We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Can't go wrong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great property. Enjoyed our three nights--excellent service from friendly staff. Good breakfast, sushi, and dinner. Nice view of Arenal (when the clouds cooperate!). Loved the outdoor shower and feeling of privacy in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,585
    226
    41
    13
    4
See reviews for
410
2,093
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (847)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at Nayara over xmas. The staff at the resort was great, the Villa's were perfect. plenty of room to move around. The hot spring pool on the patio was great, They had an indoor and out door shower. Great!. One call to the front desk and the golf carts are there to get you. I did you the gym while I was there and it was fine. the main restaurant had some issues. The service was good if there were not alot of people in the restaurant. We had to send food back 2 nights in a row because they were not cook all the way or the meal was cold. We did speak with the manager of the restaurant and he did seemed concerned. I am sure he will handle the issues. overall get place overall.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jairo Q, Manager at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Nayara.
We want to personally apologize that our food did not meet your expectations. We take our guests feedback very seriously and please know that our Food & Beverage Director took care about your candid feedback. We are so glad that you still had a good time, and enjoyed your room accommodations as well as our team quality service.
On behalf of the entire Nayara family we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jairo Quesada
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in December. The accommodations were second to none. We had one of the deluxe rooms (which is the base model) and we could not have been more impressed. The amenities were great (shaving kits, reasonably priced mini-bar, excellent in-room coffee), but the room itself was the wow-factor. We had a Jacuzzi tub on our balcony, as well as a hammock. My husband loved the rain shower head on the indoor shower, but I preferred the outdoor one.

We both loved the pool - warm, but comfortable. The secluded hot tubs are incredibly romantic, too.

The staff was warm and friendly, and the service was excellent.

Truly, I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Stop reading reviews and book now!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST STROUDSBURG
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent 3 nights at this beautiful hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and service was excellent. The hotel food was very good, and the included breakfasts were hearty, especially the local fare. The views of the volcano are awesome when it's not cloudy and the grounds are lush and verdant. We took the 4-in-1 tour of the Hanging bridges and Tabacon Hot springs arranged through Anywhere CostaRica (our entire trip, too). Enjoyed a great lunch at Don Rufino's.
Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We were fortunate to have been relocated to a room away from the ongoing construction...... upon che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Itinerants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent 3 nights in December at Nayara. Everything was perfectly amazing. We woke up the first morning to a clear volcano view. Meals in the main restaurant were delicious. Service impeccable. Pool was nice and warm for evening. Thermal pools were wonderful. The rooms are something you have to see in person. We loved everything about Nayara. It is obvious that the planners and management have put much time and thought into the details of this beautiful resort. Thank you Nayara!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We had high expectations given the trip advisor reviews and our stay exceeded them. The grounds were beautiful, the staff was super nice, the pools & jacuzzis were lovely, the room was gorgeous and private, view of Arenal from the room was stunning, and the breakfast buffet was large and delicious. They were also super nice to kids, although there was only one other little one when we visited.

I struggle to think of anything negative. We didn't want to leave the property! They don't have hot springs but the new springs section over the bridge has a lovely pool with cool spring water, which is refreshing in the heat.

And hot springs aren't far away - about a 20 minute walk to Los Lagos (family friendly one) or a little further to baldi & ecothermales.

We stumbled across amor loco (the springs restaurant) while looking around the property the first night and were blown away by how great it was. The vibe was cool, service was fantastic and the food was delicious (as good as you would get in New York). We ate there for 2 out of our 3 dinner meals. (The other night we walked to Benedictus organic steak house which is 600m down to the main road, across the road, then 800m through the farm. It was nice but amor loco was better).

We loved nayara. It was worth every cent. We would highly recommend it. And if we ever return to the region we would go out of our way to go back here.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank scn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jairo Q, Manager at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of our hotel. Your kind words only reinforce our commitment to provide the best possible service. I would like to share good news with you and future guests, as of last month all of our public hot tub Jacuzzis are fed by natural mineral hot Springs. Also, all of our villas feature private plunge pools fed by the same natural mineral hot Springs.
Again, thanks so much for your very generous review of Nayara.

Sincerely,

Jairo Quesada
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I agree with almost all of the comments i have read so far. We stayed at the Hotel Nayara for 2 nights and had the best experience from the moment we arrived at the resort until our departure. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and bent over backwards to accommodate every request throughout the stay....from arranging private tours for zip lining, canyoning and horseback riding to keeping the spa open for an extra hour for massages after a long day of activities. The room was amazing, the food was incredible, the spa was exceptional......I highly recommend this resort. The only con was i wish we had booked the hotel for another night or two.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,047 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,273 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing