a fire going every night again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I asked specifically for the room shown in photos (upstairs, king bed, two upholstered chairs in sitting area next to window) , and was not disappointed. Very comfortable, nice little touches like fresh flowers, coffeemaker. The view at all times of day is incredible; clouds forming at eye level, sweeping vistas of the hills and plains, and at night the lights of San Jose. Breakfast was fine, service is laid back and casual. Be prepared for chill air at night (fireplace was out of order, but blankets are available to drape around your shoulders at dinner).
The location for Poas volcano is excellent; if you arrived after the daily clouds obscure the caldera, you can be in the park in the morning (for the best viewing) in a few minutes.
p.s. the tortilla "pizza" is terrific.

Room Tip: Upstairs room seems to be the best choice; had no bug or noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
5.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,304 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
6.4 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
880 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
367 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Campana
Hotel Monte Campana
#1 of 1 in Birri
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poas Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 4kms before the entrance to Poas Volcano National Park, Poas Volcano National Park 20801, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range: $63 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poas Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the summit of Poas Volcano, Poas Lodge is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the most spectacular views of Costa Rica's Central Valley! The lodge is the closest accommodation to the popular Poas Volcano National Park (a short 5 minute, 4km drive up the mountain), convenient to Doka Coffee Estates, 10 miles from the spectacular La Paz Waterfall Gardens and just 45 minutes to Juan Santamaría International Airport. More like a B&B than a typical hotel, Poas Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates and includes free wi-fi, cable TV and complimentary coffee machines in each room. The restaurant is open to guests with a fresh and delicious nightly menu and breakfast is always complimentary. Words and photographs cannot describe the experience of staying at Poas Lodge. Come see for yourself! Children 8 years and older welcome. Check-in from 3pm to 8 pm local Costa Rican time; Check-in after 8pm requires advance notice but can be accommodated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Poas Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poas Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Poas Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing