We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most beautiful views of the Arenal Volcano, a real GEM and Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
North Kelsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Most beautiful views of the Arenal Volcano, a real GEM and Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

We travelled as a group of 3 (my partner, teenage stepdaughter and myself) and stayed at Nayara for 3 nights in April 2010. Eventhough we did not get off to a good start, when we arrived, and had to wait for 3 hours to be checked into our room, we were amazed when we eventually took over our accomodation. The bungalows are just wonderful, very modern and prettily decorated. A very spaceous wooden bungalow with a big patio area overlooking the gardens and Arenal Volcano. The room/bungalow offers aircon, ceiling fan, coffee & tea making facility, minibar, inside and outside shower, very comfortable big beds, jacuzzi outside on the balcony, big cupboards, flatscreen TV, I pod docking station …..just everything you would want. Sitting outside on the patio we have seen Toucans, Hummingbirds and a lot of other pretty bird species (early morning) but the biggest surprise was that my stepdaughter and I were able to witness the volcano spitting out two massive lava boulders which we watched rolling down the volcano finished off by a big rumbling noise (later in the evening when dark)! Very exiting indeed because usually you don’t see this from this side of the volcano very often and only when it is dark are you able to see the glowing boulders. When you sit out on the patio when it is dark you can see a beautiful display of the lantern bugs every evening.

The Hotels Buffet Breakfast is very good, lots of choices and a fresh cook corner where you can order your fresh cooked omelette/egg etc. You certainly wont go hungry here. There is something for everybody whatever corner of the world you come from. Dinner in the hotel was good as well; the Hotel offers a nice range of wines and a special wine bar. Prices seem very reasonable and the service was good.
There is a little dipping poo, where you can refresh, with a bar attached to it. The gardens are beautiful and the hotel has some rabbits & parrots as pets for the children to look at. There is also a lot of other birdlife around in the very well maintained gardens of the hotel.
The Hotel is located between the town of Fortuna and and the Arenal Volcano National park. There are 3 different Hot Springs in Town and several Restaurants and shops but you need a taxi to get there, the town is not really in walking distance.

Our Activities in the Fortuna Area included:
We booked the **Arenal Volcano Tour but were not aware that this is only a climb up to a ridge nearby the volcano where you do not see the lava boulders or any other volcano activity (trip was at daytime, lava, if at all, is only visible at night time we were told). It’s a beautiful area though and from the ridge you have good views of the Arenal Lake and surrounding area. The Trip included a visit to the Titoku Hot Springs which was very refreshing/relaxing and dinner at a nearby Restaurant which was very tasty.
We booked the ****Cano Negro Wildlife Refuge Boat Tour. From Fortuna it is quiet a drive up to the Cano Negro near to the Nicaraguan Boarder, we stopped at the Iguana Restaurant/Cafe to see the little refuge the restaurant owner provides for these animals, hundrets of Iguanas in a tree. We usually book private tours but in this case we joined a normal tour group which was a little bit of a let down due to the children and overcrowded small boat. We have seen a lot of wildlife along the river, Howler Monkeys, Lizards, many bird species, Bats, Kaimans and a Sloth. Drinks were provided throughout the boat trip and the tour included dinner and refreshments at a local place which was very good.

I would recommend the Arenal Nayara Hotel to everybody, a comfortable and luxurious place to stay with breathtaking views of the volcano.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManuGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,881
    238
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
478
2,299
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (911)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

I loved this place. The staff is warm, helpful and most gracious. The food was good. They have WiFI access in the lobby as well as a computers for your use. They have free phone service to US. Breakfast is included with your stay. They have a wine bar opened from 2pm through 11pm. You are given a card to use at your leisure. At the end of your stay you settle up at check up. GENIOUS! There is only one pool, it is pretty small but who cares. You have a great view of the volcano. During my stay I had a clear unobstructed view of it. I can not recommend this place enough. We only stayed there for 4 days and 3 nights. I have nothing negative to say about it I hope they remain this way.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobblehillnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

Honestly, we cannot believe how amazing this hotel was. We loved every minute of our 5 nights here and when we went over to Manuel Antonio afterwards, we could only wish to be back at the Nayara! From check in to check out and even afterwards, this hotel exceeded our expectations. The rooms were extremely clean, from bathroom to bed to patio. The view of the Volcano from our room was breathtaking and we were fortunate to catch a clear view while we were there. The staff was so helpful, no matter if we were at the swim up pool bar, the restaurant or the front desk. Even after we checked out, one of the staff helped us with some car troubles we were having. Honestly, we don't know if we've ever encountered nicer people at a hotel. We truly enjoyed our experience at the Arenal Nayara. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laaruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

I loved this place. The rooms are huge (deck with a hot tub overlooking the Volcano, indoor and outdoor shower, king bed, room with sitting area). The place is beautiful, the gardens amazing. Each night has a special menu set and you cant go wrong with any selection. The pool/bar staff was great.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

After our bumpy flight to La Fortuna, we boarded the shuttle to Nayara. No one on our shuttle was staying there and I was starting to get nervous that we didnt pick the best place. This was our first stop in Costa Rica (before our wedding in Manuel Antonio). Once we got to the hotel, I was amazed at how gorgeous this place was. We were greeted at the driveway and ushered in to have a seat and served a cold towl with fresh squeeze juice. The staff could not have been any nicer. They drove us to our room (which was the closest room to the lobby) #1 and when we walked in, we couldnt believe our view let alone how gorgeous our room was. I have stayed in many hotels and this just blew every Ritz out of the water! The floors to the outdoor shower, to the bath on the back patio, this was amazing. We ventured to the pool, swam up to have a drink and some of the chips (yum). We also planned to head out for some local food, but the food was SO GOOD that we ate every meal (besides our tours) at the hotel. The wine bar is amazing, they give you a free drink, along with free phone calls to the states and internet service!
We saw the owner a lot and you can tell he takes much pride in this hotel.
On our tours and even visiting Tabacon we realized this was the BEST hotel in the area!
We LOVED it and will be back for our 10 year wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJmom143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PENNSYLVANIA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

This was our first stop in Costa Rica. It took us about 2.5 hours from the Alajuela airport. The staff was very freindly when we arrived and all during our stay. They had free international phone calls from the lobby using their Magic Jack set-up. Breakfasts were outstanding - included in the room rate. We ate dinner there once too and it was very good. The room was beautiful, spacious, and comfortable with a great view of the volcano. The grounds were lush and well-taken care of. The pool with swim-up bar was very nice. We stayed there 2 nights. It was $260/nt. It was definitely worth it but a bit of a splurge by my standards. If the price doesn't bother you I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APCinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

My husband and I travelled throughout 6 provinces in Costa Rica this past march 2010 to celebrate my 40th birthday. We stayed at nothing but the best on this trip and the Nayara Hotel was absolutely magical. When we walked into the lobby area it was grand, open, flowy and spacious. It was easy to feel swept away right from the start. The staff was efficient and fantastic. There are phones and laptops in the lobby that you can use for FREE, yes you can even call back home to the states or Europe for FREE and talk to your friends and family; that was so awesome! The grounds were luscious and exotic and seemed to have a view of the large Arenal volcano from every angle. The pool was relaxing and lovely with a swim up bar and also an exquisite view of the volcano. Our room was enormous and incredibly luxurious. I have posted several pictures. I highly recommend a room with out door jacuzzi because as you soak, yup you guessed it, you will be taking in that majestic volcano. They have a spa that they were newly building when we were there so we didn't get to try their spa staff. but the location was gorgeous and kind of set indoor/outdoor. Some of the rooms had only 3 walls and the 4th was just open views of the forest! Breakfast is included at the Nayara and this is probably the best hotel breakfast I have ever had; it was a feast loaded with many different delicious options. This Nayara experience made me and my husband want to move to costa rica; it was fabulous. It is truly a hidden gem!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTabachnikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing