We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Accommodating Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
PARRISH
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gracious Accommodating Staff”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is such a beautiful hotel to visit. The gardens are beautiful. The food excellent and the staff is the most genuine kind accommodating staff I have ever had.
I have been on many cruises, and anyone who has ever cruised, knows how nice the people treat you on a cruise ship. This staff is just like the cruise ship staff. They are just so willing to please.
Actually, I think most Costa Rica people we met, were like that. But this hotel is beautiful and very good food. The rooms were clean and spacious.
We stayed in a Casita Deluxe unit facing the Volcano. Such a view.
I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15. It had a marvelous view of the volcano. Our room was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,944
    240
    44
    13
    3
See reviews for
489
2,343
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Have stayed in a variety of hotels all over the world from budget to luxury. I have stayed in expensive hotels with as good as accommodation as this but what genuinely makes this one of the outstanding hotels in the world is the attitude and professionalism of its staff. For example our air on unit didn't work but within 20 minutes workman on site and within two hours brand new unit fitted. One of the senior managers very keen to get us into the bar to give us complimentary drinks. Everything works as far as staff is concerned. Great hotel in a fantastic place. Genuine Costa Rican hospitality was magnified and all staff were lovely. All seemed genuinely happy too.
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This gets tremendous write ups in the press. Can it be that good. Definitely yes. Room and resort excellent but also the staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. One of the staff ( Juan Jose) went shopping for us in his time off to buy something for my husbands camera. No problem and looked genuinely embarrassed when we payed him back. Prices in resort are very reasonable eg minibar, laundry etc three different restaurants. Great place to stay in Arenal area. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chippenhamjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I practically stalked this hotel before staying here and therefore had high expectations. I was blown away at how they were exceeded.

The property is absolutely stunning. The staff is unbelievably welcoming, not the fake 'I have to smile because this is my job' welcoming either. The food was fantastic, including the impressive free breakfast. My new husband and I got a couples massage that was pleasurable and romantic. The pool was always a nice temperature and the bartenders working the swim-up bar made delicious tropical drinks that even my scotch-loving husband enjoyed thoroughly.

I highly recommend booking tours through the hotel (we did the Combination Tour, Sky Tram/Trek, and Repelling). The guides were punctual and informative and we felt safe everywhere we went. Be sure to bring tipping money because the guides are wonderful and add to the experience- you'll want to show your gratitude.

Honestly, everything about this hotel was perfect from the people helping us book our adventures through the internet months in advance to the adorable bellmen to the cleaning staff. We are starting to save now so we can return to this outstanding hotel. ¡Pura vida!

Room Tip: We stayed close to the pool, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melaina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We chose Nayara for our honeymoon and we are so delighted that we did. We could of stayed at the resort all week. We ate almost all our meals here. Breakfast is AMAZING with fresh fruit juices and several choices and its FREE! The service is the best service you will ever experience. We were greeted with a glass of wine and a warm towel. Our luggage was delivered to the room and set up. The dropped us off at our suite too. Each suite is tucked away as if your in Costa Rica alone. It's so peaceful and the view is gorgeous along with all of the plants. I also received a spa treatment which was very nice as well. We felt very safe and secure during our stay. We don't have a single complaint about Nayara. It truly is Heaven on earth!!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms but, each room has a beautiful view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The credits for this hotel from the professional press - #1 in Latin America, #4 in the world plus the overwhelming reviews from Trip Advisor left us with the feeling that we could only be let down. How wrong we were.

From start to finish the Nayara exceeded our expectations. Our suite was close to the pool and restaurants. It had an outdoor hot tub and an outdoor shower both of which we used several times. The pool and swim up bar are for relaxing in not swimming but were fine just the same.

The food and service were what made the resort standout. The breakfast buffet was extensive and fresh - they need to learn how to cook bacon however. In the evening we had supper the first night which was Mexican themed. We expected to be disappointed but the food was better than we have had in Mexico.

The piece de resistance was the wine paired menu served in the wine bar. This is not to be missed. We selected the menu earlier in the day and the helpful staff selected the wines. Over 6 courses this was one of the best meals we have had. The atmosphere was enhanced by the private outdoor table and the guitar music drifting up from the main restaurant.

If you are coming to Costa Rica rush to the Nayara for the food and the service. By the way we never did see the Arenal Volcano, but for a romantic getaway who cares.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel! Luxurious accommodations, world-class service, beautiful grounds to start... Plus no price gouging (reasonably priced mini bar & room service), great food, friendly bar tender (Siete!), and resident Macaw named Carlota! I could have stated forever!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank viajoelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
790 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,375 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,850 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing