We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Only place to stay in La Fortuna - Arenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only place to stay in La Fortuna - Arenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I came here for our one year anniversary. Nayara was amazing. From the moment we arrived, the staff was accommodating and friendly. (I even accidentally threw out my retainer, and the staff happily went through the trash for me).
The rooms are everything they promise to be. We reserved the regular room, and asked to be put on the waiting list for the Nayara Deluxe. The larger room wasn't available when we got there - but the regular Casita was amazing! (see pictures). It's exactly as they describe it. Very private. Exceptionally well maintained.
We ate at the pool bar and the regular Altamira restaurant. The food was decent, not phenomenal - but pretty on par for La Fortuna.
I got the Thai massage at the spa. The masseuse was very talented, and very professional. The spa itself is gorgeous - with an open wall to the jungle - so you can hear the jungle noises (so relaxing). The price was great.
The best part about Nayara is that it's unique - it's very private - picturesque - gorgeous scenery - well maintained landscaping.
The included breakfast is incredible.
Five stars to Nayara! We will be back!

Room Tip: We were in room 7. We had a great view (see pictures). We were very close to the pool, spa, wine bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chckadee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,651
    231
    42
    13
    4
See reviews for
431
2,139
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (859)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at nayara from jun.26-jun.30th. we could not be happier. every staff member goes out of their way to make you feel special. the property itself is beautiful, from the rooms to the landscaping. food is excellent at altamira or the sushi restaurant. this resort is rated consistently high for a reason, and you will not be dissapointed with your stay.

Room Tip: we had room 50 which was one of the furthest on the property. it was secluded and private, and altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesse c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 4 days of our honeymoon here. Needless to say we recieved exceptional service from the moment we stepped for I'm the lobby. The entire staff treat you as if you are their only guest and they all remember your name. Our suite was adorned with red roses(for our honeymoon) and we also had a complimentary glass of wine and a bottlw of chilled champagne waitinf for us. The private deck has an awesome Jacuzzi! We loved this place and will return

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njones1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

First off, it rained the entire time we were here (December 2011) - and we still love it this much! We were immediately welcomed by the staff, our villa was clean, beautiful, and quiet. The property was gorgeous. We LOVED the wine bar and restaurant. The food was excellent and the service was extremely friendly and attentive. We booked a ziplining adventure through the hotel and had a fabulous time (even in the rain!) If we do come back to Costa Rica, we will only stay at Nayara.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChitownCityGal_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We came here for the first week of our Honeymoon from June 16 - June 21. These were the best 6 days of our entire 11 day trip. The hotel was beautiful, the service was impeccable, the rooms were beyond amazing, and Arenal was our favorite part of Costa Rica. We are already so excited to talk about our 5 year wedding anniversary and how we are going to come back to Nayara for a week.

Seeing Sharon's smiling face every day made us so very happy. Jonathan, Equin, Lindsey, Judy, Jonathan (second one), Andres, and everyone that worked at the hotel were the most caring, attentive, wonderful people we have met.

If you are planning a Honeymoon make sure to include Nayara in your plans. The only thing is to make sure that you either only stay at Nayara OR go to Nayara on the second half of your trip because we went to Tamarindo Diria after Nayara and hated it because nothing compared to our stay at Nayara.

Can't wait to see you all in 5 years!!!

Room Tip: *Try and book the Nayara Suite - you won't regret it! *Beds are a little hard *Internet works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our honeymoon's third destination - amazing hotel, with fantastic service, lovely food, excellent venue and brilliant room.

From the glamour of having a private balcony jacuzzi to view the Arenal Volcano to the splendour of having an on-site tasting menu with paired wine this hotel was fabulous.

The staff are lovely and brilliant.

Our casita deluxe room was fab and had everything (and more!) than we could need!

Recommended without reservation!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TristanLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our 5 day stay at Nayara to celebrate our 5th anniversary. This resort was incredible! The views were spectacular and the staff went above and beyond. I left my bathing suit at the nearby hot springs and they sent someone from the hotel to pick it up for me! You will not be disappointed if you stay at this resort. There is so much to do at nearby attractions. Nayara is by far the best place we have ever stayed!

Room Tip: Rooms in the 20s are near the lobby, restaurant, wine bar and pool. Amazing, clear view of the Aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maribeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 2,109 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,387 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing