We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to a great vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great start to a great vacation.”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

High end hotel. Juan Carlos was a very engaging waiter. He made fantastic guacamole. Fresh fruit and juices every morning for breakfast was awesome. Plenty of activities around and the town La Fortuna is a welcoming surprise. Carlotta is a beautiful Scarlet Macaw that welcomes you to La Naraya.

Room Tip: Treat yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 791amyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,971
    245
    44
    13
    3
See reviews for
502
2,359
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (929)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Bienvenidos with the discovery that opening the curtains Arenal is right there on a clear warm morning. And Carlotta the macaw who hangs from the roof and takes grapes from my hand (see video). Beautiful hotel. Spectacular service and attentive not intrusive staff. Fab rooms with a necessary amenities. I do not know when I would sit in the room to watch borrowed videos from the front desk! Ate delicious sushi on arrival. And this is only the first 14 hours. Headed to Arenal. Got a great package with Nayara that includes three nights 3 course dinner, a 5 course wine pairing dinner, hanging bridges walking tour, zip line, hot springs, hot stone massage and daily breakfast. Highly recommend you figure that out with them on reserving it is great to arrive just to have to schedule your fun.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a very special hotel because of the layout of the casitas amongst the gardens and tropical rain forest. Because of the friendly people. Because of the good food, the great spa, the service and desk staff are extra helpful. The casitas are so comfortable. The highlight was the romantic dinner up in the treetops. Book it as it is worth it! The addition of the Nayara Springs Hotel across a walk bridge offers other dining experiences and a swim pool. More for adults. We definitely would return to this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Having a view of the volcano is grand so you can watch the changes in the clouds surrounding the vol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Coco, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

From top to bottom, hands down great experience... All details are there to make you spoiled. Winebar is a great hang out. Best place to be Romantic... Well kept & maintained. Outdoor shower is just there to die for :)

Helpful?
1 Thank TC Can S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel is so gloriously luxurious - hot tubs on the balcony, spectacular views of the volcano and beautiful bathrooms including an outdoor shower. We had a wonderful stay here and were lucky enough to see the full volcano without cloud - which apparently is quite rare. Lounging on our balcony either in the tub or hammock was bliss. The resident Macaw (Carlotta) is a hoot - she will arrive and make friends with you - probably by the pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Loved everything about it. Highly recommend this hotel for a romantic vacation. The grounds are lush and beautiful. The view of the volcano is unbeatable. Tub and hammock on the decks are icing on the cake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Went to this hotel after seeing it at one of the trip advisor's top ten lists. I think it was a best service list or something. The list was right, the service was excellent but there's way more to it than just good service. The people, the food, the pools, the rooms it all worked together to make you feel like in a (copying other reviews).... paradise. My only recommendation, pay the $150 taxi ride from the airport to the hotel, specially if you arrive to CR after 8 pm. I rented a car and drove from Alajuela to La Fortuna (2.5 Hrs.). The guy at the car rental warned me about some fog up in the mountains, "I live in Massachusetts, I know how to drive through fog, snow, rain, anything" I said. I was wrong. Null Visibility once you hit the PNR of the two and a half hour trip. I liked it cause I was up for the challenge but my wife wasn't to pleased with the experience. Other than that the stay was perfect. The Vino-Teca is a must. Wine vending machines.....Nuff said!!! Free breakfast and yoga in the morning (if you can wake up after the Vino-Teca).

Room Tip: Room 1 is the best place if you don't mind a little noise in the morning from the wet bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rummus151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
808 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,404 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing