We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What's not to like?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our family of four (kids 15 & 19) stayed here for three nights at the beginning of our CR vacation. I was so impressed by the staff and the property. We couldn't walk into the lobby without someone greeting us and asking how our day was going or if there was anything they could do to help us. They were more than happy to arrange or make changes to any of our excursions. The grounds are stunning. The palapa style restaurant had a wonderful buffet breakfast each morning; the lunches and dinners were quite good. One night we ate at the sushi restaurant which was very tasty. A couple of evenings we stopped in at the wine bar to sample some wines. The kids found a chess board and played while we relaxed and chatted with the delightful bartender. Our room was gorgeous and immaculate, complete with outside shower, and a jacuzzi tub and hammocks on the back deck. I loved opening the curtains in the morning to a glorious view of the volcano. Wifi was available throughout the hotel and they offered free calls to the states in the hotel lobby. I've traveled extensively and I honestly think this is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoundthebend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,712
    233
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
439
2,185
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (866)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This boutique hotel is amazing. We loved every moment. Everyone who works there is really lucky. Everyone who gets to stay there is even luckier. It's a gorgeous environment and the energy of the place is vibrant and alive. We felt like royalty. Everyone treated us like family. Our room was #40 and with a view of the volcano every morning, who wants to leave? Our outdoor rock shower for two and indoor rain shower for two was a real treat. The room was a nice size & with the ceiling height and outdoor balcony with a direct unobstructed view of the Arenal Volcano (active with steam, no lava flow), it made the room feel even larger. We loved the air conditioning, but also just loved opening the doors with the screen door to listen to the birds. We enjoyed spotting the bright orange bellied birds with our binoculars, while sitting on the balcony in the morning as we enjoyed a cup of bold black Costa Rican coffee. We even saw a sloth (perizosa) from our balcony. After our massage at the spa, the outdoor Jacuzzi tub for two on the balcony was so relaxing. One evening we watched mother nature put on quite a show with a downpour of rain, thunder and lightning; it was thrilling and exciting. Each night we dined in one of the three restaurants. We had the Mediterranean tasting menu at the wine bar & it was great! We are foodies and loved all of it! Each item was paired with a nice glass of wine. Josue took excellent care of us and even hand wrote all of the wines we tasted with the corresponding menu item. There are three Chilean wines I'll be looking for at my Total Wine store. Breakfast every morning was a delicious bouquet of international foods. We especially enjoyed the local Tico dishes like Arracache and Plantain hash. Going to breakfast was like going to see friends. So many smiling faces. The hotel spa was indoor/outdoor with a covered roof. Our massage therapists Giselle & Yadira were great. We were so relaxed. Goodbye stress. The hotel is adding on another area so there was some construction going on in June 2013. We hope to come back someday. The new part should be finished by the end of 2013. We worked with Jairo and the Altamira Sous Chef to show them how to make Lebanese Tabouli salad. It's very healthy and a great compliment to hummus, which they currently have on their dinner menu. They offer fresh, healthy items. Omnivores, carnivores, vegetarians and vegans alike will be more than satisfied. They even have a sushi bar for pescatarians. Really creative tasty combinations. The hotel mascot, our feathered friend, Carlotta, a red Macaw, was quite something. She climbed onto my arm when I said "venga." I gave her a few nuts as a reward for showing off her language skills and spreading her wings. The grounds of the hotel are great for walking. There's an incline so you will get some exercise. They have golf cart "limo's" available to. The pool is a great place to meet honeymooning couples. We celebrated my birthday at Nayara and there were nice touches in the room and all around the grounds. Juanita made some fantastic towel animals for us each evening. We booked tours through Liz at the hotel and had excellent experiences with Jacamar tours. We had so much fun and saw a vast amount of animals and learned about conservation, ecotourism, sustainability, and more. Thank you to Nayara for making this one of our best adventures ever.
Muchas Gracias a todo! Besos a: Josue, Andrey, Wesley, Liz, Francisco, Jairo, Jonathon, Keiler, Carmen, Johanna, Juan Carlos, Byron, Roberto, Esteban, Elquin, Sharon, Juan Carlos, Giselle, Yadira, Juanita, Lindsey y todos viven la Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMIFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for honeymoon in May 2012. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was amazing. The bathroom with the outdoor shower was lovely. We loved the view from our bed that we woke up to every day. We made a point of enjoying our balcony, hammock and hot tub. The service was good. We were sad to go. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nld2676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at Nayara and loved every minute of it! Here's our breakdown of our stay:

Check-in/Check-out
Check-in was quick and easy. The cold towel and beverage made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped out of our van. Checkout was also a seemless process. There was an erroneous minibar charge on our bill and when we told them we didn't get anything from the minibar, the charge was removed without a question.

Room
Our room was so spacious, and the view was the best view I've had at a hotel! We enjoyed sitting on our back deck in the hammock or lounge chairs. The private hot tub on the deck was the best way to unwind after dinner. The rooms were cleaned punctually every day and turndown service was an added bonus. We had a room with 2 double beds, and my husband and I couldn't understand how you could "share" this room. It's definitely a romantic hideaway. The shower door is clear, so I'm not sure you'd want to share a room with anyone.

Food
The breakfast buffet was delicious. Being able to fill up for breakfast before going on excursions was a great bonus. Also, having the premade sandwiches and granola bars to take with you for the day were nice touches. We didn't eat lunch at the hotel as we were out during the days. Dinner at Altimira was good, not great. However, Azteca night on Sunday night was by far the best dinner we had at the hotel. Sushi Amor's happy hour in the afternoons was a nice treat. The mixed chips were a great appetizer at Sushi Amor. We went into La Fortuna one night for dinner, but by the time you pay $10 each way for a cab, you end up spending the same amount of money as if you just ate at Altimira. The wine bar is a very neat place and very reasonably priced.

Atmosphere/Grounds/Staff
The staff truly wants to make sure you have a realxing, enjoyable stay. I loved that they offered excursions, but they didn't push you into booking excursions through them. The hotel grounds are well-kept and very beautiful. The pool is small but was never crowded. The only thing I would've liked to see was a gameroom.

Overall, we loved our stay at Nayara. We would highly recommend it to anyone going to Costa Rica. It's one of my favorite hotels we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: All rooms have unobstructed views of the volcano, so you truly can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alesiab66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Nayara Resort in November 2012...and it was simply amazing. The service was perfect, the food, the view, the room...it was worth every penny! When I think of a 5 star hotel, I imagine one like Nayara. This resort was The Best resort I have ever stayed in. I couldn't have asked for a more perfect get away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very nice resort. We had a wonderful time the staff was great. The room was spectacular we stayed in a Nayara Suite. The hot springs are only a few minutes away by cab. Tours in the area were very enjoyable. The Romantic dinner was beyond belief. Spa was wounderful and pool was nice. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bidgs60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Best. Hotel. Ever.

The service is spectacular. The food is delicious. The views are breathtaking. The room is romantic. The outdoor shower transported us to a different world.

Hands down the best vacation experience of my life - and I've spent 2 years overseas traveling.

I dream about this place, and I'm 1000% certain my wife and I will be returning.

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 66 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing