We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Canopy Tour Experience!”

Arenal Mundo Aventura
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Birdwatching at Mundo Aventura Natural Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Salem, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Canopy Tour Experience!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I can't say enough good things about our 7 cable canopy tour experience. Even though the staff had already given their last tour of the stay, they all stayed late to accommodate our group of 10. The guides were wonderful to work with and were so fun and great with all our family members. Ulises was our lead guide and I can't express how thankful we all were for him and the experience he and his fellow staff members provided for us. We were able to get a discounted price from a travel kiosk in La Fortuna, so it was $37/each for the 7 zipline cables. Well worth every penny. The views of the waterfalls, the Arenal Volcano, and the forest were absolutely breathtaking. If you are going to go ziplining in Costa Rica, this is the place you should go.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    804
    177
    41
    11
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lost a lot of time of waiting”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We took combination of waterfalls and zip line tour. It’s not worse it. Better pay $10 waterfalls entrance and go yourself. It’s around 500 steps, than when you go with tour, they didn't allowed you to go on another side where the most people are because stones are very slippery and you have only around a half an hour to swim. After waterfalls we go with all our staff to zip line. We wait for an hour when zip line tour guide come to pick us up (we better spent these time in waterfalls than just waiting). After that the tour was good, visit local village, but we come back at 5:30, like 2 hrs. later and we start at 10 a.m., without any food the whole day. Good that we didn't book hot springs at the evening of this day, another way we would be later. Food in restaurant there was good (chicken)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Marina453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such a blast!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We did the canopy tour (zip-lining) first thing in the morning. They picked us up from our hotel at precisely the time we were expecting them, and returned us as well. They were very helpful, friendly and fun to talk to. The course was exhilarating. One of the most fun things I have done in recent memory. I always felt safe. The views were spectacular.

If you are comfortable with this sort of activity, you simply have to go to this place during your stay near Arenal. It was awesome!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Costa Rica trip!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Amazing staff, views and experience! There are so many zip line tours in Costa Rica that it is hard to choose one. I've been there before and this one blew away my previous experience! The staff were really fantastic. Obviously safety first, but they did a great job reading the group and making it a truly fun experience. There is some hiking involved so keep that in mind if that is an issue. Do not bring anything with you that will not take on the zip line. There are no lockers. They kept our bags behind the front desk, but I'd recommend just not bringing anything you don't need. Wear pants or shorts with pockets that zip or snap to make it easier to go across with your camera. We went after it had rained so it was a little messy. I ended up throwing away the shirt I wore because it was covered with mud. Totally worth it, but recommend you not wear a white t-shirt!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank tmv23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Real Thrill Ride”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our tour was arranged through Go Tours (Flavio) and we did 12 zip lines. The first 4 they called practice runs. Two were next to huge waterfalls with the 7th line being the longest at about 1Km (there is one longer at Monteverde at 1.2Km).

Some lines are very fast and others might be a struggle to reach the end if your a lightweight and blow in the wind easily. The trick is to lean back and not grip the rear breaking hand too tight until it's time. They will tell you if/when to brake for each line. If necessary, they will go tandem with you to add more weight or if you're nervous about heights.

It's quite a ride on a tractor/trailer up a dirt road from the entrance. A lot of dust to eat. Then a fair hike to get to the first line. There is one suspension bridge but not a lot of additional hiking involved.

Safety is first for these tour guides as they constantly communicate with each other to make sure everything is synchronized at each end. We were lucky to have a nice dry day for the tour and little wind.

You can get some great videos if you bring a GoPro. I believe they may rent them as well. They do have a couple of helmets with the mount already attached, but I recommend using the one with the front mount, not on top, or you get a partial helmet in the picture. They tell you that you're not allowed to take anything but a GoPro, however it is your responsibility to carry anything else like a smaller camera in the pocket. I found this to be quite easy if you have the appropriate cargo shorts. The straps they put on you, however, prevent easy access to pockets and you will not be able to carry a camera during your own runs. Oh, and those straps can be quite binding, but let's not go there. They do have their own photographer which can go along and they will mark your helmets so they know who to take pictures of. However, I suggest asking up front for the pricing.

Afterwards, if not horse-back riding, they will take you to hear about one of the local tribes in that area and you can purchase their wood carvings. There is also a butterfly garden at the entrance which is worth seeing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HT_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arenal Mundo Aventura also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Arenal Mundo Aventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing