We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel was absolutely amazing! The rooms are fantastic and the property is beautiful with a great view of the volcano. The pool is nice a warm with a swim up bar. The hot tubs are incredible surrounded by tropical foliage and we had humming birds flying around. I didn't want to get out! Food was great and the staff very friendly. Calls to the US were included which was nice so we could check in at home. Just book it - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,845
    235
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
465
2,274
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Nayara was the first of four hotels that my husband and I stayed in during our wonderful honeymoon in Costa Rica, and simply put, we should not have left. The bungalows are beautiful and romantic, the food is delicious and the nearby activities are abundant and enjoyable. This is THE place to stay in Costa Rica.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank teacherNEPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We haven't left yet and I had to write how amazingly beautiful Nayara is. Couple this with the most amazing service and you have the perfect vacation. Our casita and our view of the volcano is beyond heaven. The property is amazing. They thought of everything. You will love it here as.we have.

Room Tip: The only problem we had is our room was close to the pool which can get very loud. Ask for a casita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Beautiful resort and located near tons of activities. Staff and service great.. Would highly recommend to others visiting this region of Costa Rica to stay here. Pool areas are relaxing and restaurants are very good. Front staff very helpful in providing information on area tours and activities and arranging your itinerary.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank portermbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

My wife and I chose this hotel after extensive research. We were gratified to find we had indeed chosen the best stay in the area -- (only one other hotel/resort in Arenal/Fortuna is comparable, but for that one you basically need a sherpa to get in and out of). Most wonderful about Nayara is the sense of seclusion and privacy everywhere and at all times; the villas and casitas are surrounded by dense, bird-filled foliage so that whether in your private jacuzzi or patio shower, you feel as if you're alone in the jungle, with the volcano to yourself.

The staff here is extraordinary. They are instantly your friend, and their friendliness is genuine. We wanted for nothing but they went beyond that without intruding upon our privacy.

Jairo the director greeted us at the free wine cocktail hour and answered many of our questions that night (all are invited, and yet it is still a romantic affair).

The facilities are ultra-modern and stylish and yet everything is construction with regional wood and in a fashion that lacks no coziness.

A resort in Arenal is also not the first place (as a picky foodie) that I would expect to find a world-class chef, expert sommelier and utterly memorable meal, and yet the wine pairing we had on a porch amid the rainforest listening to thunder was just that. The food was delectable.

It was my wife's birthday and the staff made sure -- with chocolate covered strawberries and cakes and roses -- to make her feel special, and yet there was again, no intrusion.

The spa features (massages, facials, etc) are all top notch as are the travel guides.

Location: Nayara is as convenient as anything else (save for The Springs) to all that Fortuna and Arenal have to offer. Don't hesitate to ask the staff for anything or any advice on day trips (Nayara offers all kinds of programed trips and tours, which are great, but I recommend going off the beaten path a bit and making the area your own!)

CELEB TIP: I work in Hollywood and would recommend this place to any celebrities looking for seclusion with all the accoutrements of a fine resort/spa.

Room Tip: I don't believe that there are any bad rooms here, as I walked the grounds extensively to scout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

By far the most fabulous place I've ever stayed. Beautiful natural surroundings, impeccable service, fantastic rooms, most with lush tropical views of the volcano. Restaurants are also superb as is the location.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bladerunner044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

This place was wonderful! It is obviously a little pricey, but much nicer than the other hotels in the area. The staff is amazing - they did everything that they could to accommodate us and make us feel special. The views from the rooms are spectacular. I woke up every morning excited for the breakfast buffet - tons of fresh fruit and other goodies. The restaurant food was excellent. Can't say enough good things about this place.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brittany V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing