We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wedding in a rainforest wonderland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding in a rainforest wonderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

What can I say that hasn't already been said with the other 1900 plus reviewers? We decided to get married here after seeing what Nayara had to offer. I must have looked at their website 2-3 times a day for six months straight. I thought I had set my expectations so insanely high that the real thing would not live up to it. I was wrong. It is better. And NOT to be missed! We were picked up by a very friendly man named Diego. He made our 3 hour journey to Nayara a lovely one.We took advantage of the complementary yoga the next morning. Highly recommend! Get there 10-15 min early as it fills up quick. Our couples hot stone massage in our own private bungalow was blissful. You could hear the birds and see the rainforest in front of you. Our wedding was intimate and beautiful. The turn down service that night was incredible. Roses everywhere that lead to our outdoor jacuzzi filled with roses and bubbles, and chocolate covered strawberries. Our time spent here can only be described as magical. A personal thank you to Lindsay, Deybis, Joselyn, Jesenia, Alvaro, and our return driver Armando and his lovely wife for showing me the sloths. There's so many more but I forget! We will return one day!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,618
    229
    42
    13
    5
See reviews for
428
2,112
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

From arrival to departure this hotel knows the meaning of customer service. Spent 3 nights in August at this paradise of an hotel. Had 2 suites and they were absolutely gorgeous and spacious and my most concern CLEAN!!! The grounds were well kept at all times, the staff was very attentive at all times.

Now as much as I loved the property, the rooms and great staff. Had it not been for our planned activities the place would have been a bit boring. Don't get me wrong its great for relaxing and its cute, and all...but if my stay would have went passed 3 days I would have gotten bored. Of course no fault of the hotel...Just reminds me of a luxury prison..(as 1 other reviewer mentioned- and I agree) Meaning once you are at the hotel, you can't walk to the nearby town(too far), no walk-to restaurants, no nightlife.. Yea there are restaurants on site but by the 3rd day we were tired of it.

In my opinion not a good spot for the small kiddos. More of a romantic, couple type property. They have 2 pools and the main pool has bar/cocktail tables in the pool so this does not offer ample swimming space or play space. The other pool is a lap pool...not much fun there.

But overall I loved this property for a few days and the rooms again were just so beautiful oh and the balcony: Hammock, table/chairs, rocking chairs, hot tub & Outdoor shower nice!!!

Room Tip: request a suite that faces the Volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This was the second stop on our honeymoon. We stayed here two nights and really wished we had been here longer. The rooms are incredible and had it not rained most of the time we would have likely see the volcano. The service/staff were great and very attentive to our needs. The staff seemed pretty focused on getting us to practice our spanish. This kind of went back and forth from fun to cheesy throughout our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Nayara was a beautiful birthday/ anniversary surprise from my husband. The place is simply Beautiful! We had a great time while here the staff was very pleasant and helpful as well. From the moment we arrived at the hotel until the moment we left everyone was wonderful. We met Angelo and he was delightful and very nice to us. He learned that it was my birthday and he had the staff bake me a cake it was super yummy! Did i mention i had my two children with us and they put to twin size bed into our suite for them it was awesome. The children had cookies and water delivered to them every evening. The grounds were well kept and simply gorgeous with all the tropical flowers. We met the hotel Parrot Carlita she's beautiful. I recommend staying here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms are so beautiful you do not want to leave the resort! I heard the newer section of the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y02Y0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We returned to Nayara in July for our anniversary and this property and its staff, once again, did not disappoint. It was sheer heaven from the moment we arrived and saw our Nayara Suite to the moment we left and the gracious hotelier Angelo saw us off.

The upgraded property (with the addition of Nayara Springs adjacent) was a wonderful surprise and my favorite place to lounge by the pool. The spa is heaven as well. Get the coffee scrub and a massage and you'll be on cloud 9 for days.

I can't say enough about this wonderful gem of a hotel, except that in sum--they do everything right!

The tours are spectacular -- but you won't want to leave the grounds. If you do, I recommend the Hanging Bridges and White Water Rafting--fantastic adventures both!!!

You will enjoy having coffee and a deluxe buffet breakfast with panoramic vistas in the sky.

Book this resort. You will love it forever. We plan to return next year as well.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are lovely but if you can do a Nayara Suite for at least a night -- it's worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank styletraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley Uk
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Wow, we stayed a couple of nights on our tour, and it wasn't enough, we loved it, starting with the room, we had a fabulous room, I'm not going to list what we had as other reviewers have done that, all I will say is it was superb, with a fantastic view of Arenal volcano.
The grounds were fantastic, with hidden areas with Jacuzzis to relax in, and a fantastic pool and bar for relaxing, there is also a wine bar where you can spend an enormous amount of money very quickly, you get issued with a card in the wine bar, in the wine bar there are two banks of wins probably about 20 in all, you insert the card and then you can select a small taste, a half glass or a full glass, a great way to find a wine you like, but don't get carried away.
The restaurant was great we ate there once on the evening, and obviously breakfast, they even put out sandwiches at breakfast for you to take for lunch. The staff are very friendly and attentive, but not too in your face.
I can honestly say one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, if your are disappointed then you have standards tat no one can satisfy, absolutely fantastic, would be back tomorrow if it wasn't so far away :-(

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lostandfound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Ran late to couples spa appointment in Costa Rica. They were very gracious about the delay. Everyone was extremely helpful from start to finish. The message being done open air in the rainforest is unforgettable. Not much else to say. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,998 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,858 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing