We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Christmas in Paradise!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This review is shamefully late in posting, I truly apologize. We spent an incredible week at the Nayara Resort over Christmas, initially we weren’t sure about how we would feel taking that type of trip over the holidays and we also realized that it was their busy season. We decided to make the trip and were so glad we did. The moment we arrived we were greeted warmly and courteously and felt very comfortable. From check-in to check-out they were always greeting us whenever we came or left the resort and were very accommodating with any requests that we had,. When we were shown to our room it was absolutely wonderful, the pictures don’t do it justice. We had the difficult decision every day on whether we should look out at the beautiful view of the volcano from the hammock, the lounge chairs, or the hot tub. The shower was very large and had a door that opened onto a small path leading to the outside shower. The room was kept very clean by our housekeeper Alicia. She also made us smile when we returned from our days activities and found her new creations made from the towels… my favorite was the little dog. The grounds were covered in tropical plants, all very lush and blooming. There was also a visitor, a beautiful red macaw named Carlotta, who would fly in on occasion to visit. We were exploring the grounds and met one of the staff, Daniella, who offered to show us around without us even having to ask. The grounds are quite large so this was extremely helpful, we found some amenities that we really enjoyed taking advantage of. Moving on to the pool. The pool was fed by hot springs so it was always warm and comfortable. The swim up bar was manned by Jonathan and/or Randall who were fun and friendly and made fabulous drinks, my favorite being the passion fruit daiquiris. The service was great whether you were just ordering a cocktail or ordering a full lunch by the pool. Next is a very important aspect of any stay and that is the food. It was wonderful at all the restaurants! Juan Carlos made excellent guacamole and his flambés are a must have! We ate in town once but opted to eat the rest of the time at the resort. They also have a small wine bar that should not be missed! It has a wine preservation/dispensing system that allows each person to take a pour from whatever wine they chose. The system has a wide variety of reds and whites and allows for different pour amounts which is great since it allows you to try different wines and compare. If it’s available I strongly recommend the wine pairing dinner. We have been to numerous wine pairings but what made this stand out was the obvious passion the sommelier displayed as he explained each course and each pour. The meal was excellent in both taste and presentation. Next, the spa. We had a couple’s treatment/massage on our last day. Amazing, and we were in a totally relaxed daze during our entire ride to San Jose. I highly recommend the indulgence, totally worth it. I would return to CR just to spend another week at this hotel. Overall a top notch destination so if you like to be pampered and enjoy the best of everything then this is definitely the place to go.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathySilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,976
    246
    44
    13
    3
See reviews for
504
2,362
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (930)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Nayara..Nayara..it was all that we needed and we were so relaxed. My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Nayara and we stayed in a casita for 3 nights. The breathtaking view of the volcano right outside our deck excited and then calmed our senses. Lounge on a chair on the deck, sipping coffee, swing yourself to sleep on the hammock, step in your private outdoor jacuzzi surrounded by lush plants and flowers and the sweet sounds of birds. As if that is not enough, the grounds are simply beautiful. The jacuzzis by the pool are so serene and the restaurants offer live music and very good food. Our favorite restaurant was Amor Loco where my husband celebrated his birthday! The wine bar was also one of our favorite spots to hang out and have lunch. I recommend getting a chocolate massage at the spa :) We are already thinking of another ocassion when we can return to Nayara for a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Just imagine sitting in a hot tub with a glass of sauvignon, looking up at a live volcano while hummingbirds sip nectar & eagles soar overhead - in February. This perfect hotel in the middle of the cloud forest was heaven on earth & cannot be recommended too highly. A bit pricey, but worth it for the immaculate service, the excellent food & above all the prime location in this marvellous country. Viva Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Abercrombie & Kent picked this hotel for us or our trip to Costa Rica. Lovely room looking out on volcano. Huge room with indoor and outdoor shower, large deck with hot tub and hammock. Wonderful waking to so many birds in the morning. Also great service and very good food. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room looking toward the volcano but rooms are available that face the jungle area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Yes it is beautiful, and so are the people of this great location but service reigns at this upscale, rural inn. There are many things to do in the area but we were also just as happy to be back at the main pool relaxing. Even our small children were accommodated with kid food and friendly high fives by the staff! I wish I could remember everyone's names because Jonathon at the desk and Jonathon at the pool were not the only ones who made our stay comfortable. Thank you all. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This place has a lot of great reviews but I would like to recommend staying in one of the suites. My husband and I spent four nights in early March and had spectacular views of the volcano every day! I loved the outdoor shower and the mini bar prices were very reasonable. We also got a couples massage at the spa and it was lovely. The Sushi Amor restaurant is good for happy hour and Amor Loco had pretty tasty food. We also used their laundry service and it was very cheap compared to a similar hotel in the US. I just wanted to stay there forever!

Room Tip: Splurge and go for the suite, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aracne63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

No complaints. Staff is great, the views are amazing and rooms are perfect. The private hot tubs near the pool were very nice and staff at the front desk was very accommodating. Free wifi throughout resort was nice as well.

Room Tip: Sun rises early and birds are up early too. The rooms aren't great with keeping out sounds so br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 711T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
810 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,410 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,440 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing