We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even picky me loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even picky me loved this hotel”
Reviewed March 1, 2010

This is a wonderful hotel. The front desk staff are amazing, extremely friendly and helpful, as if they cared about nothing else, other than making their guests happy. The rooms are beautiful, well designed, well appointed, well supplied. The pool and swim-up bar are small, but more than adequate for a swim, or for the kids to play, after an active, busy day. The "food" (restaurant and bar) staff struck us as unhappy, and the food was good, but not great, but scenery and atmosphere compensate. Our pre-teen kids loved it and so did we. No connecting rooms as of our stay, which was not ideal, but apparently some will soon be open. Would recommend this as a perfect base to explore the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForeignObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,976
    246
    44
    13
    3
See reviews for
504
2,362
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (930)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

My (now) husband and I came to Costa Rica to get married at this beautiful resort. I could not recommend enough to anyone considering getting married in Costa Rica-THIS IS THE PLACE TO DO IT. We used Noel Ibo Campos as the officiant and Juan Carlos Villa (El Velo photography and videography). The gardens were beautiful- the ceremony was perfect, the wedding co-ordinator at the hotel-Liz helped to make sure everything went smoothly. After the ceremony we came back to chilled Champagne, flower petal decorated room and a flower basket with teddy bears. The staff is so kind and friendly and the atmosphere and attention was very personal. The size of the hotel is small-so you get to know the staff and other guests. The hotel staff helped with transportation, tours and anything else we needed. The food is good- and there is a different theme every night of the week. The cabins are beautiful and the bed was comfortable. We enjoyed using the outdoor shower and jacuzzi. The view from our deck was spectacular.- the best time to see the volcano seemed to be early morning. We did a number of tours and activities including: the sunset boat tour, hanging bridges, volcano hike, hot springs, hike at La Fontana waterfall, shopping in the town of La Fontana, ziplining and a river tour. Our stay was 5 days- after that we were off to the coast- Playa Hermosa in Guanacaste.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcolEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We greatly enjoyed the Nayara - the best hotel we stayed at in Costa Rica! Its a small, 26 room hotel with lots of charm, beautiful grounds, and very good service. Each room is a casita with a large bedroom, modern well appointed bathroom, indoor and outdoor showers, and an outdoor deck with a hot tub and a view of Arenal volcano.

The grounds are lush with well kept plants, and the rooms are set up so they're very private. From our deck, we couldn't see any other rooms or common areas. It was great!

The pool area was small, but nice, with a swim up bar serving throughout the day. The lobby was a beautiful tropical open lobby, very inviting and friendly. They had a pretty good restaurant, and they also had a wine bar which contained electronic key-card wine service. Basically, they give you a card, and you press a few buttons by the bottle you want, after which it automatically dispenses the wine and charges your room. Very cool!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDogAteMyHomework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2010

I can not say enough positive things about this hotel. From the moment we arrived after our 3.5 hour drive from San Jose we were treated like kings. The staff bent over backwards from us every change they got. The room was beautful with a picture perfect view (ask from room #25). The Spa did a wonderful job with my spa package Valentine's Day present from my boyfriend. The food was wonderful and the drink prices were reasonable. The only negative thing I can think of to say is that the bed and pillows were a little on the frim side for my boyfriend and I's liking. Other than that A++++++

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda011885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

The grounds, service, room, amenities, everything was flawless. We stayed for 4 nights, and couldn't have hoped for a better stay. Central to many local attractions, just a few miles from town, food, near hot springs, volcano, and more. Had a great time at the pool bar with reasonably priced food and drinks. Very relaxing, serene, plus had a massage. Optional outdoor shower and a spa tub facing the volcano, but still very private.

If you go into town for food, see the Lava Lounge, best food in the area.

They even had laptops with Internet in the lobby, with a "magic jack" phone for FREE calls back to the US.

Bottom line, absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyTraveler-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Our casita #9 was spacious with two comfortable double beds, a sitting area, flat-screen TV and desk, a dressing/vanity area with mini bar and plenty of useful closet space, a large indoor shower as well as an attractive outdoor shower. The bright tropical decor was fabulous.
The suite opened onto a generous balcony with two loungers and a two-person jacuzzi. The jungle vegetation surrounding it gave us plenty of privacy but cut off any view of the volcano ( unfortunately that wasn’t an issue for us because the mountaintop was constantly shrouded in clouds during our 3 days there.)
The hotel gardens were lush and gorgeous. Though all the facilities looked quite inviting, we didn’t try out the pool, the spa or the self-serve wine bar. We did eat several meals in the attractive open-air restaurant and found the service very good and all the food fresh and tasty. We also used the excellent laundry service a couple of times. (They even repaired the torn seam on a pair of shorts.) .
There was construction of a new section of units going on while we were there but we rarely heard any noise. Throughout our stay, all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.
We arranged our private tour of the country and the hotel booking through Costa Rica Expeditions and would recommend them highly. Our CRE guides were excellent at identifying flora, locating elusive fauna and explaining sites and customs of significance. The vehicles were clean and comfortable and the drivers were competent and safety-conscious. ( After observing other local drivers and experiencing some of the narrow, heavily-rutted mud and gravel roads which wound up and down the mountains, we were glad we had decided not to rent a car and drive ourselves. )

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManitobaTourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Following your recommendations (Tripadvisor) we stayed at Nayara Hotel. We were dissapoited not only for the poor service buy also from the manners of the staff, specially when you have some complain. I will be more suspect in the future, reading your reviews.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pitigliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaragovia, General Manager at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, February 12, 2010
Here at Nayara our staff is trained to deal with all complaints in a expeditious and professional manner. Unfortunately we could not find any record of this guest staying at our hotel therefore we can not address this complaint .
Freddy Obando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
810 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,410 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,440 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing