We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best hotel on our 15 day CR tour! Fantastic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Best hotel on our 15 day CR tour! Fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have little to add to the other reviews. I loved this hotel although we never saw the volcano!
I would love to stay again one day.

This was one of 7 different hotels we stayed in our 15 night self drive tour through CR. This was our favorite of all places despite being not the most expensive. If you have any questions about our trip, do ask.

Room Tip: We chose a normal room. It was perfect. Not sure what a suite can add to our already fantastic room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,589
    226
    41
    13
    4
See reviews for
413
2,094
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (847)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Agree with all the wonderful comments about the grounds and the service. Upon departure, we called for help with our bags and the guy was at the room about a minute after we hung up the phone. The food was also terrific...all meals and locations. The volcano on a clear day was the perfect breakfast view. Heated towel bars and outdoor shower were great. The transports we arranged through Nayara were first rate. They greeted our flight, even though we were several hours late with hand wipes and cold water bottles. The drive is bumpy but the van was comfortable and had wifi. We were visiting over the holidays and there were plenty of other families. There were only a few things that were strange. There was no place to sit in the room other than a hard wooden chair. I was happy to swing in the hammock but that left the hubby to either sit on the bed or in an upright chair. The electricity is also only on when the room key is in the designated slot. I appreciate the green feature but it means that the rooms are very humid and hot upon return and you cannot leave a phone charging while gone. I also would consider taking a taxi to the hanging bridges and the zip lining or driving your own car. The tours through the hotel are pretty pricey for essentially bus transport. A taxi can be at Nayara about 10 minute after you call so more time flexible as well.

Room Tip: Room 50 can see the volcano while in the hammock but is at the top of the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara_with3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The experience in Nayara was wonderful. We were greeted by people there with fresh juice cocktails and herb infused towels. They made sure they know our names and our kid's names. All of the staff were friendly. We ate from their sushi restaurant and this was the best sushi we ever had in our life. The other restaurant was also great. The room had a nice balcony with views of volcano. However we could not spot much wild life from there due to some construction going on nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbjaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just a great place to stay. Rooms, service, location, food all perfect. The only drawback is the pool, really too small to swim and if kids around too noisy. If permitted to use the new one at the villas, then would be great. We loved our stay, so did my teens. Our room was at a corner spot, between 2 busy paths, which was noisy, but they were helpful.

Room Tip: try and not stay where 2 or more footpaths meet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Service -- AMAZING, from start to finish! From the warm towels and drinks upon arrival, to the "Farewell" dessert, the gracious and attentive staff was impeccable!

Rooms -- Gorgeous! We stayed at the Casita Deluxe, the indoor/outdoor showers, the private balcony with the hot tub outside...just incredible! Worth every single penny as we would be spending a LOT of time indoors thanks to the rain.

BEWARE: you will spend more than you budgeted...their 13% tax is brutal and will sneak up on you...and out of the 5 days we stayed, we only saw the volcano for a total of an hour. And if you're a nervous flier, or get carsick easily, take precaution, the drive from the airport to the hotel is not for the weak....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Govanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent 4 nights here as part of our Costa Rican honeymoon. When we arrived unfortunately realised we'd been given a twin room. We asked for a double and once the staff found out we were on our honeymoon we found ourselves being asked if we wanted an upgrade and being personally shown round a luxury villa by one of the managers (Jairo - ps thanks for everything!). The villa was sensational, with it's own plunge pool containing water pumped directly from the local hot springs.
Overall our stay was magical. The staff were excellent and the trips we took (canyoning, volcano hike and zip-lining) were all awesome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My new bride and I arrived at the hotel and we were instantly greeted by a host of concierge staff and a glass of wine. Within moments, we were off in a golf cart meandering through what seemed to be a jungle in paradise. We were in for a surprise.
It seemed that the new villas were recently complete and we lucked up and got to stay in one.

The villas have their own private infinity plunge pool fed by hot springs. These villas are stand alone structures the size of houses and when I say they are private, I mean really private! You have your own hammock, day bed, outdoor shower and all the drinks and food you need.

They went the extra mile and gave us the full honeymoon treatment everywhere we went during our stay. Our full breakfast was included in our room package. Not sure if it is for every room. They have the most amazing outdoor yoga studio and the spa houses have their own hot tub and outdoor showers. The hot stone massage was one of the best I've ever had!

The view of Mount Arenal is probably as close as you can get without being on the actual mountain. Tropical birds wake you every morning so you can take a plunge in your private pool. It was hard to leave the resort, but we did go white water rafting and the best tour guides ever picked us up on time and delivered the best experience ever.

Safety is not a concern at this resort if this is your first time to CR. It is the best hotel stay I've ever had by a 100 miles.
Thanks Nayara!

Room Tip: Ask for the villas. It's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,276 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,836 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing