We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$120
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$241
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$184
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$299
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,546)
Filter reviews
3,546 results
Traveler rating
3,221
264
45
13
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,221
264
45
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine baroutdoor showerour honeymooncasita deluxesushi restaurantcosta ricaarenal volcanoamor locoaltamira restaurantgranola barsprivate deckmain restaurantgolf cartwine pairing dinnerswim up barzip liningguacamole
Filter
Updating list...
2,943 - 2,948 of 3,546 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2010

If the only thing you want to do is hang out at a beautiful hotel with beautiful grounds offering spa services, then this is for you. It was great for a short stay but anything longer than a couple of days and it starts to feel insular. Maybe we went at an off-time (Feb), but the hotel was very quiet and felt empty. We booked tours and such through the hotel and had no problems, it was generally a very pleasant stay, but perhaps it would have been nicer to be closer to La Fortuna or least to have more convenient transportation to get there.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElevenBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

No picture, video or description could possibly portray just how amazing this property/resort is. It is breathtaking. The view and the grounds are lush and gorgeous. The casita's are so beautiful, private, comfortable, with everything you could ever want or need. The outside jacuzzi and shower...oh, my gosh. We never took one shower inside (which was also nice). The pool was great and the swim up bar's drinks were really, really good. It really just doesn't get much better. I have been blessed to have stayed in some nice places, but this truly is one of the best. The entire Nayara staff were so nice and called my 4 year old daughter by her name every time they saw her. We ate our breakfast looking at and feeding parrots, macaws and bunnies every morning...our little girl was in heaven. We thought the food was outstanding. Everything we ordered, we loved. I read that the food was average on this site from a few reviews, it was not average. Breakfast was amazing, the salads and ceviche were delicious. We couldn't have had a better time, and highly recommend this hotel. Seeing hummingbirds and toucans fly around watching the volcano while taking an outside bubble bath was surreal. We will never forget our time at the Nayara. Thank you everyone who made our stay so wonderful!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We especially loved the resort's wine bar and spa! Beautiful grounds, rooms are elegant with great views of the volcano, service is outstanding, and the food is some of the best we had in Costa Rica! I had a hot stone massage and a hydrating facial by a former Tabacon masseuse---she knew what she was doing!! It was heaven! And even better was the price! I will recommend this to anyone who is looking for a small, elegant, boutique hotel in the La Fortuna area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtnluvr18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This place is great. After driving four hours from Liberia, we arrived to a beautiful setting and hospitable staff. The hotel setting is very lush and the individual casitas are very private and luxurious. Number 30 was at the top of the hill and very private and had a great view of the volcano. Though, there are a few more rooms under construction next door, the work nor workers were an inconvenience. The breakfast buffet (included) was awesome and lunch and dinner were also good--be sure to reserve a table for dinner with a view of the volcano. Although this seemed a popular destination for couples, the staff was very accommodating to my 9-yr-old son, allowing him to play with the resident macaws, parrots and rabbits; and they also quickly set up a full twin size bed for him upon our arrival. The pool and swim up bar are also very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chugginsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Arenal Nayara for three nights in August during our honeymoon trip to Costa Rica. We were upgraded to a Nayara Suite for our stay so we were really excited to arrive! The room was nice except that mosquitos could get in through the shower area and the air conditioner shut off completely when you left the room so that when you return, the room is hot. The view from the room and the deck jacuzzi were great! The restaurant was absolutely horrible. Overpriced meals with frozen vegetables and the waitstaff were slow, rude, and always got the order wrong. We ate at the restaurant the first night and the next two days went into town to eat elsewhere. I had a massage and facial at the Arenal Nayara spa - I would recommend saving your money as the services are not really worth it. We went to Tabacon hot springs for the day, which I would 100% recommend. The food at Tabacon was wonderful and so were the hot springs. After we returned home, we realized that the hotel overcharged us for transportation to the airport by almost $50 and still have not corrected this mischarge. I would NOT recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank hab53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaragovia, Owner at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2010

We are very saddened that this guest followed through on his threat to write a malicious review that would purposely tarnish every aspect of our hotel if we did not give in to his demands, which we felt were not justified. Unfortunately, many of the things that he writes about are simply untrue. We believe that this guest was trying to be destructive rather than following the philosophy of Trip Advisor which is to provide objective reviews to other members.
As a way of background, this guest was charged $155 by the transportation company for a transfer from the Four Seasons Resort in Peninsula Papagayo to Nayara. He felt that he should have been charged only $115, which is the promotional fare between the Liberia Airport and Nayara (which is a significantly shorter distance). We contacted the transportation company and they responded that the charges were fair given that the going rate from the Four Seasons to Arenal is currently $200. He also complained that he was charged an additional $10 to take him at 2 AM back from Nayara to the Liberia Airport. When we explained the above situation to the guest, he threatened to purposely write a disparaging review that would tarnish the hotel’s reputation unless we reimbursed him the difference.
We have never had a negative review regarding our air conditioning units, which are brand new and state-of-the-art. It is true that we have an energy management system that turns the air-conditioning unit off when everybody has left the room, but we do that because we pride ourselves on practicing sustainable tourism. Furthermore, if a guest does not wish for the air-conditioning to shut off, all he has to do is leave one of the key cards inserted in the slot. We are an environmentally conscious hotel which strives to minimize damage to the surrounding delicate rainforest ecosystem. We try to cover all aspects including reforestation, water conserving low-flow plumbing, and energy-efficient lighting.
Regarding his second complaint about having mosquitoes in the room, this is a situation that we have never encountered since we opened our doors more than two years ago.
We were further taken aback by his comment about our spa, which is an area where we always and consistently receive only rave reviews. As for our cuisine, which he also complains about, we were equally surprised since a few months ago we were fortunate to recruit a highly recognized executive chef and have been receiving excellent reviews since.
We are a small high-end boutique hotel with 40 bungalow-type rooms, providing quality, well-paid jobs to over 70 local people who derive their livelihood from the hotel. This is a ratio of almost 2 employees per room. We assign to our maids fewer rooms than what is typical in comparable luxury hotels so we can ensure absolute cleanliness, guess care and service. Our top priority is, and always has been, the complete satisfaction of our guests.

Angelo Zaragovia
President of the Board

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews