We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tours and Excellent Typical Food Nearby”

Arenal Mundo Aventura
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Birdwatching at Mundo Aventura Natural Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
New HaMPSHIRE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Tours and Excellent Typical Food Nearby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We used this group for zip lining, canyoneering and horseback riding. The horses were great and we were able to select a more spirited horse, as we are experienced riders (novice horses also available). The zip lines were truly amazing with lots of good help for someone who is 55 years old! Pura Vida!!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadioka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    745
    171
    41
    11
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, TN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best adventure experience in Arenal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

My wife and I along with my sister and her husband did the private "combo tour" which included:

* Zip line tour - The cables were high and long. Very exciting, gorgeous, not too built up, safe, and really fun. Guides were fantastic.

* Waterfall rappel - 80M rappel next to the Cano Blanco waterfall. Wow. This was the highlight of the tour. Heart pumping fun in the most gorgeous setting you could imagine. After rappelling down, you climb back up via a rope ladder. That was even cooler than the rappel. Very unique and something you'll never forget

* Hike to La Fortuna waterfall - This short hike was fun and included a trip accross a suspension bridge. The waterfall itself is also gorgeous. Bring a swim suit so you can swim in the chilly water underneath and a camera to capture the beauty of the setting

* Visit to tribal village - This was fun, but pretty simple and felt staged. There are local indigenous people that dress up and do a cultural exhibit for you. It includes learning a bit of their language and beliefs and then you have the chance to buy some of their wares.

* Horseback ride - This was at the end of the tour and lasted about 15-30 minutes. Pretty fun. I felt bad for the horses, though as they didn't seem all that well cared for.

* Butterfly / frog building - They have a building with some butterflies and frogs that you get to walk through. This part wasn't so great. Not many there, but it was still neat.

The package also included a lunch. This was also very good and included a sandwich, rice, and juice. The transportation from our hotel was also included and was on time and clean.

The guides were fantastic, service was great, and the price was excellent. I think we paid $125 per person for the whole package and it was completely private ($20 less per person if you go with the regular group). We went private since we had a time schedule we had to keep. Book through Pura Vida! Eh? travel agency for a discount off the prices on their website.

We've done the Sky Trek zip line tour in Arenal as well, but this was much better because if felt much more connected to the rainforest, was lower key, WAY less crowded, and still very exciting with long fast cables.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank thenerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great zip line, great tour guides!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

There were eleven zip lines....the last 4 were experienced in the pouring rain, and we still had fun! You go a lot faster, though, when the lines are wet, and we all had camouflage on our faces from the water that dropped on us as we zipped from place to place. It is a 15 (20 for me) minute hike, mostly up, to the place where you begin the actual ziplines. I felt amazingly safe and the workers were conscientious and helpful. It was a great experience!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank cjjmd319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Horseback, waterfalls and a lovely hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Well, it was my second time on a horse and I am in love. Puchito was spirited but obedient and the ride was exhilerating. We dismounted at the top of the road and then had to hike down to the falls. It was absolutely stunning. Well worth the trip. You actually see two separate falls and while it's possible to swim, the current is very strong.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Preeti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
476 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Great Zips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Go for the 11 zipline tour..the waterfall views were something we would Not have wanted to miss! Great staff and lots of fun! They also have a small butterfly and frog gardens that are included in your price..nice extras!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank joboxer555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arenal Mundo Aventura also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Arenal Mundo Aventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing