We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Was So Cool”
Review of Pure Trek - Tours

Pure Trek - Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.00*
and up
Pure Trek Waterfall Rappelling Tour from La Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Since 2001, Pure Trek Canyoning has been leading this new multi-sport adventure tour Canyoning by rappelling down waterfalls and hiking on beautiful trails in this spectacular rain forest slot canyon located right under the active Arenal Volcano in the town of La Fortuna. At Pure Trek we believe in focusing on one thing and doing it the best...Canyoning... that will rock your socks off!!! Family friendly...and adventurists too.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It Was So Cool”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We ziplined with Sky Trek and Repeled with Pure Trek. Pure Trek Rapeling was by far the better adventure. Al the guys were great. Felt very safe and alot of fun. We would do this again in a second. First repel was about 170 ft and into a waterfall. What a blast! We even got to see a sloth.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    800
    90
    18
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fun experience”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great fun for people with average fitness. Terrain during hikes would be difficult for persons not able to walk steep, loose footing paths. First rappel is the highest! By the end we wanted more.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce_Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winter park
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“What a wonderful experience and tour company!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending 3 days in la fortuna after a week at playa flamingo. What a difference! From the weather to the vegetation to the total experience.( although both were GREAT)
We zipped line on the pacific side and wished we would have waited until we got into the rain forest. We took a river trip and saw monkies and alligators but the lushness of the mountains and rain forest doesn't compare to the dryness and heat of the pacific side.
We booked our accommodations and excursions through Pure Trek and they could not have been more helpful! Everything exceeded our expectations. I was with 3 Luther gals, and their attentiveness to security and safety made us all feel very secure. From the waterfalls to the mineral springs, we could not have had better guideance. We arrived not knowing where to go or what to do. After a long week at Flamingo Beach Resort Hotel, the Arenal Volcanic area was a great refreshing change. Although when we arrived, it rained, we were grateful as our skin had been badly dried out from a week in the sun. The moisture and huminity was a welcome change. We called the Pure Trek office and they gave us precise directions to their office. After meeting up and getting organized for the morning excursion, we went directly to our hotel ( which was conveniently located walking distance to their compound; although we did have a car). They directed us to the most fabulous restaurants. (Lava Lounge for dinner and Gecko Gourmet for brunch). The rappelling was great but actually doesn't compare to the overall experience of the staff, accompaning tours and welcoming community. My friend asked us how did it compare to other tours and tour companies we had used in the past and I said, " on a 1 to 10, I gave it a 10".
Will surely be back and will also recommend it to anyone who visits the area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank wpchateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Awesome!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

PureTrek canyoning was my favorite activity in our Costa Rica trip (and believe me, we did it ALL!) I had thought I might be anxious about the heights, but it was so much fun. The guides were well-trained, and this was an incredibly safe attraction! There were a few people in the group who were anxious, and I saw the guides talk them through the first rappel. That's all it took- after the first one, everyone loved it! You definitely need to be in decent shape for this attraction. It had rained for a couple of days before we went, and all the trails were wet. With all the branches and rocks, it was slippery, but not so much that anyone in good health couldn't navigate it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pq428cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What fun!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went rappelling with Pure Trek and had a terrific time!! The scenery was beautiful. We felt completely safe using their gear and with their guides, who were professional, friendly, cute and funny. I'm scared of heights, but that was no problem at all! I got wet in every waterfall we went down, but that was part of the fun. We happened to be at the front of the line on each rappel, and that was great too! The lunch was typical Costa Rican fare, and we enjoyed it. The hikes between rappels were enjoyable, too, and the guides seemed knowledgeable about our surroundings. All in all, a great experience that we highly recommend!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sfb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pure Trek - Tours also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Pure Trek - Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing